Thread: Lamont Saturday night

Lamont Saturday night

got home from night shift saturday morning and loaded the boat. It was the wifes birthdayand I told her I'd give her an overseas trip. How was I to know she didnt realise I was talking about a trip out to Lamont.
    Any how got down to the ramp 3 hours later than we expected due to Telstra man callig to fix my landline and it was wall to wall trailers. Was there anyone in Gladstone who wasnt on the water. The old o'connel wharf is under re constrution and a lot of the parking spaces are closed of too which didnt help any.
    I usually pull up at rock cod shoals for a quick drift but the 16 boats hammering RCS made me change my mind and I headed straight out to lamont.
    Pulled up out from Lamont and first hit the Mrs boats a trout followed by a ok redthroat.Things looking good . My first fish a good looking red Emporer. Bugger 2 cm short. A few hussar the odd tuskie and thats all. Tides starting to run pretty good so we move in closer to the reef.
    Things are pretty quiet and all the chatter on the radio says the same.
    We are picking up the odd hussar , bally bream and another undersize red but its a long time between drinks.
    Tried a few more moves but still pretty quiet until about 11pm when something big takes a bit bait and whack lost it. The hussar are still whacking us and occiasionally be get whacked and busted.
    Things have gone pretty quiet so I set a couple of rods out with big baits and a livie over the side and go to make a chai before hitting the sack when zzzzzzz off goes one line. After a bit of time in comes the cod. Whikle I'm on the cod zzzzzoff goes the other line. bugger 80 lb and the mrs didnt even get a hand to it before its smashed. Freight train.
    Out goes both lines. One small cobe on one line and totalled again.
    all up i was smashed about 6 times on 80 lb line and on two accaisions it would scream line out and then drop it. i'm tipping maybe big cobe or jewie but he won.
    Dispite what the buoy out from Tannum reckons the trip home Sunday was pretty crappy and the guys the mrs was talking to at the ramp reckon it was pretty uncomfortable coming home from northwest Is.
    They had some really nice reds in their eskies.
    Total for the trip was bagged out on hussar,3 red throat,6 tuskies, couple of small cobes a trout , the cod and a few slaties
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Re: Lamont Saturday night

Mick thats a top effort mate. Coming back this morning in the slop was pretty hard to take but am putting trip up now. Now you are slatey's sheeshus mate you might have to drop in here and i'll slip ya some red if ya hard up for a feed LOL
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Nice going guy's, good to see every one getting a feed over the weekend. Eric

slateys hot and straight off the nippa kipper. Beautiful. Even with a currie sauce.
    You're far too fussy mate.:smiley:

Thanks for the report Mick.

Thats a serious bait station you got there.

Hey Mick
    Great to see your getting amonst them - good effort
    How's the 560 going ??
    Mine is full of cobwebs but will fix that next weekend
    cheers, Mal

G'Day Mal
    Could do with bigger tank and 150 4 stroke but hard to justify given how many times a bloke can get out due to weather and work etc
    Did you finally get yours all sorted?

Yes yes i know or maybe your not LOl
    Great going mate . Lets hope this winter brings some good times ahead
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Mick,

Sounds like a good time out, the weather saturday looked awsome. I reckon i was probably the only boat at Boyne that didn't get out on the water, bloody work.

Hopefully i'll get a chance later in the month.

Gazza

Yeah Gazza Saturday was perfect. Sunday was a bit ugly. Reckon a lot of blokes would have looked at the buoy out from Tannum on Sunday indicating it was only 1/2 metre and would have headed out only to turn back when they got out a bit.
    Close in to facing on the outside wasnt too bad but a bit further out it was a bit crappy.
    Anyhow glad to see someone else stuck at work watching all the boats go out for a change :cheesy: