Thread: New Dual Cabs ?

New Dual Cabs ?

Upon the sale of my boat ( if ever ) im tossing up
    between a new Triton or The ever popular & expensive
    Hilux . Would love to here from others on theses choices !

Re: New Dual Cabs ?

I have just gone through this process with my father, between the triton and the hilux. he went with the triton for the following reason

ride had more comfit
    tow rating is higher
    felt like more power in the triton diesel
    more features
    over $10k less
    better longer warrenty

only things for the hilux

resale
    looks

and in the end the mitsubishi dealer was much better and trade in was $5k better making the overal deal $15k better with the triton

had my triton now for 4 months, i never even entertained the idea of a hilux, overpriced and very little value for money. no other warranty even comes close and the resale is just as good as others.

cheers Lee

What about tray size, is that important??

I have an 06 Hilux (D4D and auto trans) and a mate of mine has recently purchased a new triton (2.5TD and manual trans), a basic comparision. Fuel consumption - triton is better but not by much. Power - pretty much the same but it feels like the triton has a bit more down low. Towing capacity - triton 3t gotta love that BUT my hilux (2.25t) is much more user friendly when towing, IF YOU TOW A LARGE BOAT GO THE AUTO. Interior - Triton is comfy but no more so than the hilux, I like the dash setup in the hilux much better than the triton which looks rather cheap in comparision. Ride - can't split them. Reliability - hilux proven, new triton largely unknown but mitsubishi engines are generally very reliable.

The new tritons are great value for money and with the money you save you can afford to splash out on a decent set of tyres, t-bar, bullbar etc...

Mate at Inala I would be ringing Blue Ribbon motors at Yamanto and asking to speak with Glen Stallard the dealer principal to see what he can do. They are a fantastic mob for sales AND service and I cannot recommend them enough. I have purchased a new Land Rover and a new Honda from them in the past 8 years and have referred a heap of people to them with great results.

PS. The Triton looks pretty good glammed up with polished front bar and all the trimmings - not quite as flash looking as the Hilux but they go and ride pretty well for what they are mate and are nice enough to live with (I had one for a week when they were trying to flog me one about a year ago).
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Got a couple of mates that work for motorama & oldmac ! I think the triton is ugly
    but nice, with some bling:undecided: Stability control is a very good factor to ! But its hard to go away from the toy all the same........ Might have a drive in the triton just in case !!!! Oh & the GLX-R cant tow 3t, without shortning the tray !

mark, thats right with the towing, 2700 with the stylside tray, change to tray back and 3 tonne is fine.

i like the look of mine now, bigger set of tyres and she changes pretty dramatically.

cheers Lee

FWIW there is a new dual cab on the horizon. VW is releasing an all new dual cab, I'm driving a D4D and the diesel clatter is pissing me of, IT's Bloody 2010!! for chris sake, and we still get served up diesel technology from the 40s out of the Japanese camp. The hilux will be on the sales lot the next day when the VW release their dual cab.
    To me think Toyota have lost the plot. They reminds me of MB of the 90s
    Humility is not a weather condition.

has anyone looked in to the narvara stx??

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

my brother inlaw got a new mq patrol turbo diesel and i got a hj60 landcruiser this was back in 1983 he blew his first diff in 85 turbo in 86 and motor in 87 in 88 he paid double what i did for my hj60 landcruiser in 1983 yes he got a cruiser the patrol was a better ride than mine was pretty inside to but i still have my hj60 and i have done a mere 1.3mill klm and i would not swap it for a new one today if you buy a new ute make sure you talk to owners of the toyota's hilux i have passed so many other brands of vehicle's broken down on the hard tracks tripping around ausie towed heaps of other brands (no toyota's)i lent a bloke my spare once its worth the difference in price.

oh what a feeling

My experience..HiLux bought new in feb 2006.
    Now has 230000k on the clock. Just put a new water pump in it and 2nd timing belt. Only other items replaced have been one battery, tyres and brake pads. Still on the original clutch. I have towed 2t boat with it and also work trailer all over the place...I would not go past a HiLux.