Rudd Govt. contempt for fisho's

Thread: Rudd Govt. contempt for fisho's

Rudd Govt. contempt for fisho's

G'day Guys , This is one of the reasons that the "WE FISH" concept has started up

FYI -

SENATOR THE HON RICHARD COLBECK wrote:
    SENATOR THE HON RICHARD COLBECK

Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

M E D I A R E L E A S E

14 April 2010

Rudd Government continues contempt for recreational fishers

The forced decision by Recfish, the peak body for Australia’s 3.5 million recreational fishers, to close its professional office is strong evidence of the continued contempt shown by the Rudd Labor Government towards recreational fishing.

At a time when Environment Minister Peter Garrett is proposing to lock up great swathes of Australia’s waters, the recreational fishing sector is being financially muzzled by the Rudd Government.

“Recreational fishers need strong and professional representation like never before,” Federal Coalition spokesman for Fisheries Senator Richard Colbeck said

“Yet the Rudd Government has flatly refused any requests by Recfish for support.

“This follows the reckless decision by the Rudd Government in the 2008-2009 Budget to cut all funding to the Recfish organisation – which it received under the previous Coalition Government.

“The Rudd Labor Government has displayed ongoing ignorance and contempt towards the recreational fishing sector. This had included:

• Minister Garrett’s decision to unilaterally declare the Coral Sea Conservation Zone without consulting recreational fishers;

• Minister Garrett’s proposal to ban the fishing of mako sharks without consulting recreational fishers;

• the Rudd Government’s current proposals to lock up great swathes of waters around Australia with recreational fishers given no guarantees over no-take zones; and

• the failure to appoint a junior minister or parliamentary secretary to the fisheries portfolio – and, instead, just have a part-time, Agriculture, Fisheries & forestry Minister.

“It is extraordinary that a mere week after the part-time Agriculture, Fisheries & forestry Minister Tony Burke released a recreational fishing discussion paper extolling the virtues of recreational fishing, we are now seeing the forced demise of Recfish due to the decisions of the same Minister.

“The Rudd Labor Government must start listening to the voices of the 3.5 million recreational fishers around Australia – and it must act accordingly.”

Media Contacts: Patrick Clancy (Colbeck) 0402 641 170

Please Get on Board fellas !!! We are gunna need all the support we can muster .
    I can see by the lack of response in the other thread that I posted that not many seem interested . But its your rights that are being eroded & in Qld & Nsw more than anywhere else at the present .
    Even it is no more than Joining the WE FISH campaign via Facebook !! at least that is giving us strength in numbers .
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=114669588562593&v=app_2373072738#!/group.php?gid=114669588562593&v=wall
    Cheers AL

Re: Rudd Govt. contempt for fisho's

I hope the Milky Bar twit is a one term wonder....
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

Kev has contempt for everyone..anybody read the new "Modern Awards" that kev brought in to replace workchoices..as an empolyer..awesome. I now don;t have to uspply work clothes or boots..you break company supplied tool you replace them..sounds good to me. In my lifetime I have never seen so many people dumbed down and believed so much BS without doing any reasearch on it..just shows the mentality that is rampant these days.

AL, I wouldn't take the lack of response to heart - guys on here are copping a hammering from EcoFishers, and have made their remarks already.

Many folks here are already doing something.

Keep the info coming, it is all useful!

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    AL, I wouldn't take the lack of response to heart - guys on here are copping a hammering from EcoFishers, and have made their remarks already.

Many folks here are already doing something.

Keep the info coming, it is all useful!

