Overseas sounder purchase

Thread: Overseas sounder purchase

Overseas sounder purchase

Gday all.
    i was contemplating buying a sounder form america ( everything is cheap as chips) and i was wondering.. if they have any faults or problems will i be covered in australia or will i have to seek assistance form the american vendor.. i am very seriously contemplating buying from overseas soon as they have high quality gear for an average quality price..
    thanks guys

Re: Overseas sounder purchase

You will have to send it back to the US for repair
    92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU,96 MU Wizard, 2014 MUX, 2019 DMAX
    Australia's loudest MU
    MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
    If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?

Poona,

Check your PM's

Ally Jack

May find that its only in imperial not metric

have bought gear from the states over trhe last couple of years thru a mob called marinedeal --- not had a minutes problem with servics or delivery , saved an absolute bucket of money as well ---- none of the manufacturers give you more than twelve months warranty and I've not had an issue with any product I've got from over there
    I think that the pricing policy of the manufacturers is a wrought designed to give the end sellers and the wholesalers big profits !!!
    at the end of the day I calculated I could send the item back for repair under warranty at least four times and still be better off by at least 25% of the retail price anywhere locally!!!
    as far as the calibrations all the units I've got raymarine , northstar , have the settings in them and you place the defaults you want on set-up
    cheers kim

Most stuff only has one year warranty and things generally see that out, after that your rooted anyway. Blue heron marine in seppoland are very good

Dead easy. Few if any problems. Only a few things to consider.
    SOME sounders sold in the US may not do metrics but most it isnt an issue..simply double check if its an issue for you.
    SOME manufacturers dont support warranties on US sites sold to offshore customers...i believe Lowrance may be one of them but dont quote me. Unless its an expensive model warranties are not a primary concern tho considering the savings. In general units are pretty reliable and arrive in perfect nick. You will always read the odd problem but no bloke ever admits it was his fault anyway so i'd halve the number of problems u hear again. Even if by chance u were unlucky u will still be way in front after any shipping charges back to the states u may be up for. Delivery is usually very fast by comparison with what we are used to here but check their pricing.

Basically the good u.s. webshops make most of ours look like expensive amateur hour efforts...right now its probably doing our own industry a favour by us all shopping offshore because there are far too many fingers in the pie for it to be remotely competitive here. Plus they've proven they dont want to compete on a price basis here anyway..smaller marketplace or not is no excuse for having all sorts of scavenger businesses and taxes trying to rip a buck along the way at our expense...so best not to support it anymore especially when we dont need to.

A shake up is inevitable and the old saying of shop locally to preserve jobs doesnt wash anymore and has simply become an excuse for a ripoff. It wont and doesnt "save jobs". If they cant see how they can compete on a price basis at least 25% cheaper than current pricing within 3 yrs then they really should be looking for an alternative business to be in now anyway. Only a matter of time.

After supporting what basically amounts to a ripoff in this country for so long ...i'm of the opinion its well past due that it was our turn as customers to get some actual value and service. The industry has proven they wont or dont know how to do this in Aust so the only way it seems is to now force them to do it.

Basically u can buy whatever u like from a multitude of excellent US based websites without any hassles and be far better off...which in effect is doing our local guys a long term favour. About the only little thing to remember is they dont run off 240V for mains power so avoid that stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by gtphantom View Post
    have bought gear from the states over trhe last couple of years thru a mob called marinedeal --- not had a minutes problem with servics or delivery , saved an absolute bucket of money as well ---- none of the manufacturers give you more than twelve months warranty and I've not had an issue with any product I've got from over there
    I think that the pricing policy of the manufacturers is a wrought designed to give the end sellers and the wholesalers big profits !!!
    at the end of the day I calculated I could send the item back for repair under warranty at least four times and still be better off by at least 25% of the retail price anywhere locally!!!
    as far as the calibrations all the units I've got raymarine , northstar , have the settings in them and you place the defaults you want on set-up
    cheers kim
    mate these guys want $100 postage wats goin on there

$100 postage is normal postage for a unit from the states, my northstar m121 cost me that.

ooo ok fair enuff im just never used to paying big postage like that... is ther enay hidden duties on this stuff?

duties can be a mixed bag, you will pay GST and most times get away with anything else, but every now and then, someone will actualy open a package (even if it says it is only $900 value) and check it out, and decide that an equivalent product is available here and you will pay some duties, don't let anyone tell you it does not happen, it does, but 99% of all OS purchases go with out a snag, just be prepared if you get caught in some red tape to cop it on the chin and not whinge and whine about it all, savings are there, no doubt.

Pretty sure Furuno will honor a warranty over here .. might be wrong though. With all the 'small issues' lowrance are having you'd be mad to get a HDS overseas.

Ta

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

No furuno support or warranty in Aus..

http://www.furuno.com.au/grey_imports/index.html

HOnda.

Poona mate------ I don't think that you will get it thru customs without paying GST the carrier does all the leg work for the Oz govt now and they won't risk getting gaught -- you need to do the sums --- I bought AU $6-7K worth of Raymarine stuff and on the local price here I saved nearly $4 k aussie even paying the GST and frieght!!!!
    good luck Kim

Myself and two mates each brought an Eagle combo unit through various US ebay stores.
    One mate had a problem with his just before the warranty ran out and had to send it back to the states at his cost. They ended up sending him a new unit and transducer so now he has a spare transducer.
    All I can say is we are all very happy with the results and neither of us has had to pay GST.
    I've brought a lot of things of various US ebay sites and have never had the slightest problem, they sem to be very professional over there but doesn't garantee I won't get caught out sometime.