Thread: no fish on the coast

Cool no fish on the coast

got up at three ,picked up a mate and we were on the beach well before daylight picked a gutter at narrow neck left at seven tried the spit jetty till 10am went home with the same amount of fish i left home with.....zero and lost two sets of gang hooks in a couple of mystrey hit in the surf and that about covered the hits..lovin the gold coast :angry:

Re: no fish on the coast

It's not uncommon to have one of those days.

Cheers for the next adventure

No offense Skull, but you may have been better off fishing the (very) early morning run-in/moon up instead, especially if you were fishing a good gutter. Tide may have already turned by the time you commenced.
    Believe me, I know only too well how you felt............:rolleyes: bite-offs, maybe greenbacks!

Dont worry skull 666

Welcome to the club mate.

It's happened to me on many occassions and I do travel and look and wet the line, contrary to what others may think.

Eventually you get rewarded after persistance and perseverence

sorry to hear that mate !!
    For all my morning efforts I landed 3 x Tarwhine between 31 - 34cm. So better than nothing ..... but not happy since the target was jew/tailor :-(
    I was at Talley Creek seawall.

gold coast is overfished get in your car and TRAVEL , EXPLORE!
    Gold Coast , Queensland. Paradise!

Took my own advice this morning skull 666, on the beach at 1.30am, back in bed by 3.30am. Not a scale, too much run/swell here atm. Saw some nice snowy bream landed yesterday on the bottom of the run-out though, best I've seen for quite a few years actually. Usually they end up in nets...........

imo you went fishing at the wrong time.
    Late arvo - dusk - early evening. Those 3-4 hours are the most productive when beach fishing, in my experience....... especially for tailor
    .......Ash

My wife and I also went fishing last night. . Nothing at all, we went in the afternoon until about 1130pm. Tried a few places around the coast but a massive donut!
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Serenity!

I reckon it will improve as the next moon grows, waxing moon this time of year should be excellent. Next w/e and the week after.........here's hoping!

Quote Originally Posted by nigelr View Post
    No offense Skull, but you may have been better off fishing the (very) early morning run-in/moon up instead, especially if you were fishing a good gutter. Tide may have already turned by the time you commenced.
    Believe me, I know only too well how you felt............:rolleyes: bite-offs, maybe greenbacks!
    still learning

Quote Originally Posted by robvee View Post
    sorry to hear that mate !!
    For all my morning efforts I landed 3 x Tarwhine between 31 - 34cm. So better than nothing ..... but not happy since the target was jew/tailor :-(
    I was at Talley Creek seawall.
    i was hoping you had done better looks like we both should have stayed in the cot and thrown the leg instead cheers Robvee:grin:

Quote Originally Posted by nigelr View Post
    Took my own advice this morning skull 666, on the beach at 1.30am, back in bed by 3.30am. Not a scale, too much run/swell here atm. Saw some nice snowy bream landed yesterday on the bottom of the run-out though, best I've seen for quite a few years actually. Usually they end up in nets...........
    gotta love those commercial guys have you notice the under legal size stuff in some of the shops:angry:

Quote Originally Posted by ashh View Post
    imo you went fishing at the wrong time.
    Late arvo - dusk - early evening. Those 3-4 hours are the most productive when beach fishing, in my experience....... especially for tailor
    come to think of it when i first arrived on the coast i meet this guy who loved his tailor fishing and often took me in the evenings you could well be right cheers

Quote Originally Posted by skull666 View Post
    come to think of it when i first arrived on the coast i meet this guy who loved his tailor fishing and often took me in the evenings you could well be right cheers
    Mate ... in Aus my best results for Tailor in terms of No's caught has been from 30min before sunset onwards into the night .... tide of no issue when fishing from the stones, but plays a big part in the gutters.

My PB for Tailor was caught last week at 11pm.

In South Africa my best time for tailor was always at first light for 45 min or so.

My advice is to find a spot that looks right, and then stick with that spot until you get it to produce. Vary between lures/bait and times of day .... you will learn what works for your spot (see AussieFools report on catching jew at Hastings) and become confident.
    I have a spot that produces Tailor more than 80% of the time - but you can only fish there on certain tides and swells - I was going there on Sat morning, but the swell came up and sent me elsewhere!!