Thread: good by Territory hello Challenger

good bye Territory hello Challenger

handed over my 2009 AWD TS territory and picked up a shinny new challenger today.

I was looking at car around the $50k give or take.

klugger very nice CAR and only towed 2000kg

parado nice but glx with bull bar tow bar etc $70

Challenger 2500kg diesel auto, tow bar bull bar etc etc $47k it is more of a 4WD and a tow rig than a nice fluffy car.

anyway time will tell, the territory was a great car

Re: good by Territory hello Challenger

Can't wait for your reports on the new car. Have a blast in it.

All I want is to catch MORE legal fish!

Well done mate, will be very interested to hear your experiences as you go along, the Challenger is on my short list for when I swop cars in a few months. Was going to get a Pajero shorty, but the Challenger should do the job too. Seems to be getting good reports and I suppose the mechanical bits are petty well tested in the ute by now, so not too much of an unknown.

I had a Challenger for 6 years, Beach, Railway jobs and in the bush, 250K's did not touch anything under the bonnet, not bad for petrol, the Diesel should even be better.

Ok 100kms in.

happy with the feel so far. ride good.

getting used to the diesel and the power is not too bad.... last car was 4ltr petrol territory and the one before was a 4ltr petrol prado.

need a long drive now to adjust everything(seats etc) than tow the boat.

ok 700kms in, did a trip 2hrs each way was happy with it. no race car but good on the highway.

just got back from the beach and playing in the sand dune..... very impressed felt solid and never missed a beat heaps of clearance on the sand tracks. I would go as far as saying it drove better than my last prado (2007 model V6 gxl).

so all up happy with the challenger.

ok last update unless something goes wrong.

2000kms all good, getting better power wise and fuel usage is down to 9.8l per 100km on a trip. The auto is very smooth and nice.
    tows the boat (2000kg) really easy up the ramp and at 100kph.

all up still very happy with the car.

Ausfish Platinum Member 4x4frog's Avatar

If they are even half as good and reliable as what the earlier model is you'll be wrapped. They are well appointed from what I saw when I compared one with the Territory, Kluger and Pathfinder.
    Have a mate in the car club who tows an enclosed trailer with a 2tonne Renault Fregate(Holden FJ size car) on it all over the eastern states and does it comfortably without hassles. He went to Canberra in '08 and towed the trailer down and back via the back roads at close to highway speed all the way and the thing never missed a beat. They're a top highway cruiser too for a light duty 4x4.