E GRELL S10H contact ausfish member (The Bear), i'm sure he could post you one.
I have 2 of his rods, they are quality.
Marty.
Gday boys
After a new spin stick to chase spanish and big longtails. Unlike you lucky buggers I live a good 200km from a decent tackle shop so i need some quality ausfish advice(hasnt let me down yet). I want something at least 7 foot long around the 10 -15kg mark that will throw a little slug a fair way. Its is matched up to an 8000 spin reel and will cop a decent hammering from the odd big GT (hate those things bloody gea destroyer)as well.
I have heard the T Curves are a nice rod . I have used live fibres in the past but a change would be nice.
Any help appreciated.
E GRELL S10H contact ausfish member (The Bear), i'm sure he could post you one.
I have 2 of his rods, they are quality.
Marty.
Yep as Marty said s10 h is greatits what Ouse ,I have a 4500 saltiga on mine it's a weapon ......Matt
A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......
The lightest loomis Pro Blue spin stick would also be worth a look; i think it is rated to 25LB. I use the 30lb model for heavy work but doubt it would throw a light slug. The lighter model 25lb would be far better at this.
Regards to all Dick
TCurve Kingmack Spin would also fit your description.
Put me in the Egrell line mate.
It would be the lightest of the rods listed already.
www.egrell.com.au
I have a Samurai NV9 with a 8000 sustain on it that is a multi purpose rod.
It feels like a tree compared to a S10H.
Do you have a budget in mind for the rod mate?
Cheers and thanks.
"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
Fish Well, Fish Egrell
http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au
Gotta agree. The Egrell is top stuff and good after sales backup
Id like to keep it under 500 bucks if I can but i dont mind paying for quality. I do like the loomispro blue range though I have heard good things about the bear rods. I have heard good things about their impondment rods as well. Will the S10 have enough power to stop a decent GT?
What size is a decent GT?
I use a Egrell PopaBeaR as a medium PE4 popping / spinning / heavy duty plastic outfit and if I score a 15-20kg GT on it I will very happy.
There are also some top Gary Howard rods out there which may suit you.
Here is the top end of the BeaR range
S10 Heavy + 7'4-10kg (8-20lb)7-30g(1/4-1oz)Uniquely dezigned with a lightweight tip for casting weighted and unweighted 4-5" soft-plastics with the fighting capabilities there when needed. Great for Snapper but is more than capable of fighting Tuna and Barramundi.
S10-H Heavy ++ 7'6-12kg (12-24lb)9-42g(3/8-11/2oz)A heavier version of the S10 with all the fighting attributes needed for fighting longtail Tuna as well as the offshore species such as Snapper, Amberjack, Kingfish etc. Also a great spin style points casting rod for impoundment barra. Now available with choice of split grip configuration.
"BeaR Metal" Heavy + 7' 8-10kg(16-20lb) 30-80g(1-2 7/8oz)A rod dezigned for the Angler who likes to high-speed spin for the palegic species.
"BeaR Essential"Heavy ++ 7' 8-15kg (20-30lb) This rod has been introduced to give the offshore angler a powerful rod to work heavy jigheads for deeper water presentations. Ideal rod for tackling bottom dwellers such as Coral Trout and Red Emporer.
"Poppa BeaR"Extra Heavy + 7'10-15kg (20-30lb)50-120g(1 3/4-4 1/4oz) A rod dezigned for casting and working popper style lures up to 120gm.
Limit your Catch - Don't Catch your Limit
I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!
The egrells are the best casting and fighting tools out there but I think you might be chasing something heavier than the S10H. The lures you're casting will in part determine which one is right for you. If you want to cast metals/poppers upwards of 40-50g then go the poppa model. I reckon an 8000 size reel would feel too big on an 10H as well
The T-Curve Kingmack spin or probably better the bluewater spin in either 10-15 kilo as you want or 15 to 24 kilo size.
I have narrowed it down to the T Curve King mack but I am interested in the
G Loomis Pro-Blue Series Saltwater Rod PBR844S 7' 1pc
(sorry about the big text copied and pasted) Anyone want to shed some light on this rod for throwing small slugs. I have three other Loomis rods and they are awesome but nothing this big.
The 844S is a beast of a rod. I own the 963S which is a little lighter in line class than the 844 and 1 foot longer and can confidently say that these rods have a lot of power.
I have comfortably cast 80 gram cup faced poppers with this rod and it seems to work them reasonable well.
I have cast slugs as light as 30 grams and 1/2 ounce plastics but if you want to get any distance the lightest would be about 40 grams.
So what is your definition of a "little" slug. Anything say 30 or under and i would say this is not the right rod for your needs.
Although i will say if you intend to match it up with an 8000 shimano it would be a well matched, versatile combo.
I have the loomis 844s pro blue as well and it is a real powerfull stick for its rating and weight. 10kg max drag. I have an SW 8000 on it . The spool on the stella is big so i had a bigger stripper guide put on it and it casts much better. Also had a gimbal cap fitted which makes it a verstile big fish killer. Recently a mate bought a catalina 7"6" pe5 rod for his sw10000, and we pulled 14kg of drag over it . One of the best rods i have felt. Bit longer for casting.