Thread: Cooper Corner, Landcruiser Park - by mistake

Cooper Corner, Landcruiser Park - by mistake

Being a complete novice to 4WD'ing, I thought I'd take the easy learning route and go to Landcruiser park and try out the easy graded tracks.

My vehicle is a GQ 4.2 Diesel with 2" lift and wearing 265/70 x 16 tyres. (30.6")

I had the missus, kids, and big esky full of ice, food & drinks in the wagon.

We had done a few of the easy tracks without any drama and I was getting the hang of it.

From Figtree camping ground we went Diaper Rd, Hawkins Rd, Sahara Sidetrack, and Ironpot Rd back to Kings Rd.

Decided we hadn't had enough yet, so turned right into Kings rd intending to follow Kings Rd around the park boundary back to Hawkins, back to Diaper and back to camp.

We arrived at a signpost showing arrows pointing left and right saying "Kings Rd"

I thought (without looking at the map) that I was at the Southwest corner of the park and that I had to turn right to continue North along Kings Rd.

The track narrowed and had a lot of grass growing in the middle, which I remarked on to the missus. I actually said "it looks like it doesn't see a lot of traffic."

We then saw a 'roo bounding alongside the track and I tried to catch up to show the kids.

If I hadn't seen the roo, I might have stopped to have a look at the map, to make sure what track we were on, as the long grass seemed unusual.

I continued around a bend on what I thought was Kings rd, and the track turned steeply downhill and a bit lumpy. After another 50 Metres or so, I got out to survey the track ahead as it looked decidedly scary. Big washouts, rocks, and loose dust. It was slippery on foot and I would have reversed back up the track if I thought I could.

So on we went...

Low 1st and crawling. Had to go over a slippery large rock on a steep downward slope. She started slipping in the loose gravelly dust, so I gave her a little more throttle to stop the slide and we slid and bumped our way to the bottom of the drop. At the bottom, there was a 90 degree right turn with a tree in the middle of the track that you had to go around. (tree had some scars from previous passers by.)

Tree was impossible to go around in one go, as track was very narrow at the bottom of the drop, so a mandatory 3-point turn.

I thought the worst was over with and we'd just climb up out of the gully on the other side.

Started up the track and saw the track was steeper on the way up, than on the way down.

Not only that, the track was strewn with large rocks that looked as though they were too big to get over.

There was also the loose gravelly dust that provides little grip.

I had to maintain momentum and just picked the least scary path and gunned the engine.

The wheels were all spinning, and we were just moving. We hit a couple of large rocks with a loud crunch, but managed to get out of there.

I think my heart rate was about a thousand beats per minute after that.

We had been expecting only a yellow rated "Very Steep" bit at the end of Kings Rd.

After much consultation with the map, we discovered that we'd actually gone down Cooper Corner, which is rated on the easy bits as "rough track" (yellow), with the steep nasty bits rated as "Very Steep Extreme" (Red).

After that, we decided to curtail our 4WD'ing activities for a while and went back to camp for a well-earned drink.

I must say that I was impressed with the GQ's capabilities. I don't think that I'll be taking it down that track again in a hurry.

I think luck was on our side getting through.

The only damage incurred was the drain plug on the front diff got a bit bashed around by a rock and also a small dent on the muffler.

The patrol lived to tell the story.

See map below with my path in green (outward bound), Red dot for where I made the wrong turn, and blue on the return back to camp. Where the Red dot is, I thought I'd been at the bottom left of the map.

Cheers, Ross.

Re: Cooper Corner, Landcruiser Park - by mistake

Hi Ross

Enjoyed reading your report,brave stuff.

There is an old rule in 4WDriving and that is.If it looks to bad to go up then don't go down and vice versa.

Most important thing is you made it and hopefully did not require a change of reg grundies.

Steeler

DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent

Nice read. Would have been handy to have a gps

oddbudman

Thanks Ross,

I have been to many a 4 x 4 park and am yet to get a map off them that is accurate. Most are pretty good, but all could do with improvement as could the directions at intersections.

LP.

Thats why i try to get somebody to go with. If you go there again you should try camp road it will teach you a lot about picking the right lines. Cruiser canyon is not to bad if it's dry. I think the scariest track i have been on is old hilux hill
    92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU,96 MU Wizard, 2014 MUX, 2019 DMAX
    Australia's loudest MU
    MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
    If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?

I had arranged for a similarly inexperienced mate to meet us at the park, but he was a no-show.

The main aim was to act as backup for each other.
    Oh well, we had fun... I think :tongue: (No change of jocks required) Although one of the kids said he thought we were going to die.

I think my next learning experience will be on the beach. Not too many scary bits on the beach is there? :undecided:

I don't really want to do 4WD'ing as the main activity - just as a means of getting to where I want to go.

Quote Originally Posted by pig75 View Post
    Thats why i try to get somebody to go with. If you go there again you should try camp road it will teach you a lot about picking the right lines. Cruiser canyon is not to bad if it's dry. I think the scariest track i have been on is old hilux hill
    I thought telecom hill was scarier than Old Hilux hill, Nice view from the top of hilux though!

Quote Originally Posted by Sea-Dog View Post
    I had arranged for a similarly inexperienced mate to meet us at the park, but he was a no-show.

The main aim was to act as backup for each other.
    Oh well, we had fun... I think#:tongue: (No change of jocks required) Although one of the kids said he thought we were going to die.

I think my next learning experience will be on the beach. Not too many scary bits on the beach is there? :undecided:

I don't really want to do 4WD'ing as the main activity - just as a means of getting to where I want to go.

Actually driving on the beach can be more dangerous that what you did there
    Soft Sand humps and washouts, creeks, sunbathers, fishermen, bare boobs and Troopies full of backpackers

rolling over @ 60kph is a real possibility for the newbie

Heavy offroading like you experienced is much more fun if you don't think of it as a near death experience
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Quote Originally Posted by Matt76 View Post
    I thought telecom hill was scarier than Old Hilux hill, Nice view from the top of hilux though!
    Been up & down telecom many times never botherd me but don't think i will go down old hilux again
    92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU,96 MU Wizard, 2014 MUX, 2019 DMAX
    Australia's loudest MU
    MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
    If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?

Ha ha haaa, crazy man... You soon learn the safest way is up. Just like climbing a ladder. Ive nearly rolled a few times coming down.

I have also been miserably drunk and hopelessly lost at LCMP (or is that hopelessly drunk & .......) - sometimes wondered if the fuel will run out before the grog - perish the thought.

Some choice tracks at that end of the park. Lucky you didn't end up at the Claw. The path to glory is littered with tojo cv's on that little climb.

Yeah I have only gone up Hilux hill, I'm sure going down would be an altogether scarier track!

Quote Originally Posted by pig75 View Post
    Been up & down telecom many times never botherd me but don't think i will go down old hilux again
    Of course if you had suspension that moved it'd be a snap. Nice pic though. Reminds me of my old IFS 4Runner, scary stuff going down the rutted tracks #
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Short wheel base doesnt help either

Cool story mate. You'll be hooked soon enough, and all you will be able to think about is bigger tyres, lockers and what mod to do next.