All credit to Ausfish for bringing back col - Page 3
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: All credit to Ausfish for bringing back col

Re: All credit to Ausfish for bringing back col

Quote Originally Posted by Matt76 View Post
    While I wish the company the best, I can understand where GBC is coming from, there were a few uncomplimentary rumours going around (which I am sure 99% are crap which is usually the case) I reckon most people would love to hear a few more actual facts before handing over hefty deposits or even putting an origin on the list of possible boats.

Col actually built a boat for us a few years ago and I have nothing but praise for it, so on a manufacturing point of view I'm sure there would be no issues whatsoever.
    If people are worried about deposits then they should be making sure a good contract is written.
    If there is a good, written guarantee of money's returning if something goes sour or unto wart (other then the customers need for that boat) then what's to lose??
    Integrity of the hulls is known to be quality workmanship as you have mentioned.

So if in doubt with any contract for anything (not just a boat from Origin) you need to make sure it's a beauty...even if it costs you a few bob getting a solicitor to read it.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Personally I couldn't care less who owns the business. As long as I get what I expect in terms of product and quality is all I'm really interested in. Given Col is heading up the building team then I am confident that this will be the case.

So far as past rumours, that is what they are. Unless one knows something to be factual, then they remain rumours.

I also like the threads on boat builds. Whether they be from Origin, Bluewater (really liked Daz's) or other builders/owners and whether they be plate or glass. They give me ideas on how to do it better next time. If you don't like them, then don't click on them. Pretty easy really!

As for the title of this thread, I think it is a bit of a wank. I reckon if I paid the going rate to advertise here, then you'd all be looking at Dodgy Dave's Boats ad too :cool:

Good luck to Origin Boats, perhaps that would be a better title?

Dodgy Dave.

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    If people are worried about deposits then they should be making sure a good contract is written.
    If there is a good, written guarantee of money's returning if something goes sour or unto wart (other then the customers need for that boat) then what's to lose??

Whilst monies might be recoverable eventually, the time delay and uncertainties that can occur if a business goes belly-up can be distressing.

I have no concerns that Hunt-N-Gatherer does desktop research before meeting the principals if he were a potential customer. It makes good business sense, and indeed is a standard academic research process, to do desktop research as a first step to doing anything.

At a time when we have seen multiple boat building and retailing business fold and the regular hue and cry from people who have big deposits at stake, caution is fine, to my way of thinking.

For some reason, boat builders seem to rely on buyer deposits for their working capital and no trust fund arrangements seem to apply as they would if people were buying a house, so caution is fine IMHO.

As they said in "The Godfather", it is not personal; it is just business.

"ORIGIN BOATS” is the registered trading name of A.C.N. 139372080 PTY LTD, limited by shares and the Company is a single entity. The Members (owners) of the Company are Craig Lee, Stephen Minslow and Richard Pozzey. The Members of the Company hold equal shares. The capital injected by the Members is paid up share capital, not loans.

The Company, at its first Extraordinary General Meeting elected Richard Pozzey to the position of Managing Director because Richard works in the Company on a day to day basis and has long standing experience and success in management of small business. Craig Lee was elected to the position of Chairman of the Board because of his experience in small business and his more recent and continuing experience as an executive in multi-national and Australian Companies. Stephen Minslow holds the position of Company Secretary and Public Officer and has 40 years of experience in manufacturing, finance and logistics in the private and public sectors, which continues. Craig Lee and Stephen Minslow are non-executive Directors. They do not work in the Company and do not draw remuneration

The Board of the Company, at its first Board meeting formed Committees to oversee the affairs of the business. These are the Risk Management Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Product Development Committee. This last Committee, which should be of most interest to AUSFISH members is crewed by Col Svensson, Richard Pozzey and Craig Lee.

The Company has retained providers for accounting and legal services who give advice to the Board.

ORIGIN BOATS has enjoyed a successful business start up. Repairs and refurbishment of boats provided quick cash flow and helped us to employ staff while setting about the business of developing tooling for new designs for the EVOLUTION and AXIS series as well as the unique 4X4 series and the GENESIS series and getting our first boats completed. Col Svensson has been the driving force behind these new designs and the very detailed tasks of prototyping and tooling development. Origin has a number of boats under construction and a number of future orders confirmed. These include two boats to be built for the Qld Government.

The owners, employees and Directors of ORIGIN BOATS are proud of what they have achieved so far. We are committed to customer service, integrity in design, product quality and excelling as a builder of built-to-order custom aluminium plate boats with a range that meets all major market segments.

Further inquiries about ORIGIN BOATS corporate structure should be addressed to me stephen.minslow@bigpond.com or PM me on AUSFISH as “White Pointer”.

Further inquiries about ORIGIN BOATS products and services should be addressed to richard@originboats.com.au or PM Richard on AUSFISH as “Originboats”.

Stephen Minslow (aka “White Pointer” on AUSFISH)
    Director and Public Officer
    ACN 139372080 PTY LTD
    Trading as ORIGIN BOATS

Origin is the second boat builder to become a new member and subject us to some marketing spiel that could've been developed by any first day student doing a marketing course.

