slightly undersized but still worth a pic. he was fat and strong. grow little muddy grow!
Last edited by Razgo-; 21-05-2010 at 01:45 PM. Reason: added video
I don't know about you but wouldn't matter how much that one grew you would have copped a fine for possession at any size.
Hope the next person who catches her is as honest .
Yep yep my thought exactly...just as well u tossed her back mate, other wise if u got caught your wallet woulda been lighter
not only would u of got done for possession but take as well...food for thought next time u go out crabbing mate
i think the photo does not show the sex of the crab, the part that you can see in the second photo is just a very small part of the underbody. And if you were taking a photo as soon as it came out of the pot then tossing it they would not pull you up, if you had it in a bucket or esky then yeah you are in trouble.
cheers Lee
I would have thought it a jenny from the size of the claws anyway. Bucks have much larger claws even at 12cm. It went back to populate the estuaries for next season so that is all that matters.
Kev
i'll near on bet thats a scylla oceananic, that the serrata most people are use to seeing, therfore creating the confussion, i go male, but happy to be proven wrong. isnt there a shellfish bioligists lurking ausfish? lets track him down!!!!
Well to be honest the first thing i did was measure it as i got it out of the pot holding it belly down. when i picked it up and glanced underneath i thought it was male. But looking at that photo yes it does look kind of female. so now i don't know??? lol.
the photo it took holding it up was with my mobile phone in the other hand and then i let it go in the water.
It went from pot to measure to photo to water. It never touched an esky for holding.
russ
Razgo, thanks for the post & good for you letting "it" go.
Unfortunately there's often a keyboard expert somewhere who really knows how to display their ignorance. :angry: Such is the Ausfish experience.
MalM
- the photo does NOT confirm sex of the crab, so I for one am happy to take your word on that :wink:
- the legal definition of "possession" includes the clear intent of the act itself - had you stowed it in a container or moved off with it in the boat then you'll have broken the law - as for taking a piccie & letting it go, thats laughable :grin::grin:
Last edited by uripper; 21-05-2010 at 12:32 PM. Reason: slpling
i added video to the first post. I forgot i uploaded that to youtube last night.
The vid was taken on the phone camera as well and may not show if its male/female either but those more expert could probably tell?
russ
Its male..small claws means nothing..possibly lost its original claws in earlier days and has grown new ones..
From someone that has seen enough mudcrabs to be able to tell whats male and female simply by looking at the shell shape...and if they are nearly legal size/worth measuring also....he's not even close!
a good crabber can tell a female from male by just looking at the shell without even lookin under the bloody crab,must be alot of crabbers on here with no idea really,its male,totally different shape to female,nice lookin crab pitty it wasn't legal but it will be next season,
cheers rosco
thanks guys, i thought it was male at first too. but doubt did set in after a few saying it was female.
yeah i reckon he will be a fat bastard next season for sure!
russ
bloody buck???? what am I missing ?? cheers alex