Thread: flathead in the river

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

flathead in the river

got a couple of hrs after lunch today and chased some lizards in the river, prawns skipping every where iv'e never seen so many,any how got lucky and caught a couple and a soul just ate them for dinner 'here's some pics

Re: flathead in the river

nice catch champ, i love those sole/flounder my favourite eating fish, cheers BK

...of all the liars among mankind, the fisherman is the most trustworthy. ~William Sherwood Fox.

my wife gets them i cant get her to eat flathead just whiting and flounder ame and she reconds shes happy lol.
    cheers glynn

Quote Originally Posted by bennykenny View Post
    nice catch champ, i love those sole/flounder my favourite eating fish, cheers BK
    good catch hilly
    very facetious with the "champ" quote BK, don't you think?..champ!

Nice job mate just wondering wat river

Nice catch mate, got to love the lizards and sole on the hot plate.

not sure what you mean with the facetious call Stroadman?
    Well done glynn and I hope to get into a few lizards over the next few weeks.

Was it in the Brissie River?

Bermo

no bermo 82 i fish the logan river and around the power lines i was using 3 diff baits but caught them all on 1/2 pillies.
    glynn

Well done good catch from the Logan. I was down Jacobs Well yesterday and there were plenty of Flathead and small Bream down there too.

No big Flathead, but lots just below 40 with most just over the 40 cms. My best one went to 55cms which was kept for dinner. Caught a 34 cm bream and a 50cm Trevally on a Jackall chubby hardbody too.

The Flathead were caught on Berkley Powerbait soft plastics.

Hi Guys we went for a fish at the pin last sunday - us and every other boat in SE Qld!!

Funny thing was that there weren't many serious fishos.... lots of the show & lunch crowd showing off their 10m boats on the plane :angry:

Heaps of prawns in the channel out from Jacobs well.

We caught a few flatties - mainly in the 35 - 40cm range - all on SP's in shallow water.

Saw a big girl on the gold bank - but the hook didn't bite home :sad:

Bring on winter!!

Brisbane

2002 4.3 Qintrex hornet with 50HP 4 stroke Yammy & electric...

breambandit i caught some nice bream to but through them turd eaters back dont eat them.
    hilly

Quote Originally Posted by gr hilly View Post
    breambandit i caught some nice bream to but through them turd eaters back dont eat them.
    hilly
    Gr hilly,

Nice flatties mate, well done, nice to get something edible on the line hey!!

Good to see.

Cheers, Peter

Awsome catch champ! More flattie tails for you.Last week i grilled them with butter and beer.thought i would try something different, and hey presto.