No permit needed for redclaws.
There is no permit for redclaw but as the fishing is mostly done in stocked impoundments dont be suprised if inland fisheries inspectors (QBFP) request to see a fisheries permit. As Luc and BR65 stated there is no permit required specifically for redclaw. I think the question one should ask DPI is this.
Does one need a fisheries permit for catching redclaw in fish stocked impoundment dams?
Last year fisheries said yes.
pretty sure there is a bag limit of 100 per person,famale with eggs must be returned to the water immediatly
cheers rosco
Cut and paste from DPI site regading SIP:
The permit only applies to the use of a fishing line or set line. Permits are not required if only using permitted traps (e.g. for redclaw).
From DPI Size and bag limits. I believe (correct me if Im wrong) that SE Qld isnt their natural range??:
Redclaw (redclaw crayfish) in its natural range
Gulf of Carpentaria Drainage Division and from the Jacky Jacky River basin south to the Normanby River basin on the east coast of Queensland
No limit
40 (females carrying eggs or young must be returned to the water within their natural range)
Thanks for that everyone. I will be heading up to Borumba next week, and will give it a go. Is there anywhere in particular you should put the pots. Like snags, rock ledges etc? Or in deeper water, or drop offs? Also does the moon have an effect on catches? Sorry for all the questions but never done this before.
Mate, check out the DPI sites to make sure youve got bases covered re number of traps, floats and name labels, bag and size etc.
I was up at Borumba about 3 weeks ago on a day run, and set my 4 pots in one of the bays off the main basin, in around 15 foot of water, adjacent a weed bed, off a point, and along a bank that had flooded trees etc, easy to find these spots.
Bait was par boiled potato and rock melon, with a pilly in each pot as well for a bit of scent.
I found the most activity was prior to sun up, and the first couple of hours of the morning, with it slowing right down around mid morn. Best to soak over nite if you can I reckon.
Dont know about the moon phase, dont have that many trips under my belt yet.
BR65,
Yeah your right mate about the permit. They must have thought I was going to go fishing by line.
I found that soaking pots over night are more productive as they are more active. If there is a lot of cloud cover you will also catch them , just need to find the right spots, also I believe water thermalclines have a part to play, not sure what temperature they like but they do slow down at a certain temp.
Rockmelon worked the best , problem with pillie it brings in eels and meat certain smaller fish.
Good point about the eels mate, that would be nasty.
Ive been using sweet potato at NPD as well, seems OK.
G'day BR65,
I've never used sweet potato previosuly.
I've used sunlight soap and parboiled spuds but rocky seems to be more preferable, Yeah eels are something else. I've eaten freshwater eel before, not bad. Slippery customers though.
Well I couldn't wait till next week, so I took the boat up to Borumba yesterday afternoon, and threw the pots out in what looked as a good area. Baited them up with, sliced potato, sweet potato, and rockmelon skin. Went up there this morning to pick up, and got 6 biggish ones, a small one, and a couple of prawns. Now I have just got to cook up the 6 big ones as I let the little fellow go. Should be just enough for a taste, and keep me eager to go back again. I took my old man up with me for a run, and he is hooked. Recons he is going to get himself some pots for next time.
big one,
You should have had over 50 if you was in the right area unless they are slowing down. Try looking for old dead trees / tree stumps that have some depth and vegetation, Use an 1/8th of a rockmelon with the flesh, not just skin and crush the flesh so some juice can run.
Try that and see what difference will be, it worked for me, so it should work for you too.
I had them near a weed bed on the left hand side. There was also some dead trees, and a couple of live wattle trees. The depth was from 2m to roughly 3.5m. One of the guys at the boat ramp told us he got none. How far up did you go? Also I ate the flesh out of the rockmelon, looked to good to use as bait. I will definately use the flesh next time if you reckon you can get 50 of them. I thought 6 big ones was good. I only had the 4 pots, but the old man is going to buy some, so that should allow us to try more areas. Thanks for tips though.
Forgot to mention they tasted great on the barbie. Even the kids thought they where good.
big one,
I was catching redclaw in somerset, 4 traps soaked overnight, and caught over 50, scattered areas, depth varied from 12ft to 15ft. You just have to keep moving around a bit. Some places do get hammered and takes awhile to recover.
Flesh was the go, At the time I went rockies were only $1.20 whole , I had 4 of them all cut into 1/8th. largest redcalw was 40cm, nothing much under 20cm.
I shuckled mine, devained and place in fresh crushed garlic, soy and honey to marinate and cooked next day mixed with white rice, added a bit of fresh grated ginger whilst cooking redclaw...nice