MAte well done great box of fillets. And squid to boot Nicce mate
Just a quick line to get a post in from the w'end trip to 1770 with a bloke from work. Went out Friday to horrible weather to get a glass out in the afternoon. We were restricted to fishing around Fitzroy that day. Found some great Trout on the Western edge in 35m just isolated bommies fishing livies caught back at the headland of 1770. (you can never get enough of these lolly pops).
On Saturday we ventured out into 60m , east of Fitzroy area for most of Saturday getting a good box of Reds, Trout, Red throat, Parrot, Coral and Maori Cod. And threw away 3 bloody Chinaman and atleast 10 yellow sweeties, the biggest would have pushed 8Kg's. We ended up with a 200l esky full and a red, 2 trout and a couple of Red throat starting the second box.
Went home early Sunday morning into a stiff Southerly. stopped on a few red marksa on the way home to pull another Yellow and called it quits. I've had a 4 hr trip home from Fitzroy before so we deceided to head for home, before it got much worse.
MAte well done great box of fillets. And squid to boot Nicce mate
VHF CHANNEL 21
CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)
There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges
Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)
Some good fish there mate, was a great weekend although a lot of people were not catching much by the chat on the radio! Seems me and you were in the right spots though as I brained the reds! What size is the red in the pic? Looks to be well over 10kg?
Thanks for the report and pics
Anthony
I forgot to mention the squid, they were so inking thick. in 30 mins we got 6 and could have filled a bucket if we stopped fishing for red throat.
The red in the photo went 11.5 Kg's. a new PB for the deckie. that was our best for the trip taken on mullet fillet. others came on live Yakka's and the squid heads.
Best red throat went 3.8Kg's and trout wasn't measured but around 5.5kgs.
that bloody chinaman went 13kgs
nice fish mate well done,we fished south bustard on the friday and saturday for a nice bag should have report up soon. luke
Nice fish Ballsie, glad to see you had a great trip. If the squid are still around in August we should take the bread crumbs out.
You're game dropping livies on red ground! Usually all that results in is Maori Cod, Kingys, AJs and other less prefered species! P They do love a big squid head or whole cuttlefish but so do the spangleys.
Thats a good red, my biggest for the trip went around the 11.7kg mark, still hoping to break the 15kg barrier soon! Mate got a chinaman that would have gone nearly 20kg i reckon, it was a beast!
Anthony
Good haul there, got to love those reds. The squid seem to be pretty thick out from 1770 at the moment, got 3 last Wednesday at South Bustard Reef as well as a 12 kg china. Those china's get your hopes up when you first get colour, then bugger when you see the stripes.
Jeff.
Quality is still delivering long after you have forgotten the price.