Ahhhhh....its legal but some ppl still need "edjumicating" - Page 2

Thread: Ahhhhh....its legal but some ppl still need "edjumicating"

Re: Ahhhhh....its legal but some ppl still need "edjumicating"

Hi Guys,
    Hey Im a legend, Term used very,very,very loosely and if you want to give us amateurs a bad rap that would be the way to do it. especially in a very public place.
    Goes hand in hand with the morons who take an esky full of beer fishing to the wall and are too lazy, or incapable of sensible thought to take their empties home and instead make a beer bottle mountain which some other moron smashes just so the average family who visits there can see how environmentally friendly, family friendly and clean we keep our attractions.:angry:

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

Not buying into this but yes the fact a smaller fish was added for what ever reason into the mouth of the larger is just dumb.However the fact remains that this image does remain for all to see on this forum.Who knows what eyes lurk within to send images to other media vehicles.Just my thoughts.Jim
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF

Yes Jim thats true and i did think of that, which was one reason I uuuumed and aaahhed. So whats the answer?...Do we take the fish shrine down or leave it where it is and hope it all goes away. Or do we try some education through a forum such as this. I really dont expect the resonsible person to be a member here but maybe some day an Ausfish member who has read this thread might be in position to help prevent this happening again.

Rabbi, dont get me started on the rubbish on the rocks...carted another bucketfull out the other day, including an empty bundy 6 pack....approx 50m of 70lb line which had been stripped and left....oh and Ive seen that pile of broken stubbies I hope my kids dont find it with only their thongs on

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

I understand,yes it would have been one of those Catch 22 situations.No matter what we do our race is contaminated.Jim
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF

Mark,

when I was a kid my grandfather was very proud of his Flathead collection,
    he had some huge heads nailed to his tree.

I think that this knob had his fish float around in his fish-box for long enough so that one went down the throat of the other,
    SO WHAT, it has happened to me MANY times.

Not sure that I should comment much on the Evans Classic........

but I for one am glad to see the bag limit halved for all the extra fishos that will hit Evans and surrounding areas during that time,

they might leave a few for the locals when they are gone.

Oh ..........Uncle Steve............you are a legend:rolleyes: :grin:

G'Day Muzz, yeah Ive seen plenty of flathead skulls nailed to trees over the years and heard of many more, however in 2010 we have many more "groups" who are more than willing to try and take or reduce our freedom to fish away, they are media savvy and seem in many cases to have little else to do.

Looking at it from another perspective, Ive spent the all of my kids lives trying to instill a sustainable fishing mentality in them. Take enough for a feed, then either stop or release fish. Particularly with flatties I have a personal limit of 70cm everything bigger goes back as I think chicken breast at $9.99/kg is better tucker....and Just because you catch a ray/shovelly/red harry/wirrah and its brown/flat/ugly/stings like a bastards, doesnt mean you have to kill it. I find it hard to explain to an 8yo why we have to let em go to keep fish there for the future or clean up our mess when "others" dont have simlar values.......yes the 8yo may well say "so what"....I wonder if his kids will be able to catch fish like we do? or maybe they'll be fishing under a set of regulations similar to those outlined in FREEDOMS post in the general chat section I think titled..."Thank god I live in Australia"

I agree with halving of the bag limit for the classic, but not the way in which it came about.....ahhh I fell beter now thanks fellas

I also grew up with some monster flathead trophy's, as well as jewfish and some big Foster bream that probably deserved to go back. My old man still has a copy of a newspaper article with a photo of 3 blokes that caught 96 or 98 (memory is not what it used to be) jewfish in one night back in 1940's. I've always wondered what they did with all those fish back then, I've always hoped that a lot of people had a great feed as one of those 3 was my Grandfather.

Yeah, I hear ya,

if they could do it fishing would be in the same bucket as whaling and farming bears for bile.......

I fully understand your stand on teaching our up and coming fishos,
    I try and instilll similar understanding in my boys,
    when we have enough, we come home......no C and R in deep water.

We need to find time for a beer soon....3 more months and I have a new fisho to teach........

woooohooo....jeez has it been that long, :shocked: