43 20.77%
  • Rarely (once or twice a year)

109 52.66%
  • Often (50% of trips)

41 19.81%
  • Always (50-100%)

14 6.76%
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Have you ever bagged out on any species?

Re: Have you ever bagged out on any species?

Quote Originally Posted by 8astripey View Post
    only bagged out once in the last 5 years. pulled up at spot x cape cap and bagged out in an hr on nanagi. mate and i tried for the next 2 hrs to catch another species and only caught nanagi. moved twice and caught nothing for the next 2 hrs.
    every other trip to the same area we have caught maybe 2 nanagi and a few parrot. normal catch is about 10 mixed reafies of a size worth bringing home.
    still blowing every weekend i get off
    That's about my sort of fishing. I may bag out on snapper (5) but just can't find other species so end up heading home happy with the catch.

This i find strange all you guys talking about commercial fishermen taking to many fish in the saltwater section, but you are now all talking about bagging out, now i bet there is a shit load more recs out there that do more damage by so called bagging out every weekend which cant be right with fish in possesion, you work it out every day the weather is good there would be 90% more recs on the water taking fish from the water .
    Time To Drop Line The Deep Blue

Quote Originally Posted by REEF KINGS View Post
    This i find strange all you guys talking about commercial fishermen taking to many fish in the saltwater section, but you are now all talking about bagging out, now i bet there is a shit load more recs out there that do more damage by so called bagging out every weekend.
    Not when possession limits are one or two fish. A limit of one fish, your "bagged out" every time you pull one on board. Whether your practicing catch and release or not.

Quote Originally Posted by REEF KINGS View Post
    This i find strange all you guys talking about commercial fishermen taking to many fish in the saltwater section, but you are now all talking about bagging out, now i bet there is a shit load more recs out there that do more damage by so called bagging out every weekend which cant be right with fish in possesion, you work it out every day the weather is good there would be 90% more recs on the water taking fish from the water .
    Are you suggesting everyone bags out on all species everytime they go fishing. My thoughts about pro's may include some that find a good spot will catch all they can......... Are they limited to 5 or even 1 of any species. It would be crazy to think a trawler would be limited to 50 whiting per person on board.
    I respect that a pro is fishing for a community and a living and not just for his own table.

I don't really want to go here with the thread I started.
    This is a generalised question based on what I find with my trip results. I am not searching for a comparison of pro's and rec's catch results. That would be the DPI's job I believe

bagging out once or twice a year isnt really the issue for me. its the wankers who go out every weekend that they can and fish for more than they can eat just so they feel the trip has paid for itself. i can go out 40 mile and catch 2 fish and still enjoy the day, others get pissed of if they dont get enough to pay for the fuel and bait and will stay out as long as it takes to get payback?.
    and there are plenty of them out there.

I once bagged out on garfish...

<hangs head in shame>

Converted some of them for something better.

bagging out once or twice a year isnt really the issue for me. its the wankers who go out every weekend that they can and fish for more than they can eat just so they feel the trip has paid for itself. i can go out 40 mile and catch 2 fish and still enjoy the day, others get pissed of if they dont get enough to pay for the fuel and bait and will stay out as long as it takes to get payback?.
    Maybe there are differnt points of view on this as well.
    I think fishing started for food as in hunting and gathering, and has developed in some places in the earth to sportfishing.
    If someone is a ###### for wanting to equal their dollar to the catch, then the whole world including the poor is full of millions of wankers?

Think it thru.

If someone is still a hunter and gatherer (as the vast mojority of fishers in the world are) and they do the maths to see if their trip is paying off in that respect than I think thats their business. I fish foir sport/recreation and to eat nice fish.

Calling people wankers becuse they go fishing to eat and not just for sport is a bit sideways to this thread and not real thoughtful either.

Dedicated sportfishos in general have no right to persecute the hunters for food.
    As for those who get pissed off and stay out there to get value for dollar as a lifestyle I can't say Ive met any one like that.

