I Facebook. Great way to stay in touch with Family and friends. Privacy settings are tight, quite safe.
I will never enter/join facebook or twitter. Not for the reasons you mention, but I don't agree with type of website, so I can't be a hypocrite by saying I am against it but then signing up myself, irrespective of the cause. Morals always come first for me.
I agree with the cause, just not with the medium used.
I Facebook. Great way to stay in touch with Family and friends. Privacy settings are tight, quite safe.
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
Good onya Newby ,Tim
Steve I understand yours & others point of view & at this stage all I can do is try & post info as it becomes available for those that dont want to join the facebook site . Although now it's been moved to here instead of general chat I don't know how many will bother to keep track of the thread :sad:
cheers Al
Intresting title "Rudd shows contempt for fishos" I reckon the little barstard has shown contempt for everyone , bar reffos and bludgers. Jesus fullas would any of you give Garrett or Wong a f%^&#n job
DalyMacca
Posted: 04 May 2010 07:31 Post subject: In the last 2 weeks WE FISH has had Meetings or Correspondance with
Mr Bruce Billson MP federal Member for Dunkley (LP)
Mr Geoff Shaw State Candidate for Frankston (LP)
Mr Peter Angelico Federal Candidate For Isaacs (LP)
Senator Steve Fielding (family First)
Senator Richard Colbeck (LP)
MS Johanna Gash MP Member for Gilmour (LP)
I have sent the following email out Weekly to both MR Tony Bourke and Mr Helper
still without reply
Dear MR Bourke
My Name is Dale McClelland and I am part of a group of dedicated recreational anglers who have organized the WE FISH campaign
I was also involved with the Mako situation
Attached is the information regarding the We FISH Campaign
As you will see it is politically unbiased
We would very much appreciate a meeting with you to discuss our concerns and issues
You can contact me via this email address or phone me in the office (below) or on my Mobile
Still waiting for a rsponse
RING RUDD (02) 6277 7700
EMAIL GARRET Peter.Garrett.MP@aph.gov.au
This is one of the guys thats in fighting away for us fellas !! I just thought I'd post this to let you know that he's still there punchin
cheers AL
update
Posted: 10 May 2010 21:01 Post subject: WE fish Follow up and makos etc ok as eluded to
We fish has had discussions with heaps of organisations etc
and after todays developments lets lay it on the line
if i get my testies crushed bad luck you all deserve to know the truth
I had discussions with Burkes office today (advisor only)
catagorically stated there is no way they will ever pay wages for a peak body be it recfish or otherwise as they would lose political control and empower a group to work againstr themselves
have had discussions with the Libs (lots of discussions )and have a meeting with them (a face to face ) late MAY to hear what they will do for rec fishing
had great discussion with GFAV tonite and this mako crap is not over by a long way
Acorp in NSW do not want to prop up Recfish (there was hints of 46k but seems to have been pulled) personally cant blame them when it would come from NSW RFL fees and not from every state but thats another issue all together
Senator Steve Fielding said face to face he would push to get the mako stuff through quickly and obviously has struggled to do so (even with lib support
Greens and labour have slowed this up and it may not get through this side of the election
on a brighter note Signatures HAVE BEEN FLOWING IN GREAT STUFF
more organisations are jumping on board such as bluewater etc etc
Recfish website is now dead in the water
Whilst a Bermy this week end i will be going out of my way to bend the ear of NSWGFA and GFAA and if they dont want to listen i will name and shame
more to come tomorrow
anthony kelvin marty bear boris johnbob etc etc thanking you
RING RUDD (02) 6277 7700
EMAIL GARRET Peter.Garrett.MP@aph.gov.au
FINALLY!!!
Subject: Colbeck - media release - Coalition welcomes end to Government's Mako mess
Date: Mon, 21 Jun 2010 20:52:48 +1000
To:
SENATOR THE HON RICHARD COLBECK
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
M E D I A R E L E A S E
21 June 2010
Coalition welcomes end to Government's Mako mess
The long overdue approval of legislation to overturn the Rudd Labor Government's ban on Mako Sharks has been passed in the Senate tonight with the support of the Federal Coalition.
