Favorite Jew Plastics

Thread: Favorite Jew Plastics

Favorite Jew Plastics

Hi Guys,

I havent really gone after them before, bar had a slab out couple of times when tailor fishing

Had a couple of runs on tailor baits like by-catch but always been dropped , no hook ups

Will be throwing a few plastics off the stones,

Just finished throwing metals the other day , then tied on a tsunami plastic threw it in the wash, hooked up first cast

Had him on the top , bit of wave and wash happening any way leader got cut in half on the rocks , but it looked magnificent side on floundering around in the water ,

So keen to hear peoples views on lures and leader weights and lengths

Thanks for any input, cheers

Re: Favorite Jew Plastics

Squidgie slick rigs in the 110mm size.

Any squidgie between 80mm up to 110mm size with that paddle tail work well.

A mate down in coffs brains them with the 7inch gulp jerk shads in white.

Heaps of plastics work.........The worst part of the Jewfish puzzle is finding the buggers.

river 2 sea swimming mullet its like big plastic with a bib so they dive too..
    wicked action!! and when the mullet are around they are deadly

Pete,
    Now I know what to do with all my slickies when I am Mondy dreamin.

4" hollowbellies in ayu colour.

My last two trips out - I have caught two jewies - 1 @ 90cm, 1 @ 81cm - both on 5inch nuc. chook......not sure if this was coincidence or not....but I did use other colours/profiles throughout the day......good ole nuc chook....

110mm squidgy flick baits did the job for me last winter.. Though did also catch one on a little 5cm T tail minnow.

Beach or river Chamelion?
    Limit your Catch - Don't Catch your Limit

Quote Originally Posted by GPB View Post
    Beach or river Chamelion?
    Maroochy river. I can't say that I've tried plastics in the surf yet. I've always wondered about sufficient casting distance?

Matt.

Casting distance is that critical Mat....Its getting the right conditions.

If you get a nice deep gutter near a headland you are in with a good shot.

Some of my sessions from the rocks I am only throwing about 20m.

They sit wherever there is good cover......eg shadows and white wash.

I guess thats my problem.. I've never been able to get a grasp of picking the right spot along the beach.