Powered jockey wheels and dollies - Page 2
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Powered jockey wheels and dollies

Re: Powered jockey wheels and dollies

Hey Charlie I had a bit of a look for the plans to build one of them fellows but came up empty.
    If you remember where some of them are could you put a link up please??

I wouldn't mind seeing if I can build one.

I noticed a lot of those things are basically a set of wheels that drive and a lng handle where you lift the front of the trailer up.
    Would 4 sets of wheels work better ie like a ride on mower chassis with an electric motor instead of a petrol motor??
    The ball set like a turntable on a semi-trailer (ie between the 2 sets of wheels but towards the rear drive wheels) and your able to use the steering standing like you would with those you have mentioned.
    Or an electric ride-on. Would not be too hard to get rid of the Briggs and Stratton (and cutting deck) and put an electric motor there and do some gearing so the thing goes slower. That would still give you forward/reverse and a clutch.
    A manual gearbox would be better for that setup as most of the foot control forward/reverse one depend on friction plates.
    How much slow have you got?
    How heavy is your boat?

You bugger. You've got my mind working overtime :undecided:
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

I wonder if using a ride on and gearing it down would work. I have a hydrostatic drive 16hp Murray/Massport and I reckon smaller wheels would gear it down nicely...

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    I wonder if using a ride on and gearing it down would work. I have a hydrostatic drive 16hp Murray/Massport and I reckon smaller wheels would gear it down nicely...

Most have a sprocket and chain drive to the rear axle.
    I know Greenfields sell kits to 'adjust' the final drive speed as I made mine to go faster, a lot faster to mow when I had the last farm because we had a lot of spindly type grass that just needed knocking down.
    It's just a matter of 'adjusting' the sprocket size accordingly.
    If the speed is reduce by a largish factor then there is no reason a smallish (240V 1.5hp) electric motor would not make the setup work.
    The extra weight of a person would help the traction problem too.

Mmmm there's a Stiga sitting in the shed without a motor :rolleyes:

I just found these....wouldnt be too hard to get one made...http://www.trailertugpro.com/trailers.html

CHEERS

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Hey Charlie I had a bit of a look for the plans to build one of them fellows but came up empty.

If you remember where some of them are could you put a link up please??

They are sometimes called "power casters" on the US websites. Here is one construction guide ... http://www.ehow.com/way_5844272_home...er-caster.html That one uses a 1/3 HP motor which seems a bit light on to me but maybe not since most of the commercial versions of these things are battery driven.

For anyone who just wants a manual trailer dolly, here is one construction guide from a welding website ... http://www.millerwelds.com/interests...trailer-dolly/

Or alternatively, you can just use a hand trolley with a towball on a bit of wood ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DoKAIFAnzs

:grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:

The secret to success with these things seems to lie in using wheels that provide enough traction on grass, or up slopes, or able to turn tandem trailers. The variations in the solution to that problem seem to lie in the size and tread type of the tyre eg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DXE-...eature=related

or simply on the amount of tyre surface area, eg the second picture on this link ... http://www.powermoverinc.net/htmls/pmaccarts.html

Turning tandem trailers gets its own special mention ... http://www.trailercustoms.com.au/blo...e-trailer.html

Some advice is also to be gained from these tests ... http://www.powermoverinc.net/New%20PM.htm

You bugger. You've got my mind working overtime :undecided:

Heheheh! Me too, Scott. They don't look too hard to build do they? The trick will be to use some junk parts so that trial and error does not become too expensive.

I wonder where one can get pre-loved driven wheels with sprockets etc. Go carts have them but well balanced wheels are not necessary on these gadgets so cheap agricultural type tyres would be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by charleville View Post
    They don't look too hard to build do they? The trick will be to use some junk parts so that trial and error does not become too expensive.

I wonder where one can get pre-loved driven wheels with sprockets etc. Go carts have them but well balanced wheels are not necessary on these gadgets so cheap agricultural type tyres would be fine.
    My shed has all that crap.
    No...fair dinkum. There's a 5 speed Stiga ride-on sitting there without a motor and if I look hard enough there's got to be at least 3 or 23 240V electric motors.
    I know there's a 240V 3hp infinite variable speed forward/reverse motor there. The speed and direction control is by a lever. The more you push it that way the faster it goes and if you pull it the other way it goes backwards
    If I look real hard I reckon I could find some 12v motors as well..but not real high powered...unless I convert a starter motor :huh:.
    Ah, then you have the worries of batteries :undecided:

Oh I wished I had more spare time at the moment.
    But it wouldn't take long. Would it?? :smiley:
    But I should be building some racks for the shed. :undecided:
    But I should be doing the fence. :undecided:

Bugger you Bruce :tongue:

Maybe I should just fix the motor and mow the lawn :sad:

In a place like yours, isn't that what sheep are for? (No NZ Jokes, please fellas)

:grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:

Mmmm Briggs and Strattan rev about 3600rpm. Electric motor 1450 rpm...mmm pretty straight forward 2:1 ratio. Mmmmm so small pulley on the motor and large sprocket on the drive axle.....:rolleyes:

Quote Originally Posted by charleville View Post
    IN a place like yours, isn't that what sheep are for? (No NZ Jokes, please fellas)
    :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin: :grin:
    Council won't let us in town. We even need a special permit to have 2 dogs. :cry:

Ausfish Platinum Member STUIE63's Avatar

I just put a towball on the back of a cox ride-on it was not very successful as It struggled to get the weight moving . there was too much slip on the drive cone . on flat concrete it would be okay though .
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Ausfish Platinum Member STUIE63's Avatar

someone else earlier mentioned putting a towball on the front of your car this is really good for turning your trailer into tighter spots maybe this would help

IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Finga - mate mine is hydrostatic belt driven. I could probably change the pulley size but dont know how far that would get. Gearing it down with small wheels would probably help, but how far, who knows.

Just for completeness, I should mention that I have just found this topic discussed earlier on Ausfish ...

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=117513

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...d.php?t=152625

Charlie

The one I referred to is electric with fwd and reverse and power which this thing has heaps is not the issue its the sideways torque potentially twisting the machine or the tyres off the axle / wheels.

Going real slow is the way to go and there appears to be only so far around in a cicle that they can pull or push a tandem or tri wheel trailer, hence the move then reposition move reposition process to get heavy stuff in and out of tight spots. they work well, you just have to be a bit patient and maybe spend $2 to 2.5 to get a really good one for tight spots.

PS At least if I need one I know where to go to borrow one now!
    What could go wrong.......................