-
Ausfish Addict
sandies real quiet
wasn't going to post,but hey cannot post of successful trips all the time,put 8 pots out friday arvo with the oldman,put them in the middle of the bay in around the 14mtr mark,headed back sat mornin to check and rebait,got 11 sandies,decided to move the pots to another spot and reset for the nite,headed out sunday to get a misserable 2 sandies,rebaited and set them bout 50mtrs off the rockwall at manly for the nite in hope of gettin a few sandies with a couple of muddies as well,went out monday and pull them out,got 7 sandies but no muddies ,couple of big female muddies but no keepers,has been a very ordinary 2nd run of the crabs this season,has any1 been gettin them down the sothern end of the bay,down around russel or coochie islands,thinkin maybe all the fresh held them out from green and they went south,
cheers rosco
-
Re: sandies real quiet
heard of a good haul from deeper water, from shipping channels perhaps, or perhaps illegally from now green zone trench towards sand hills, one that runs north from channel marker that links southern launchers to the northern bay (cant remeber now if its a cardinal mark or a caution) my records show we have done well there in the past this time of the year its about 25+m of water. we havent crabbed there for a couple of years (and cant now) because the pots used to get checked while we fished the sandhills as its kinda like a main thorough fare. however i thought the information might get you thinking about other similar spots to try... ill try chase up some more details but i dont think hes real keen haha
-
im still hearing that me pro buddy is getting reasonable results from where i have made out your spot x location would be.
he is taking 80-90 kg a time so while that isnt great or setting any sought of record, if your crabbing recreationally in that area , you should be able to scratch a feed.
me thinks you may have been getting your pots checked whilst you were leaving them for decent soaks...
absolutely thick as thieves up my way and even an early season run of qaulity squire hitting the passage as well.
-
Mate I think you may be right about the fresh it certainly has been a sad season but lets hope it gets better still a bit of time left for them to number up.
Cheers Axl
-
Ausfish Addict
yeah they could of been checked,prob give my spot x a go on the weekend or maybe the top end of mud
cheers rosco
-
Howdy Rosco, we put in 8 pots at wello on the weekend and left them to soak for 8 hours.
Not even a single crab and the bait had not been touched by small fish etc.
This time last year up until June we were getting heaps of sand crabs.
I noted the water temp has fallen to 23 degress already.
Your the crab guru so if you think they are quiet they must be.
Cheers Brent
-
Ausfish Addict
yeah i know,was a good season last yr but this 1 was the worst we have ever had,think i will have to start fishin offshore earlier this yr,headin offshore this weekend hopefully a couple of days
cheers rosco
-
we crabbed the sandhills today for about a dozen, very good size though. was about a 5 hour soak best depth 7-8m very few starfish which is always nice. could only find two whiting and we looked all over even went up to lucinda on a tip off. interestingly one of the pots was full of squire 15-20cm and we caught one every drop in a certain area
-
Ausfish Addict
have given up on the tings,think will just go for squid for a bit,least u got a few crabs for a feed,
cheers rosco
-
Hey Rosco
Been a crap year for sandies, especially after last year. Have hung up the pots now, effort V return not worth it.
Next year, or should I say I'll haver a look in October.
Cheers mate
VS
-
Ausfish Addict
vs
i will start again in mid september
cheers rosco
-
hey mate, let four pots soak on tuesday night, before a trip to mud, i checked them wednesday morn about 0830 and two of my pots atleast had been tampered with, (i always set my pots up the same way and two were different when i picked em up) so no sandies for me.. as a consolation prize i scored two big muddies (17-18 cm) from another spot a bit closer to shore.. a pro crabber mate of mine reckons it is just a late season, keep on tryin, they are still out there...
-
Ausfish Addict
mate i was thinkin they are runnin late as the pots in deeper water where traveling crabs good fullish crabs but soft shelled still,should be hard shelled by now,have to put my pots out for muddies maybe
cheers rosco