Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Mondy splash & dash

Re: Mondy splash & dash

Yep .... certainly pays to have those XR /SXR 12 X Raps - the upgrades suggested are a must - take time to get them to suspend ....... fish the twitch aggressively with either a short or long pause:cool:

Quote Originally Posted by Steve B View Post
    Thanks Chris for a great night, followed by a fun (orderly...due to fun nazi) weekend at Hervey bay.

Yep, I never thought I would say it, but we had a barra stalking us. at one point I looked over the edge and it was suspended 1ft below the surface looking up at us...when I moved just slightly, it boiled off!! It did this about 6-7 times. Something I have never witnessed. The dam is deffinately looking good, fishing was showing good potential too. That fish was the energiser bunnies best mate...just kept going and going and going!!

Al, good to finally meet you too. Sounds like your mates had a great night too, 5 fish on the topwater is awesome!!..

Big D, always good to catch up with ya mate!!

Oh yeah, hervey bay..what a shamozzel!! weather wise. We travelled hard (about 50miles in 20knt winds...allegedly hit a turtle, fished a few superbommies, fished hard...struck out on species though. Had a ball. At least we know what we will do if we win lotto!!!

The cabin park we were at provided plenty of entertainment. The fun police were all over us!!....and especially the kids..It wasn't so funny it would have been serious.

Had a great weekend though!!!

Cant believe that was the first time we had fished barra together ....... & as expected had a ball - very chilled......and as good as it gets :smiley:
    The stalker ........ :shocked: - never seen that before either

As for the bay ........ a bit of fun without really turning a reel ( tell chris he cant claim those cod :rolleyes ......... regardless it was a great weekend - & thanks for the company..... I'm sure we can come up with some other ventures

Quote Originally Posted by PaulMark View Post
    Well. ya might have let us know you were coming:rolleyes:.Ok,where'd you stay?? Where'd you fish??Close in was pretty quiet this weekend,mates at work had a good time out at the gutters.Wathumba/Roonies have got Snaps and still a few Tuna.Fun police???You weren't playing up were you??:grin:
    Paulo
    Hi Paul .....

Fished in fairly close (artificial reef) but up up as far as moon pt - just too much wind / current which made it pretty uncomfortable & wet in the hornet.

Fun police ...... the Manager of the van park winged about any indiscretion or talking past "quiet time" ....... get a life!!!!

btw ..... no Miley! ...... just a bit of Def leppard

Fun police!! Paul, it was beyond that!!...we didnt stand a chance for whatever reason!....we were angels, seriously!!! no music, kids behaved, quiet after dark, quiet leaving to fish in the morning, no nudie runs etc....totally unlike our apparent usual behavior:grin: :tongue:.

Should have let you guys know we were there...but it was pretty ordinary fishing and weather...but it would have been good for a coldie and chat though. Next time hey.

Cheers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Jeez, Ive had some big sessions up in the bay, both on the water (drop in at Urangan and day trip to Roonies) and off the water (drop in at the boat club and punish my evil liver).
    Great place, especially down at the beer garden in the pub on the esplanade there, cant remember the name, but a cracker for a few coldies on a hot summers saturday arvo.

men we do a trip most years up the island for a snapper session in winter you should organise a weekend to do one ,camp on the island drink some sherbies,fish drink some more sherbies ,fish ,drink................ the weather is pretty nice too that time of year ,brain cells cop a hammering but lifes to short to worry about that:grin: :grin:

It certainly runs through the arti,and the bigger tides are usually not so good fishing wise.The last twice I've taken Mikey over there its been a soaking for us coming home.The worst bit is coming around the top of Woody,its like somones got a fire hose going.Wind against tide and its painful and wet.What day did you fish? I should've got me bum out of bed Saturday morning but after a week of late shift the bed won lol. Grumpy park manager sounds a bit over the top,pm me which park and I'll make sure none of the rellies stay there.There'll have to be a next time people,us Baysiders have to make it up to you good tourists.:grin:Maybe the ol park keep is confusing tourist with terrorist and he thinks he's running Guantanamo.:wink::wink:
    Paulo:cool:

Quote Originally Posted by warrior View Post
    men we do a trip most years up the island for a snapper session in winter you should organise a weekend to do one ,camp on the island drink some sherbies,fish drink some more sherbies ,fish ,drink................ the weather is pretty nice too that time of year ,brain cells cop a hammering but lifes to short to worry about that:grin: :grin:
    Sounds good Al ....... might have to organise something

Al, sounds like a good plan...some local knowledge would be awesome. We were saying how good it would be to camp out and put in some serious sessions...on the water!!!:wink: Actually I would like to get further up..wathumba and further to get serious if a couple of nites of camping was involved....so much bay, so little time to explore.

Cheers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post

Nippa, re the X Raps, have a look thru both mine and Pete H's recent posts, and I think Chris as well? on retro fitting the hardware to get them to hang right.
    Ping us a pm if you need any info.
    Hey simon

The 12 cm (XR 12s / SXR12s seem to be the best size for Monduran & awoonga barra ......... they account for 60cm fish through to ......... BIG!

I got a 51cm barra on a SXR12 last time at Mondy.....

Also discovered that the arse had been ripped out of my white (glass ghost?) Xrap by a feisty 67cm fish....

They are certainly not robust lures...

Pete, I ran a texta over my white one to add some contrast stripes, it just looked a little, well, too white!

Had a yarn with one of the tradies at work today, they had a blinder on the Friday up there north of Moon Pt on Long Tails and Queenies on surface and placs.

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post
    I got a 51cm barra on a SXR12 last time at Mondy.....

Also discovered that the arse had been ripped out of my white (glass ghost?) Xrap by a feisty 67cm fish....

They are certainly
    not robust lures

So ..... at the risk of a hijack :smiley: ..... nah , lets start a new thread!