Quote Originally Posted by odes20 View Post
    Maybe there are differnt points of view on this as well.
    I think fishing started for food as in hunting and gathering, and has developed in some places in the earth to sportfishing.
    If someone is a ###### for wanting to equal their dollar to the catch, then the whole world including the poor is full of millions of wankers?

Think it thru.

If someone is still a hunter and gatherer (as the vast mojority of fishers in the world are) and they do the maths to see if their trip is paying off in that respect than I think thats their business. I fish foir sport/recreation and to eat nice fish.

Calling people wankers becuse they go fishing to eat and not just for sport is a bit sideways to this thread and not real thoughtful either.

Dedicated sportfishos in general have no right to persecute the hunters for food.
    As for those who get pissed off and stay out there to get value for dollar as a lifestyle I can't say Ive met any one like that.

I would disagree with your point of view that there are many of us that fish are hunter gatherers.
    Most people in Aust who fish out of a boat on the weekend could not be classed as hunter gatherers but oportunist who hope to catch a feed for the day. they do not rely on the catch to survive (as most would starve)
    I would in no way class an Indian or Thai fisherman living of his catch as a ######. Or for that matter any pro fisho in aus, as that is their primary source of income. Nor do i class the majority of sportsfisher and amatures as wankers however i do know of at least 3 in my area that have freezers full of fish that would make a pro blush. these are the ones that go out and come back in the middle of the night with 200> 300kg in the box every weekend they can get out. would i class them as sportsfishos no
    oportunists no, hunter gatherers no,
    pillagers yes

Fair comment I thought from your other post that there were plenty of that type out there, but you are saying you know three so I can understand your frustration about them.
    Im suprised no one has informed Fisheries about that extreme?

Besides that I don't think their are many like them.

JOhn

Hmmmm,

whenI spend the dollars involved to have a day at sea,
    considering the cost of boat, rego, gear, bait and fuel that is involved for a days fishing,
    I'm buggered if anyone is going to bag me for chasing a good box of fish for my efforts,
    admittedly some of these trips are VERY profitable,
    but many are only average,

few trips involve bagging out on more than one species, that is because not all types of fish will be on the bite at one time,
    and if you are lucky enough to have one of those magic days when everything goes right....................WELL GOOD ONYA.....

For the ones who winge because they either are not good enough fishos,
    or just cant be bothered to work as hard on a day out as others are,
    well, the answer is simple.....

spend more time and money getting better at it,

Well they do say 10% of fisherman catch 90% of the fish, and I reckon this is true.

But every species is different, I know guys that can go nail x species on any given day be it one or two jacks or snapper or mackeral, each species is a completely different challenge to catch. Someone who is a great bream fisho might be a hopeless snapper fisho and vice versa.

If it is legal, and I can use it without wastage, I will take it. If I have too much to use personally, I will release it.

I'll be buggered if I will go out and release fish to then go and buy fish at the shops..........

I bag out just about every time I chase snapper in PPB (3 fish over 450mm I think) Not so often with other species but it happens. Squid, every trip now and they taste great and make the best bait.

Amazing fishery the PPB snapper and on the doorstep of a capital city. How rare is that. They said at the start of the season that a light plane over head could see the cloud of red coming through the heads. Still rather be in Darwin though.

Winter time's meat fishing time.

If I come home not bagged I'm not too happy.

5 pearl
    5 snap

Hardly seems worth the drive now, only do a few of those trips each winter now because of it........

Who the hell are you to pass judgement on fish bag limits, wankers??? its people like you that are bringing the Fishing reports to its knees or haveny you noticed the lack of reports that get posted since a few WANKERS have came on this site and crucified those fishes that are merely abiding by the law and enjoying fishing as they choose, within the limits already imposed on them, if you dont like the regulations related to fishing become a politician (better known as wankers) and do your uttermost to change them otherwise give it a rest . cheers alex