All good Tim,
    As I said these guys that have started this are'nt just looking at a Vic. scenario , they are actually looking at targetting the issues on a national level. They are getting stronger day by day & actually have the ears of a few pollies now . There is some suggestions of targetting pollies that are sitting on very marginal seats which would make them a bit nervous :cool:

As I say even if the only thing that some guys can do is join the facebook group It will help
    Cheers AL
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=114669588562593&v=app_2373072738#!/group.php?gid=114669588562593&v=wall

Al..I won't join Facebook or Twitter or any other site like that. So perhaps they chould start a free standing website perhaps

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    Al..I won't join Facebook or Twitter or any other site like that. So perhaps they chould start a free standing website perhaps
    +1

The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters

Ausfish Platinum Member STUIE63's Avatar

+ another 1 here
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by tednted View Post
    All good Tim,
    As I said these guys that have started this are'nt just looking at a Vic. scenario , they are actually looking at targetting the issues on a national level. They are getting stronger day by day & actually have the ears of a few pollies now . There is some suggestions of targetting pollies that are sitting on very marginal seats which would make them a bit nervous :cool:

As I say even if the only thing that some guys can do is join the facebook group It will help
    Cheers AL
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gi...8562593&v=wall
    Facebook is a dangerous tool, too many people expose themselves and family to danger through this medium without understanding what they are doing.

Beware the filth trolling through the information.

Pity though, the cause is worthwhile.

HONda.

Add one more...........

Facebook is not a place I'd visit, go with the free standing website.......

And another.
    I have no friends so no point in those sites.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

well guys, who voted for this idot,not me ,should have stuck with little johnny :undecided:

Quote Originally Posted by honda900 View Post
    Facebook is a dangerous tool, too many people expose themselves and family to danger through this medium without understanding what they are doing.

Beware the filth trolling through the information.

Pity though, the cause is worthwhile.

HONda.

I'm hearing ya Fella's & I'm not much into that crap aswell . I did join & you can set your privacy part so the whole world can't see what ya up to .
    But i do understand anyone's reluctance to join those sites . I think that when this movement grows to the numbers that we need to be heard that they may even start their own website !!! not sure , this is still in it's infancy & the facebook was more to get an idea of what sort of support we could muster & make it easy for people to show support :grin: :grin: What I do know is That They've already got some pollies Attention !!!!!
    Remember this is an election year & there is somewhere around 3 million rec anglers in Aus. that could become a force to be reckoned with !!!!!

If you don't want to join facebook & still want to get behind us , perhaps pop Dale an email & see what can be done . dale@victoriansaltwaterfishing.com

cheers Guys AL.

The problem we have with facebook, is actually us old codgers that think there world will blow up if they join. People think if they join everyone will know their business, they fail to realise that people can only know what you tell them. They also think that the entire world can see what they write and dont realise its just the select people that you add as a friend that can see what you write.

Once you hit 'join' on the 'we fish' page, what happens is the number of members grows. If we have 1000 members, we have 1000 people that by joining effectively say they support the campaign.

As I said Hopefully this movement will get stronger , & WE FISH can start it's own website . At the moment there's a few dedicated fishos trying to get something happening at their own expense & time . I truly believe that you northerners have copped it worse than your southern cousins !!! But I also reckon ti's gunna get worse .
    cheers AL

Quote Originally Posted by tednted View Post
    The problem we have with facebook, is actually us old codgers that think there world will blow up if they join. People think if they join everyone will know their business, they fail to realise that people can only know what you tell them. They also think that the entire world can see what they write and dont realise its just the select people that you add as a friend that can see what you write.

Once you hit 'join' on the 'we fish' page, what happens is the number of members grows. If we have 1000 members, we have 1000 people that by joining effectively say they support the campaign.

As I said Hopefully this movement will get stronger , & WE FISH can start it's own website . At the moment there's a few dedicated fishos trying to get something happening at their own expense & time . I truly believe that you northerners have copped it worse than your southern cousins !!! But I also reckon ti's gunna get worse .
    cheers AL
    Your right...It has to start somewhere and as usual the fear of modern technology and the possibility of actually having to do something will give some people the excuse they need to actually do NOTHING and then whinge about it.

I also sent out 120 invitations to friends on Facebook.

I am listed on so many different forums and groups now its beyond a joke. But imagine if we all did not???
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.