Federal Coalition spokesman for Fisheries, Senator Richard Colbeck said this brings an end to an unnecessary mess brought about by Environment Minister Peter Garrett's complete failure to consult the recreational fishers of Australia.
"Recreational fishers, particularly game fishers, charter boat operators and regional businesses reliant on their trade will breathe a sigh of relief with the passing of this legislation," Senator Colbeck said.
In December, recreational fishers were made aware of a plan by Minister Garrett to ban the fishing of popular game fish, the mako and porbeagle sharks, under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act from 29 January.
This came about due to international action on threatened stocks particularly in the Mediterranean and North Atlantic Ocean, but there was no scientific evidence or data suggesting low stocks in or around Australian waters.
A massive effort by thousands of recreational fishers, in conjunction with the Federal Coalition, saw a grassroots campaign eventually force a backdown by Minister Garrett in January.
"This whole saga is symbolic of Labor's attitude to the recreational fishing sector. Over the past two and half years, Labor has:
· stripped the national peak body, Recfish, of all of its funding;
· threatened massive new no-take marine parks around Australia;
· allowed fringe environmental groups to unilaterally influence policy; and
· the Fisheries Minister makes the fishing sector only his third or even fourth priority in his list of four portfolios.
"Unlike Labor, the recreational fishing sector and its many millions of participants can be assured they will be listened to by a Coalition Government.
"We will not place bans on fishing without very strong reason and, even then, not before genuine consultation.
"The Coalition will give recreational fishing the respect and recognition it fully deserves as a contributor to the environment, to healthy lifestyles and to the nation's economy."
----------------------------------------------------------------
Patrick Clancy
Office of Senator Richard Colbeck
Senator for Tasmania | Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries & Forestry
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Industry, Innovation, Science & Research
Devonport - Tasmania ( 03 6424 5960 | ( (m) +61 402 641 170 | 6 03 6423 5244 |
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
21 June 2010
Coalition welcomes end to Government's Mako mess
The long overdue approval of legislation to overturn the Rudd Labor Government's ban on Mako Sharks has been passed in the Senate tonight with the support of the Federal Coalition.
Federal Coalition spokesman for Fisheries, Senator Richard Colbeck said this brings an end to an unnecessary mess brought about by Environment Minister Peter Garrett's complete failure to consult the recreational fishers of Australia.
"Recreational fishers, particularly game fishers, charter boat operators and regional businesses reliant on their trade will breathe a sigh of relief with the passing of this legislation," Senator Colbeck said.
In December, recreational fishers were made aware of a plan by Minister Garrett to ban the fishing of popular game fish, the mako and porbeagle sharks, under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act from 29 January.
This came about due to international action on threatened stocks particularly in the Mediterranean and North Atlantic Ocean, but there was no scientific evidence or data suggesting low stocks in or around Australian waters.
A massive effort by thousands of recreational fishers, in conjunction with the Federal Coalition, saw a grassroots campaign eventually force a backdown by Minister Garrett in January.
"This whole saga is symbolic of Labor's attitude to the recreational fishing sector. Over the past two and half years, Labor has:
· stripped the national peak body, Recfish, of all of its funding;
· threatened massive new no-take marine parks around Australia;
· allowed fringe environmental groups to unilaterally influence policy; and
· the Fisheries Minister makes the fishing sector only his third or even fourth priority in his list of four portfolios.
"Unlike Labor, the recreational fishing sector and its many millions of participants can be assured they will be listened to by a Coalition Government.
"We will not place bans on fishing without very strong reason and, even then, not before genuine consultation.
"The Coalition will give recreational fishing the respect and recognition it fully deserves as a contributor to the environment, to healthy lifestyles and to the nation's economy."
----------------------------------------------------------------
Patrick Clancy
Office of Senator Richard Colbeck