Thread: Haines 600/650 Classic

Haines 600/650 Classic

Looking for the pros & cons of the Haines 600/650 Classic as i am thinking about an upgrade in the near future.
    Appreciate any thoughts & knowledge you can share.

Adrian

Re: Haines 600/650 Classic

Great Boat - get yourself a ride in one if you can. Plenty of room in the deck for fishing gear and eskis. Large cabin that will sleep 2 with plenty of soft bits for the family and very easily customisable to your specific requirements. If you want more fising room and a slightly smaller less plush cabin look at the 650R. Built as tough as nails, great warranty, easily the best re-sale value brand in Australa and the best part of all is that its Aussie built as well - cant really go wrong :wink:

Quote Originally Posted by Kill Bill View Post
    Great Boat - get yourself a ride in one if you can. Plenty of room in the deck for fishing gear and eskis. Large cabin that will sleep 2 with plenty of soft bits for the family and very easily customisable to your specific requirements. If you want more fising room and a slightly smaller less plush cabin look at the 650R. Built as tough as nails, great warranty, easily the best re-sale value brand in Australa and the best part of all is that its Aussie built as well - cant really go wrong :wink:

Mate do you own a classic, if so is it a 600 or 650. Have you had any problems or issues i should look out for.

Adrian

ive been out in a 650 ,reasonably good ride,still banged when pushed but a little softer than a cruise craft,boat felt solid and fittings etc were allround quite good imop,good cockpit for fishing 3 up fairly comfortably,id get the dive door option.

Quote Originally Posted by OPTI View Post
    ive been out in a 650 ,reasonably good ride,still banged when pushed but a little softer than a cruise craft,boat felt solid and fittings etc were allround quite good imop,good cockpit for fishing 3 up fairly comfortably,id get the dive door option.
    Thanks Opti, do you know if that boat had tabs fitted & if it didn't do you think they'd make it bang less

Adrian

Quote Originally Posted by eugah View Post
    Thanks Opti, do you know if that boat had tabs fitted & if it didn't do you think they'd make it bang less

Adrian

Tabs are almost a must on any haines, makes a huge difference

VS

it didnt have tabs when i was in it ,but it does now and they would help the ride in the rough,just one of the things you can add on the list

Hi,

I sold a 600 Classic last year after owning it from new for about a year. Pretty good boat, but don't under power it. Most packages have it with a 150. I upgraded to a 175 (etec), but I reckon it needed heaps more to get the best out of it. The 600s are rated to take 230 HP and I would put the maximum on it if I ever owned another one.

Nice hull though, went through small chop like it wasn't there. but still banged a bit when it got a bit bigger. I didn't have tabs, but it definitely would have benefited from them.

I have a 650 with200zuk and tabs. Be aware the weight is close to the limit for o/r brakes. We have ours on a h/d duty trailer with breakaway brakes. We are updating very soon,but hard to find a replacement.

Quote Originally Posted by eugah View Post
    Mate do you own a classic, if so is it a 600 or 650. Have you had any problems or issues i should look out for.

Adrian
    I have a 650R - great boat, as most of the guys have said, they are best with at least 200hp (I have a 225) and trim tabs do make a significant difference in a heavy sea. Super soft riding and very dry though, I definately feel safer in this boat than anything of a similar size I have been in.

if your buying a secondhand 650 classic, check for stress fractures around live bait tank, and loose fittings etc, i have have a mate that went back to HH with a total of 47 issue's, obviously a fair few were minor but still i think he paid $120k plus

good boat for a production boat, maybe best riding production boat but maybe not the best finish.

Thanks guys. I am looking at a 650 with 225 & will get tabs for sure.

Adrian