Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Mondy splash & dash

Mondy splash & dash

Hi All

Just did my shortest trip to Mondy as part of a first time look at Harvey bay! Arrived to be greeted by superb conditions and an ever bigger dam than my last visit (77- 82%) With warm conditions & an ever so slight SE zepher , I headed off with my first stop off at the 1st cut through ...... casting to the submerged tree spindly tree top my second cast with an olive XR12 X Rap was molested . - With solid connection I had already backed the drag off as the fish ran clear of the garbage & headed toward open water. The power of the tail generating large boils , I was clearly on to a good fish & decided to try to get the video going -- :cry: What a mistake...... the fish turned 90 deg left & charged straight through another tree breaking the 30lb braid like cotton ........... talk about giving myself a kick up the backside.
    After that I had bit of a look around PK point - but with 3 boats already there ..... I let it be!
    As the morning rolled on - I ventured into South B and was pleasantly Attachment 58193surprised with the quality of the water. Attachment 58191 After looking at some various locations a wind change had me focusing my attention on a point on the eastern side - several casts later I landed a 100 cm barra - very energetic & well conditioned too!
    Next cast another barra is hooked - & boy did it put on a display with every bit of 20 jumps including 3 next to the boat - unfortunately the braid had wrapped the fish & passed through the gill rakers - gone!
    From there on I was happy enough to do some exploring and find some potential locations for winter & spring.
    On sunset Attachment 58192, I fished the next point up from my morning location & ended up with a short strike on a frog , a miss on small surface lure ( Lucky craft tre mor) & spooking a barra that I've virtually landed a mullet on its head.
    That evening I caught up with Lee & daryl for a few beers & a shared fire!

The next morning it was back to some exploring & eventually hooking up with Lee ........ nothing encountered though till I finished the day off in South B with Steve B.
    funnily - we had a serial stalker barra which basically stayed under or around the boat for the 2 hours or so that we fished this location revealing itself with boils every 20mins or so ........
    After trying quite a few presentations - i eventually put on a 5" Storm suspending shad & within a few casts managed a feisty 98cm fish that just did not want to come to the boatAttachment 58190 .......... then after another 10mins or so the serial stalker barra showed his hand when he engulfed the SSS at the back of the boat...... quick connection - but gone just as quick! - and with an uneventful moonrise we headed back to camp to share a fire with Daryl , Steve & Foxy.

My shortest trip to Mondy still proved to be an enjoyable one - with enough interest to make it well worthwhile - certainly conditions are improving & all is looking good for the June gathering.

Re: Mondy splash & dash

great stuff nagg,had a similar trip spent the night there and early morning had a couple of heart hearted hits in the evening and hooked a ripper in the morning only to see it spit the slicky mid air,the mates landed 5 best being 118 all on surface ,definatly looks good for the next few months found a couple of great points with lots of activety on them .

Nice work Chris - we may have to start calling you "Telflon 2"....

A couple of very good fish. Well done...

Hmmm...hope PK point loses some its popularity!

Regs

Pete & Kyle

awesome stuff nagg, getting pretty pumped hearing these good reports ill be there friday morning for 3 nights.

great report

Ellis

Nice one bud!! I so wanna head back up there again...... my missus is due to give birth our second child anytime soon, so im retired for at least 6-8 weeks. So casting plastics and HB's to snags and banks will be a distant memory to me. But as soon as i get the ok.... ill be back on board!!! good on ya bud!!

smoked
    (when Im dead) my biggest FEAR is that my wife will sell my fishing gear for what I said I paid for it.........

Good stuff Chris, great report and pictures as usual, well done.

I'll add the 198 points to your score in the Mondy Cup.

John.

Noice, and interesting re the first cut thru!

Nice work mate.

Was great to catch up and spend part of the day fishing and exploring.

Lee

good report chris the dam is looking good shane

Congrats Chris, great results for such a short trip!

Any barra that puts on 20 jumps deserves its freedom!

Being stalked by barra - now thats a role reversal!

Thanks for the report,

Short but sweet trip Chris and you must have been happy to get onto fish. Any theory to why the barra was stalking you? Goes a bit against the theory that they are all wised up and boat shy. The previous fish would have taken out stealth factor also. Besides the gill rake episode, are you still confident with 30lb braid? - cheers Richard

Quote Originally Posted by rc@hinze View Post
    Short but sweet trip Chris and you must have been happy to get onto fish. Any theory to why the barra was stalking you? Goes a bit against the theory that they are all wised up and boat shy. The previous fish would have taken out stealth factor also. Besides the gill rake episode, are you still confident with 30lb braid? - cheers Richard
    Yeh Richard ..... very happy considering just how little casting I actually did ..... lots of looking.
    The surprise with the stalker was that we were in 9ft & had both sounders pinging away! - maybe there was some attraction :huh:

Quote Originally Posted by Peter4 View Post
    Nice work Chris - we may have to start calling you "Telflon 2"....

A couple of very good fish. Well done...

Hmmm...hope PK point loses some its popularity!

Regs

Pete & Kyle

PK Point ...... or main street - never went past the place without seeing at least 1 boat there (usually 2 or 3) ....... so very popular :cry:

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Noice, and interesting re the first cut thru!
    Brian ..... those spindly tree tops in 20ft of water scream barra when you get close & see the algae & the micro biomass - no wonder barra are there

Quote Originally Posted by matt fraser View Post
    Congrats Chris, great results for such a short trip!

Any barra that puts on 20 jumps deserves its freedom!

Being stalked by barra - now thats a role reversal!

Thanks for the report,

Hi Matt ....... I can honestly say that I've never seen a barra of any size put up such a display - and specially from a fish around the meter mark ..... there were no real runs just jumps & tail walks (would have been good to have the go pro camera going) .....
    Disappointed because it was my second olive X Rap taken that morning ( & my last one)

Stalked by a barra - If Steve wasn't with me you wouldn't believe it ........ barra are amazing:cool: