Thread: Suzuki Grand Vitara -Great Car - Very Poor Service from the Wholesaler

Re: Suzuki Grand Vitara -Great Car - Very Poor Service from the Wholesaler

Hi Finga

To the best of my knowledge no,they were nearing the top of Bulli Pass and she just decided to come to a halt.

I have worked in the industry and realize at some point in time you can't expect the dealer to hold you hand in regards to warranty but a week out is a bit crook.A quoted repair bill of nearly 80% of the purchase price 1 week/700klm outside the stat 3 month/5000klm warranty

Dealers have load of around 3k factored into there vehicles and this money is pooled to deal with warranty issues on used stock,however TYNANS do not see it that way.

Steeler.

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

Quote Originally Posted by Steeler View Post
    Hi Finga

To the best of my knowledge no
    So the oil light did not come on every time they started the car??
    Didn't they notice a light missing?
    They never checked the oil level when they're at a servo or at home??
    Bloody hell...I reckon I would with a new second handy car...and every other fluid as well.

Doesn't it say in manuals to make sure the lights come on when the engine is started and to check the engine oil level every week or so??
    I always make a point to check the danger, danger Will Robinson lights when ever I start an engine and it's pretty obvious when one is missing or stays on.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Looks like the suzuki dealers have not changed much. When I was a kid a mate of the old mans had either diffs or wheel bearings go (cant remember which, but it was expensive) only a short time after purchase. Suzuki denied the warranty claim because he had sand tyres fitted. Tyres I might add that the dealer fitted, before sale (IE not requested by my dads mate).

Dunno how he ended up, but I do remember it made a current affair at the time.

Don't know but i am thinking a car that uses all its engine oil in less than half the the recommended service interval schedule has an inherent major issue and quite possibly one of the following :

BIG engine oil leak

Bad compression ( cutting open the cat converter would be interesting ).

Or the wrong grade of oil put in at change time or the change was not done at all and the pre sale check paperwork is dodgy.

Steeler

So where was the oil leak? Was it blowing blue smoke? Was their water in the oil after it died? How many km did it have? Is their soot all over rear of vehicle What compression did their report say?

Motor from wreckers - 2500
    Fitting 1000

$3500 $8000 - what was it gold plated??

Idiot lights that is what we called em.

No apparent oil leaks ( would be unmissable 4 odd ltr's )
    Blowing smoke,could not tell you i never traveled behind it.
    No milkshakes.
    Sold 116,800 Serviced inc oil + filter shite itself 122,100

I believe the service intervals on these things are every 15,000klm's so like i say major issue with engine to use all that oil in less than half of a service interval.

Steeler

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Why???......

The first run v6 carnivals have a well documented history as being lemons - pretty much all of them. Just a dog.

How many original sportage/carnival/ceres etc do you still see on the road?

I had one of the first 4x4 ceres' in the country as a work ute. Traded it on an '80 series cruiser. 4 years old less than 100 000 kms. Best I could get for it was a grand, and that was for the elec/hydraulic tipper body I'd put on it.

I concurr with the 'friends don't let friends buy kia' line.

Holden brought out a 4 cylinder Commodore once.
    It was a lemon so all Holdens are lemons?
    Anything with an Astron engine was a lemon. Does that make all Mitsubishi's lemon's??

Yes the Carnivals were lemons and that was entirely due to the motor.
    That affected resale value of all Kia's. But that was years ago too.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by Steeler View Post
    No apparent oil leaks ( would be unmissable 4 odd ltr's )
    Blowing smoke,could not tell you i never traveled behind it.
    No milkshakes.
    Sold 116,800 Serviced inc oil + filter shite itself 122,100

I believe the service intervals on these things are every 15,000klm's so like i say major issue with engine to use all that oil in less than half of a service interval.

Steeler

Yes it would suggest that there was a serious problem with the motor, but who drives 5300kms in a second hand car and doesn't check the oil???

No warning on the Suzuki GV - the temp needle just started to creep up. Next thing you know - air con failed - then I stopped, but the water pump had failed and the cylinder head was already warped - and still no warning light. I thought they were supposed to cut out before they got that hot, but apparently not.

i had an old L300 mitsubishit van and that happened to me twice, water pump failed....no warnings and pop goes the headgasket....
    .......Ash