Thread: Sporting for Bream ?

Sporting for Bream ?

Interested in hearing from anyone who has had success chasing bream around the Hinchinbrook Island area on SP's or anything else except bait.

I don't know what it is but im not having any luck , get the odd touch but thats it .
    Jack's yeah , cod yeah , barra yeah but bream no, so WTF?
    SC

Re: Sporting for Bream ?

Hey mate first off what lures/SP's are u throwing at them? mite need to downsize a bit?
    "True Blue"

Quote Originally Posted by loophole View Post
    Hey mate first off what lures/SP's are u throwing at them? mite need to downsize a bit?
    I have been giving them little grubs, worms and even little hard bodies with feathers ago but they only seem to fart around with them , i went into the tackle shack here and ask for something decent and he said don't bother to much with it because the bream here just don't take like they do further south , seems to be quite a few here that also agree.

I would of thought a bream is a bream

SC

I do a bit of breaming on lures, but my son is a guru at them, and I tend to agree with you, if there is Bream there, then they will take a lure, it might just take some fooling about with how and what, I know he fishes about 5 different places at regular times, and he uses about 3 techniques to get success, what works well at one spot is not so flash at another, try an unweighted plastic, cast right in and left to float about a bit, then a jerky, but slow retreive, Blades would also be worth a shot, but get expensive if fishing tough snags

SC, an old bloke in my fishing club here in Townsville told me the other day that the bream would not come on until the first really cold snap. He used the term 'snow on Castle Hill'. You might find that they are just not in the mood yet. He suggested the first set of tides on a darkish moon (night fishing) after the night time minimum gets to about 14 degrees, maybe a little lower.

Quote Originally Posted by bushbeachboy View Post
    SC, an old bloke in my fishing club here in Townsville told me the other day that the bream would not come on until the first really cold snap. He used the term 'snow on Castle Hill'. You might find that they are just not in the mood yet. He suggested the first set of tides on a darkish moon (night fishing) after the night time minimum gets to about 14 degrees, maybe a little lower.
    Thanks mate

Tricky little buggers they are , i can get em to school around me boat but unless it's a prawn on the hook they spit it at me .
    I will try on the cold

SC

what lb leader are you usin mate. i dont go any heavier than 4lb. even lighter if the water is really clear. have you try'd the gulp 2" shrimp placy. they are a bream slayer
    JAYVEE
    No love its not new...i've had that reel for ages

OK, very thin fluro leader, and seeing as they will take a prawn, I would reckon something like a Prawnstar or prawn looking/coloured plastic will get them running hot.

The Bream up north are predominately Black bream , or as we used to call them, Ie they are darker on the back than the yellow finned bream, a slightly different fish. Maybe that has something to do with it?

I use to get a lot of them in creeks in NQ fishing into the snags with bait like mullet gut, prawns etc. And yes as mentioned they were certainly more active in the cooler mths in NQ. Try anchoring upstream of snags out from the bank and flicking your SPs down to the snag and retrieving away.
    But on a side note, why would you want to bother with bream when you can get Jacks, Barra, Fingermark, Estuary Cod, Grunter, Queenies, All manner of trevally in the Hinchinbrook area? Just curious.
    PS note the "Red Bream" as they are called up north in my Avatar, caught in Missionary Bay, love the place!
    Flatzie

I would have to agree with loophole.
    When I'm fishing for bream and they are not taking the plastics, I always drop the size of the plastic and the jighead down a size.
    Usually this will result in hook ups.
    If this does not work, I try a HB.
    If this does not work......home to wash the boat and watch IFISH instead and a beer.

Jason.
    FISHING IS NOT A HOBBY...................IT'S AN OBSESSION!!

Quote Originally Posted by flatzie View Post
    why would you want to bother with bream when you can get Jacks, Barra, Fingermark, Estuary Cod, Grunter, Queenies, All manner of trevally in the Hinchinbrook area? Just curious.
    Flatzie
    Because me kids think it's funny i can't catch em , so not only are the bream laughing at me but me kids are too .
    We go on bream days with the kids with the prawns and they love it , just trying to pick up the fun factor a little . While it's great to see the kids think it's sooo funny it really annoys me that the bream dont take

SC