I thought they looked to be in the green out there Barry, guess i wasnt the only one watching ....
About 30 to 40 recreational prawning boats were observed by Fisheries staff in the green zone between the mouth of Schultz Canal and Shorncliffe on Thursday morning. Apparently a long range zoom camera was used to identify the boats in this green zone and I understand that fines will be in the mail shortly.
A very expensive feed of prawns for those still unsuspecting boaties.
Barry
I thought they looked to be in the green out there Barry, guess i wasnt the only one watching ....
Typical Queensland state government, take photos behind a tree, don't say anything at the time to the poor ignorants and send the fine in the mail - jellyfish (spineless stinging lowlifes).
It's only the keen like us who are informed of the regulations and know when and where you are supposed to be at any given time.
Wouldnt of thought a camera could of proven beyond a doubt gps location but I am unfamiliar with this location, would of been a gold mine if its indeed true.
thanks to the comms got 2kg of the best kings for 20 a kg straight off the boat today, best feed in a long time.
mate as a recreational fisher it is your responsability to keep up with the new laws, it's not that hard to obtain information about green zones,size n bag limits and regulated fish. That area of water to my understanding has been a green zone for sometime..No I'm not a greenie or anything like that just a rec fisher just like u.
The fisheries guys cop alot of flack for not doing there job and when they do there called spineless..I think you will find that this was a covert opperation, as they probably got ear of these ppl prawning in a green zone and if they were to raw up in the patrol boat nets and prawns would probably be stowed away and they know
nothing..Do the wrong thing you will eventually be caught,ignorance is not an excuse.
I wonder what the % is of "danglers" compared to anglers?
Where Im heading here is, yes, as a responsible recreational angler, we and every one else should be across the rules.
How ever, the average "dangler', what chance do they have? They mite not get on the net, prob never heard of Ausfish or similar, DPI, why they look after the cow cockies dont they?
This stinking state government brought in these green zones. Where are the arti reefs promised? I look at the "fishing platforms" provided for the punters instead of access to reliable grounds - storm water drains with a table at the end, that are dry at low tide!
Im over it, Im over green zones and Im over regulated control of my recreational time.
Mate it governed to protect your recreational pass time,could you imagine if every bugger could take what ever when ever no matter of the size?
Our fishery would be completly stuffed..it's all about sustainability
Yeah I agree the government is going a bit crazy on the green zone thing way to crazy but what can we do? Not much I'm affraid.
As for the danglers, they gotta bye bait don't they, being only occasional fishers one wouldn't think they would catch there own, so tackle shops have all these brochures on all regulated activities and areas.
I'm not shooting ppl down mate all I'm saying is it's up to you as an angler or dangler to know the regulations..
OK- Here we go
Firstly they were Marine Parks Rangers (DERM/EPA) not Boating and Fisheries Patrol (DPI&F).
How do i know? I just happened to be at the end of the Shorncliffe Pier and watched it all unfold.
Yes, three Boating and Fisheries Patrol Officers came out on to the Pier to do a check while i was out there. I spoke to one of them about all the boats prawning in the Green Zone, he said it was the EPA's job to watch it.
Now i'm not a greenie by any means, in facT i wrote many a letter and attended a number of meetings voicing my opinion about these rotten green zones. Unfortunately we were not listened to.
Now i won't fish in a green zone, its against the law for starters and secondly i can't afford the $500 fines, but i also believe others should not fish in the zones either. Maybe some time in the future we can have them overturned, i hate the bullsh*t science that was used to create them.
What happened was at 7.15am three Marine Parks Boats came out of Shultz cannal, by 7.20am there were prawning boats going full steam to escape, it actually looked quite amazing, boats flat chat every where, by 7.35am there was virtually no boats out there.
Also, i don't believe this lot are poor ignorant fishermen, most of them may say, we don't speak english, but i reckon they know the rules better than most. Like when they get their 10 litres of prawns they unload on the jetty to an aquaintance and return to catch more prawns and of course the way they scattered when the rangers showed up proves they knew they should not have been where they were.
John.
Fair enough Ugly, and thanks John for the on the spot description.
OK, Im against any one pillaging Green Zones as much as every one else. I understand the need for sustainable management of our resource. I return all female and 149mm crabs.
How ever, take a walk thru the city, look at all the people. How many of those mug punters who fish once a year would have any idea of the current, ever changing regs?
Agree Johno, those prawning were not mug punters - yellow rain coat brigade maybe, and should know better.
Ive just got the tom tits with the way we are being regulated out of our rights as free Australians to fish.
No wonder Ive gone over to fresh water C&R, its a lot easier, and I dont need to eat a rule book or geographical map for breaky eavery time I slip the boat in the water.
Dayoo, sorry about the hijack cobber.
Greetings, Obi-Wan
Was it the Yellow Raincoat brigade (again)!
I spoke with one of the guys from the yellow raincoast community a few years ago and he let the cat out of the bag....he lifted up the false floor and showed me five (5) 20kg containers of good size banana prawns with redlegs mixed in..
He said they (the community) worked for one person (who happens to own a trawler), they also have yumcha at the same time...a bit like smoko...when one stops for chow, the others do to.
I have not seen these fellas for awhile, maybe it was them that were involved.
Cheers, Peter
Ignorance is no excuse..
sounds like everyone is right in my opinion in this later thread. so many people with the hands in the pie leads to regulation in an effort to make the resource sustainable under increasing pressure. its a sad part of it. too many regs and the general public get confused or misinformed or just coudnt be bothered. its not just up to the public to get informed, its also up to reg authorities to keep reinforcing it.
how can anyone find excuses for those people who break the Fishing Rules 99.999% know full well that they are doing it, yes and like road rules and other LAWS (in your opinion right or wrong) you need to know and obey them.Im 60yrs old and have had to change my ways(fishing) because of all the new regs, that doesnt mean I agree with them. cheers Alex
Ps I to have seen them scatter when enforcement officers approach, dont know that they are breaking the law .PIGS EYE