Thread: Bribie passage tactics?

Bribie passage tactics?

Gday crew, ive recently moved from the southside of brisbane to the northside, my previous estuary haunt was the pin and broadwater area, i enjoyed great success catsing plastics around the many banks around tipplers ect for flathead and bream, now im on the northside ive had several trips to bribie passage, looking at my charts it looked like the banks south of toorbul looked a likely spot for flathead ect but in 2 trips to this area ive managed just 2 small flathead, also tried the mouth area of glasshouse creek, can anybody point me in the right direction or is it normal to find this area slow at times, i fish 1.5kg braid and release most of my catch.. cheers

Re: Bribie passage tactics?

G'day, you're on the right path - keep plugging away - the passage cops a flogging at times, so getting out before the hordes do helps big time with bringing home a feed.

Do some searches on Glassy creek, mission point, coochin creek and you will find heaps of vaulable advice.

Happy fishing
    Don't take life too seriously, no one gets out alive.

hey mate check out the flats opposite the donnybrook boat ramp, there is tonnes of Flathead there and some quality Trev's too,Plenty of yabbies if your a baito or try bouncing 3 inch gulp fry off the banks into the deeper channels on a falling tide. keep plugging away mate and a pattern will soon emerge

You guys are not wrong about the area copping a flogging, sunday at 11 am it was like D DAY in the passage with boats of all sizes charging both directions.
    And thanks so much for the helpfull hints..

Yeah it gets a flogging but a lot of people dont get too much, Ive heard that over and over at the ramp.
    Its embarrassing sometimes to have nice fish in the esky!
    Working soft plastics in the area has netted me heaps of flathead and bream etc over the past few years, it is a little quiet at the moment with a lot of fresh still up there and a lot of the bigger flatties are harder to find in the cooler months. But they are there and can be caught, especially if you can can a quiet day with lots of sunshine in winter.
    i have found I usually do well very early, and often go on to yabbies later on in the morning.
    I use Gulps and find them excellent on all available species up there.
    As mentioned keep plugging away, you will find fish in locations and often get them there repeatedly once you work the system out.
    Flatzie

Just keep trying. I had a quick fish this morning and tried a different spot just north of poverty creek which resulted in 4 flatty and 1 bream in an hour. they were'nt big (bream 29cm & flatty 40, 45 &47) but better than nothing. For Flatty i normally fish around little goat island doing drifts from the little jetty heading north using berkley 2" shrimp in banana prawn.

Try the sandflats in front of White Patch north of the do not anchore sign. An hour or two either side of the high tide. I know there is alot of sand to cover but it has worked well for me over many years.

If the soft plastics doent work, Yabbies are the old faithfuls.

all of my best fishing sessions on plastics have been while using 3 inch powerbaits minnows [pumpkinseed,smelt scales favourites] with 1/12ths-1-8ths jig heads.
    gulp shrimp work great for all other species but remember to really slow your drift and have plenty of pauses in your retrieve.

fish the dropping tide with a bank that drops of slowly but deeply and with weed beds very nearby.
    maybe get out of the boat and walk some of the banks while pumping for yabbies and just have a good look for some flattie lies and then just really plug at that area.
    i remember when plastics first come out we used to fish spots that always did well on bait but couldnt get a single fish on rubber until we finally cracked it and never looked back.
    you will be even more excited once you work out the crab runs as well.
    good luck and if i see that dog i'll make sure i come say g'day.