Don't spend any of it. It is a total rip off. If you want proof ask the dealer to double the manufacturers warranty on paint and corrosion even if you never wash it. That should shut them up.
White Pointer
Evening guys,
Wondering if you can help me; finally made up my mind and have gone for a new PK Ranger 4x4 which should be here by the end of May.
One thing that I am totally confused about is the proposition of paint protection; there seems to be a lot of guys that have opinions either way. There's a lot of people who say that it's just dealers making $$$ out of a sale and the buyers pride at the end of the day.
Then again, there seems to be a similar number of people who feel that the paint protection stuff is worth the $$$ and they wouldn't be without it
The dealer is trying to get me to go for the VIP Crystal Elements 4x4 pack for $2695.00 which to me seems to be VERY expensive (includes electronic and spray rust prevention) . I checked with Tint-A-Car and they will do a paint protection system along with electronic rust protection and an under vehicle anti-rust spray with the tint of my choice for $1600 give or take. At $1000.00 cheaper like most, you'd be a fool to not consider what the differences are.
The main ones that i can find is that the Crystal Elements only needs to be applied once where the Tint-A-Car solution seems to be something that needs to be re-done every 6 to 12 months.
My research indicates that using Johnsons baby shampoo is the best stuff to wash your car with and the Meguires wax and polish range the best for maintaining the duco.
So the big question; have any of you sprung for the VIP pack and was it worth it; also are there any viable alternatives? Secondly, I think the spray rust prevention is worth it, but considering what we drive over on dirt roads, am I right considering the amount of dust and rocks that will be flying up and hitting the underside of the chassis?
Thirdly, are the electronic rust prevention units worth it (jury seems to be out on them as well)?
Obviously, if you go through salt, then a wash down with fresh water ASAP similar to our boat trailers is in order.
Don't spend any of it. It is a total rip off. If you want proof ask the dealer to double the manufacturers warranty on paint and corrosion even if you never wash it. That should shut them up.
White Pointer
Yeah don't be sucked into that shite mate,give it the ounce over with Meguires Wet look polish when you get it......as for the rust protection...well if you drive on the beach frequently do it if not don't bother.
$2600 will buy a lot of polish,did you go a metalic paint or plain? metalic's are the one's that you need to look after more due to the clearcoats usually.......my next 4x4 will definatly be plain ol white,
Dan & WhitePointer - thanks for your opinions; I think that I will probably go with the spray rustproofing to be honest; that is on my current Falcon which has absolute minimal rust over the 12 years that I've had it and 5 to 10 of that has been near salt in coastal environments.
That in itself is a good indicator of it's effectiveness; IF rust does start to come into it a bit, then I can always look at a Couplertec further down the road to try halt it in the tracks.
Dan, have gone with the Black Mica paint; so looks like I have some work cut out for me washing and polishing etc. :-)
I'd still like to hear from more members on this issue though; so please keep 'em coming!
BLACK MICA!!!!!!!!! Jesus you'll be forever cleaning it.
My Cruiser is that deep cheery red mica......what a mongrel colour it all ways looks dirty......prolly cos it is LOL.
Are you getting it in Cairns or Mareeba? apparently Mareeba is supposed to do better deals?......How's that Dory going? getting out and about?
Cheers Dan
Synful
Don't do it,in some cases and in particular entry level " new " priced vehicles dealers make more loading you up with all that stuff than what they actually make from the vehicle itself.
Steeler
DoNotFeedTheTrollsAandBelligerent
No, don't do it!!! Total waste of money.
Just wash it and polish it yourself when it needs it. Buy $2,700 worth of fishing kit. Much more fun, much better result.
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
Gday Dan,
Yeah, a 4WD that looks dirty - who'd of thought?
But in all seriousness, all the washing and polishing will help to keep the paint work protected!! I know that black is probably the worst colour to have from that perspective but I really love it.
Getting it from Cairns mate, getting a full tank of diesel and some heavy duty floor mats for the front and rear plus, quote the sales guy, "whatever is lying around" when I pick it up thrown in. Once I get the paint protection etc. removed, it comes down to just over $38k, so I'm happy with that for an XLT.
Yeah the dory is good, wish that I could just co-ordinate the Minister for Finance's work shifts and the weather a bit better - might get out more often! Still, I have a 5 year old little boy now who loves coming along so he's got the bug, the trips will increase as the years go by and when we get the Ranger; there's so many camping trips being planned as well :-)
Hi Steeler, thanks for your comment.
I really thought that this was the case, sweet "Jesus H tap-dancing Christ" - $2600.00 for bloody paint, rust and upholstery protection??
I had the spray on my Falcon when I got that some 12 years ago and it has minimal rust in it after being around salt air for a good 7 or so years so I think that it a good enough testimony from that perspective.
With a 5 year old I would consider doing the Scothguard upholstery protection yourself, it really does help when you need to mop up a potential stain on the seat fabric.
And it is so simple to do when the seats are new.
- Darren
I remember looking into paint protection , they told me at nissan that they only do the inside of the doors and under the bonnet.. its a total crock... don't waste ur cash. AND... after i told the lady it was BS she halfed the price!! ... must be worth it if you can half the price in a matter of minutes... i still told her to jam it LOL.
Jas
I wouldnt even bother with the rust sprays/injections. Definately get the electric rust proofing though. You can never stop the rust just slow it down and with electronic it takes roughly 7 times longer.
A mate about 10 years ago got a electronic rust system cheap if he promoted it and displayed it to all the guys at his 4x4 club. He sand blasted 2 towballs back to bare metal and we went up the beach for a week. 1 was hooked up and 1 wasnt. After 1 night you could see the rust starting to form. After 3 nights it had a coating all over it. After a week even after wire brushing it, it had gone deep into the steel. Nothing at all on the electrolic 1 even after driving it into salt water.
The more you get to know your 4x4 the better you will find all the places sand and mud will hide.
Yep, ditch the package but get the Scotchguard on the inside.
Well worth it with a youngster.
I intend on living for-ever....so far so good
Our water usage has increased by 25% since buying my black ute and it's only a weekender. Black cars looks schmick when they're clean though!!
As has been said paint protection is a crock.
Have a look at after market electronic rust protection. It will more that likely be cheaper and a better product. The holden e/rust protection has a 10 warranty for the original owner but only 5 years for the second owner..... pfftt.
Enjoy the new ride
Cheers Kim.
Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
'Oh Shit.....she's awake'