Thread: spanish virginity lost...

Talking spanish virginity lost...

hey all,

rushed home from work yesterday arvo as i had just been on the phone to a mate who was already out off mooloolaba. said conditions were good so i was keen to get out. drove home through a few showers and saw the storm that was brewing so i was unsure weather i wanted to venture out in my 425 tinnie. the decision was made to stick to our guns and get out and have a go.

left the ramp and headed to our spot, to be greeted by a light shower, increasing winds and lightning :sad: . we had gone too far to turn around so we anchored up and dropped a couple of bottom bashers while i rigged up my 5-8kg shimano raider snapper rod in the hope for a snapper or 2.

floated my pilly out and put it in the rod holder while i was checking my other rod and zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. it went off so i offloaded my bottom basher to my brother and held on to my raider for deer life! it took a big run, i started to get some line back then it was off again. a massive run this time and with only a meter or 2 of braid left on my 4000 reel it stopped. not a good feeling when you see that backing coming up on your reel!

after a good 10-15 min fight i had her up in the boat. my first spano and i must say i did let out an awefull loud girly scream! had to sit down for a bit to calm the body, she measured in at 132cm/16kg. very lucky not to get bitten off. got her on the second hook of my gangs. straight to the pool room with these photos!

the wind had really picked up by then and with the sight of white caps everywhere the decision was made to head home. not a bad effort for a quick half an hour fishing!:grin:

cheers, aaran.
    p.s. photos are on the way, just trying to figure out how to resize them. any help there?

Re: spanish virginity lost...

Nice work on getting your first spanish Aaron - Image resize:

WinXP - http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/d...powertoys.mspx

WinXP/Vista/7 - http://www.vso-software.fr/products/image_resizer/

Plenty of other resize tools about - Google is your friend

thanks mate ill give it a go.

cheers, aaran

email it to me if ya cant work it out and ill stick it up for ya
    No love its not new...i've had that reel for ages

got it man. im a computer wizz now.

well done not bad for a half hour fish :wink:
    you would have to be stoked to get one that size as your first

Just got my first one about 1 1/2 weeks ago, not as big as yours, mine went one metre, but how fun is it ! ! ! so hard to believe when its actually laying inside the boat floor,

and the reel spinning backwards and spitting water with full drag on,:grin: :grin: :grin: congrats, those fights deserve a beer, also they make alot of tucker ! cheers

shaun, yea mate to say i was stoked would be an understatement. done a bit of trolling over the last few months for one with no luck. did you end up eating yours? i read a thread from spaniard king that kinda put me off... so im still undecided:undecided:

dreemon, i lost one about a month ago at the same spot so made this one all the sweeter! definately beer worthy, the few i had last night helped calm the nerves so i could get to sleep. cant wait for the next, prob gonna be a while before i pb but!

cheers, aaran

well done Aaron,

That's a top Spainish and I love the fish in a esky shot! hahah

Great stuff gotta be happy with that :cool:

Well done Aaron,

Good to see you getting your first Spaniard. There are certainly a few around at the moment.

Gazza

Well done Aaran. A top effort for your first Spano. Shouldnt be an issue eating that fella.

That is an excellent fish mate, love the shot of it in the esky!
    Have to get a bigger esky now...
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Nice fish loooove that colour and shine in the water coming up
    Cheers Mark