Thread: New Instructions from the Boss

New Instructions from the Boss

Have been having a lot of fun lately and a fair bit of lucky, chasing GT's and other toothy critters on surface poppers. It has been awesome fun but the boss has instructed that fish must start coming home, as she is in the understanding if we don't get a feed she will start buying fish.

I haven't really done a lot of fishing offshore apart from the shallow reefs. Have done some jigging out at square patch, but that was mainly for kingies and ambos which apparently class as eating fish.:huh:

Going to spend this weekend sounding around looking for new spots, was thinking of heading out to the 100m line east of point lookout to sound around for some pearlie grounds. Saw a guy at the ramp on tuesday who had bagged out on them, he was saying once you find a few pearlie spots they generally don't move around a lot it is just a matter of if they are on the bite or not.

I have all the gear to bottom bash, jig, or plastic, just need some help on what to look for on the sounder for pearlies, what sort of depth etc.

PS For any one heading out on the weekend there was no current onTuesday but this was in close, but it was the slowest drift I can ever remember having.

Re: New Instructions from the Boss

Tell you what. You follow me to the pearlie grounds and then show me how you hook these big GT. I have all the gear for it as well but you seem a little further down the track than me on that front. I even bought that FCL lure that has been hanging out of a few of your fishes gobs of late.

Twist

Quote Originally Posted by ON-THE-CHEW View Post
    Have been having a lot of fun lately and a fair bit of lucky, chasing GT's and other toothy critters on surface poppers. It has been awesome fun but the boss has instructed that fish must start coming home, as she is in the understanding if we don't get a feed she will start buying fish.

I haven't really done a lot of fishing offshore apart from the shallow reefs. Have done some jigging out at square patch, but that was mainly for kingies and ambos which apparently class as eating fish.:huh:

Going to spend this weekend sounding around looking for new spots, was thinking of heading out to the 100m line east of point lookout to sound around for some pearlie grounds. Saw a guy at the ramp on tuesday who had bagged out on them, he was saying once you find a few pearlie spots they generally don't move around a lot it is just a matter of if they are on the bite or not.

I have all the gear to bottom bash, jig, or plastic, just need some help on what to look for on the sounder for pearlies, what sort of depth etc.

PS For any one heading out on the weekend there was no current onTuesday but this was in close, but it was the slowest drift I can ever remember having.

Hello Andrew,
    You dont have to go that wide for Pearlies in that area. I often catch good Pearlies in closer fishing the southern 29's. I will PM you some marks as I am boatless and would like to follow the fish while I am not on the water.

Marty

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Seaweed View Post
    Hello Andrew,
    You dont have to go that wide for Pearlies in that area. I often catch good Pearlies in closer fishing the southern 29's. I will PM you some marks as I am boatless and would like to follow the fish while I am not on the water.

Marty
    Gees, I reckon I'd take him as decky seeing he hasn't a boat at the moment and knows how to catch them.
    Nothing like on-site interactive instruction manuals. :smiley:
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Thanks Finga!! I have just been offered a run of DI if the weather stays good so I am excited. I really hate being boatless, if anything it should give everyone else great weather cos it was pretty shitty 80% of the time I have one!!

Marty

Twist,
    Pm me any time you want to know anything that I know about popping in the area, have no problem with sharing to people that are keen enough (and patient) enough to do that style of fishing.

Marty,
    Thanks heaps for your help, if you want a trip out any time send me a pm. I would go insane with out my boat.