Thread: I.D. please.....weird chit

I.D. please.....weird chit

Ive dragged up a lot of bothese thingys while drifting round north of Coochiemudlo and just wondered what they are...(used 1 for an avitar for a spell)...
    #1 I guess is related to cunjivoi while the other is probably a bone from some common creature....

anyway if any ppl out there know that would be great....thanks
    Cheers Chris

(please insert witty saying here)

Re: I.D. please.....weird chit

No idea but the one on the left could be have been Barnacle Bill's right hand:grin: :cheesy:

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

its a thigny bob mate change your bait.

hilly

I think the one on the left is a failed bypass, the others are models of the enterprise.

Some type of tunicate? forget the spelling proper or their precise place in it all now, google will help.

hammer oyster is the second photo, the first is a tunicate of some description. (im a shellfish biologist so someone maybe able to pick up the species)

WHERES THEM BREAM?

funny guys.... still laughing....

thanks FNQ... googled images and looks like youre spot on (spelling and all)

there are heaps of different but similar...this ones about as close as i came... and then there is the section anatomy...

now for the 'T' bone ?????
    Cheers Chris

Don't know what the second pic is, but i have pulled them in at Mud Island.
    Marty.

cool gladbream, thanks.... are they edible like a rock oyster ? every one ive pulled (couple of dozen) look the same (sorta solid) and i never tried to open one.... might next time

there ya go marty.... hammer oyster

and google wins again
    Cheers Chris

ozie
    they are like a oysters, they are eddible, but i would not expect too many off them. i did my thesis in moreton bay and i found a heap of these, but my fav were the pearl oysters or quampies in the bay (pinctata maculata). i have tried them before and the meat is presentable but the moreton bay oysters are pretty hard to beat though.

kurt
    WHERES THEM BREAM?

Quote Originally Posted by gladbream View Post
    ozie
    they are like a oysters, they are eddible, but i would not expect too many off them. i did my thesis in moreton bay and i found a heap of these, but my fav were the pearl oysters or quampies in the bay (pinctata maculata). i have tried them before and the meat is presentable but the moreton bay oysters are pretty hard to beat though.

kurt

G'day Kurt,

Was you doing studies via CMS at UQ, yeah I've tucked into the quampies, good tucker, nice and sweet.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozie_3 View Post
    cool gladbream, thanks.... are they edible like a rock oyster ? every one ive pulled (couple of dozen) look the same (sorta solid) and i never tried to open one.... might next time

there ya go marty.... hammer oyster

and google wins again
    I have pulled up literaly hundreds of these over the years and have always wondered what they were now I know thanks guys.
    Cheers Axl

Usually indicate that Snapper are not far away too