As with other people who run businesses on the forum the best way to develop some credability is to get on the forums and help people out with problems. Even recommend other boats if yours don't suit.

Whoops .....funny that the post by Origin went on the same time my slow one did.

White Pointer has heaps of cred IMHO and I hope it all goes well mate..
    Last edited by Jarrah Jack; 21-05-2010 at 12:41 PM. Reason: More info obtained

Quote Originally Posted by Originboats View Post
    "ORIGIN BOATS” is the registered trading name of A.C.N. 139372080 PTY LTD, limited by shares and the Company is a single entity. The Members (owners) of the Company are Craig Lee, Stephen Minslow and Richard Pozzey. The Members of the Company hold equal shares. The capital injected by the Members is paid up share capital, not loans.

The Company, at its first Extraordinary General Meeting elected Richard Pozzey to the position of Managing Director because Richard works in the Company on a day to day basis and has long standing experience and success in management of small business. Craig Lee was elected to the position of Chairman of the Board because of his experience in small business and his more recent and continuing experience as an executive in multi-national and Australian Companies. Stephen Minslow holds the position of Company Secretary and Public Officer and has 40 years of experience in manufacturing, finance and logistics in the private and public sectors, which continues. Craig Lee and Stephen Minslow are non-executive Directors. They do not work in the Company and do not draw remuneration

The Board of the Company, at its first Board meeting formed Committees to oversee the affairs of the business. These are the Risk Management Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Product Development Committee. This last Committee, which should be of most interest to AUSFISH members is crewed by Col Svensson, Richard Pozzey and Craig Lee.

The Company has retained providers for accounting and legal services who give advice to the Board.

ORIGIN BOATS has enjoyed a successful business start up. Repairs and refurbishment of boats provided quick cash flow and helped us to employ staff while setting about the business of developing tooling for new designs for the EVOLUTION and AXIS series as well as the unique 4X4 series and the GENESIS series and getting our first boats completed. Col Svensson has been the driving force behind these new designs and the very detailed tasks of prototyping and tooling development. Origin has a number of boats under construction and a number of future orders confirmed. These include two boats to be built for the Qld Government.

The owners, employees and Directors of ORIGIN BOATS are proud of what they have achieved so far. We are committed to customer service, integrity in design, product quality and excelling as a builder of built-to-order custom aluminium plate boats with a range that meets all major market segments.

Further inquiries about ORIGIN BOATS corporate structure should be addressed to me stephen.minslow@bigpond.com or PM me on AUSFISH as “White Pointer”.

Further inquiries about ORIGIN BOATS products and services should be addressed to richard@originboats.com.au or PM Richard on AUSFISH as “Originboats”.

Stephen Minslow (aka “White Pointer” on AUSFISH)
    Director and Public Officer
    ACN 139372080 PTY LTD
    Trading as ORIGIN BOATS
    Cool, nothing sinister there.Should keep the hunters at bay !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good luck with it all.

Steeler

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

White Pointer cant be a bad bloke...he drives a Land Rover

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Hunt and Gather looks like you scored a couple of boxes there.

dunno how u work that out piglet...the quote was"would i be correct in saying posts number 5 & 6 have a hand in the company"

see..5 & 6..6 is but I sure as hell knew 5 wasn't..or vice versa..have not gone back to see who was whom (or who).

It is like a quinella..gotta have both or you lose..but i am not worried about it.

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    White Pointer cant be a bad bloke...he drives a Land Rover

I not only own one ... I have had five and a couple of Range Rovers. Must be an addiction. Can I be cured?

White Pointer

Have you got any pics of the bigger 4x4 model? Looks good. Can they be a side console rather than tiller?

Quote Originally Posted by White Pointer View Post
    I not only own one ... I have had five and a couple of Range Rovers. Must be an addiction. Can I be cured?

White Pointer

Ok i'm worried about your business partner Col, 5 landys and 2 rangerovers absolutely no common sense at all and is unable to learn by his mistakes!:wink:

And as far as hunter and gathers comments go, well i'm always very sus of posters who join up and post things like that as there first posts......... Cant you use your other handle because people may see your agenda??????? Sock puppets are pretty poor form , have the courage to stand by your original handle!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

All the best with the new venture

hopefully lots of happy boat buyers soon to tell us about their new aqusitions

Quote Originally Posted by Matt76 View Post
    Have you got any pics of the bigger 4x4 model? Looks good. Can they be a side console rather than tiller?

Hi Matt,

We are starting a new 4x4/4600 next week.
    If you want to shoot me your email address I'll send you pics as we go, or come into the factory if you can and have a look at it being built.

The 4600 can be built in side, centre console or tiller.

Richard

Best of luck to Origin Boats and all those involved. If I was oin the market for a plate boat they would be my first option as I have always admired Cols work unfortunatly Im a glass man so you won't be seeing any of my money but i will pass on your details to anyone I know looking for a custom plate boat.