Have you considered a Noble Boat? If you like a soft dry ride, perhaps you should look into the Noble Boat.
Hi guys - so i looking for some real feedback from those who have experience of similar craft to the above - as thinking / planning ( dont tell the better half ) to upgrade from my Quin 470 CR / 50 hp 4 strk in the not too distant future and am tossing up between the 530 barcrusher and 529 stabicraft in half cab fishing styles ( and yes i would like to stay with alloy as just so much easier to launch and retrieve when on my own ) - my main use really is in the bays (both moreton and hervey) and some estuary fishing up north once or twice a year ( hinchenbrook) and the odd trip out to the noosa midddle reef belt a few times a year plus a few trips around the top end of moreton on the really good days ( forcast 5 to 10 knots and 1.2 to 1.5 m max - any bigger than that and i do stay in the bay ) as try to fish hutchys brennans etc and around there - mostly i am on my own or with the better half who defintely does not like it at all when a washing maching starts to happen
so my thinking is probably the better ride off shore and in a steep bay chop is the barcrusher due to its deep vee (and yes i will get trim tabs on it if i go that way) and the ride is imporatnt as not as young as i once was ( am over sixty now ) - and perhaps the more useful and all round boat for fishing in esturies etc and in the bay is the stabicraft due to its about 8 inches less shallow draft but then it probably bangs more and is a rougher ride off shore and also in that steep bay chop that happens sometimes and when i get really tossed around in the Quin on my way back in
i was originally pretty keen on the barcrusher 530 initially but its much deeper draft in esturies and chance to get stuck in the shallow parts of the bays has spooked me a bit as i just hate getting stuck up on bloody sand banks and having to sit there for tide to arrive - so now about 50 / 50 on either and of course their is bugger all difference in the final costs as well for a budget of upwards to $50K
so any first hand relevant comments by experieced owners / deckies etc would be most welcome - thanks rob :shocked: :grin:
Have you considered a Noble Boat? If you like a soft dry ride, perhaps you should look into the Noble Boat.
I've been in a couple of Stabi's and I don't get what people say about them being a soft ride. Not the ones I've been in that's for sure. Bang and crash like a barra punt across chop. Bloody safe and stable at rest though. Damn ugly looking things too.
Barcrushers ride pretty well and surprisingly stable at rest too with the water balast hull. Look a lot nicer than a Stabi too.
Just my observations after being out in both in roughish weather. Not pushing a barrow either way.
thanks scuttlebutt mate apprevciate the reply - pretty much as i suspected - i do intend to have a run in both before i buy though
cheers rob
thank you noble boats for the reply and i am sure your boats are excellent but i dont think you build one in the size i want not shown on your website anyway and i am pretty reluctant to have a boat built in the current economic climate with boat buiders falling over when boats are part completed altthough i am not suggesting or inferring in any way that would apply to you and or your business - my plan is to buy straight off the showroom floor and hook the boat up and tow home when i hand over my hard earned dollar
cheers rob
i looked at the bar crusher ,,,,,nice boat but the stabi will take a lot more punishment and neglect....which i was looking for ......built like a brick shit house as per the looks....wot bout a webster twin fisher ....for the cat comfort???
but i do love me little stabi
g'day rob, having a 560c crusher and fishing moreton and beyond on my own i can only give a biased opinion in regards to stabi v crusher. i dont have trim tabs and have been in some nasty chop coming home and can say it handles the ruff stuff with no drama. As for comfort in 1 to 1.5m 15-20knot wind chop i think your up for a bumpy ride regardless of what plate boat you buy. Kind regards, tony
hi stinki stabi - love the name we are talking fish stink i trust ? - mate like the webster Twin fisher but they dont offer it the 5.2 m in a cuddy cab these days so no go - and tsunami crusher thanks mate yea i think the 530 barcrusher handles a bit of sea better than most of the tinnys and probably better than a similare size stabi although the stabi will get you home i guess bit wetter and more bruised but i also tend to get bloody sea sick off shore when it blows up a bit so an very weather and ride conscious
cheers rob
What about a McLay 5.3 metre? Plate alloy and very nice.
KIWICRAFT shits on both of em
thank davo 0 - mate dont really want to get a boat built a s terrified that the builder may go bust with large sums of my money paid up and hence losts forever
and thank you sigfried but where does one get a kiwi craft in aus - have to import from nz i presume and agin some risk involved where you pay the dollars and no boat turns up or not the boat you expected - but yep worth a look
PS - ( for some reason on i cant click on the thank you buttons now on this post )
cheers rob
thank davo 0 - mate dont really want to get a boat built a s terrified that the builder may go bust with large sums of my money paid up and hence losts forever
and thank you sigfried but where does one get a kiwi craft in aus - have to import from nz i presume and agin some risk involved where you pay the dollars and no boat turns up or not the boat you expected - but yep worth a look
PS - ( for some reason on i cant click on the thank you buttons now on this post )
cheers rob
Also have a look at the Surtees Workmate 5.5 (the original BC530). I have one of these and am very happy with it. Blasts through chop no worries, excellent build quality and heaps of fishing room.
Like Borry, I also have a Surtees 5.5 ( original 530c) check these out, I've got a 90 Suzi 4 stroke on the back, plenty of guts with 3 on board.:smiley:
Believe me these NZ built boats are well built, and the build quality is great.
Looking to upgrade to the 7.3 in the next 12 months.:cool: