Thread: Kurwongbah Thurs morning

Kurwongbah Thurs morning

Had 2.5 hrs on the wall opposite the pumping station. Pulled 6 tilapia, 1 perch, and 1 eel tailed catfish. Bait was worm.

Noticed a couple on the pump house pier fishing and pulling pots. They humped what seemed to be a very heavy esky back to their ute. I thought that you weren't allowed on there?

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Re: Kurwongbah Thurs morning

Nice little session.

Since when has that stopped anyone.

Might have a fish there this weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by Luc View Post
    Nice little session.

Since when has that stopped anyone.

Might have a fish there this weekend.

Do you reckon they were redclaw in the esky Luc? Couldn't see clearly from the other side but it looked like an almost "commercial" operation as they had quite a few pots out.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Hey Kev did you get a photo of the golden perch by any chance or a measurement?

By the way the Bass in there are just starting to hit legal size.

Quote Originally Posted by shayned View Post
    Hey Kev did you get a photo of the golden perch by any chance or a measurement?

By the way the Bass in there are just starting to hit legal size.
    Hi Mate, long time no speak.

Nah! I didn't take a camera as I only expected to catch turtles...........14 of the buggers last time...........it'll teach me not to berley

She was about 14 cms though.

I wasn't aware that there were redclaws in the dam.

Years ago before NPD went super low, a couple of times I noticed 2 blokes with a stack of traps - definitely an illegal operation. This was when I was sleepless & dicided to have a late nigtht session at NPD.

I left them to it and fished another location.

As far as fishing of the pump house pier, I'm pretty certain it's off limits as there has been at least one instance that I know off when someone dived off the pier and drowned when he got sucked against the intake grill.

Shame you didn't have a camera with you.

Who's putting golden perch in there!! none there years ago, could it have been a spangled? heaps of those around.

The lake is planned to run on a rough ratio of 5:2 Bass vs Goldens for stocking. The first small batch of 1800 went in, June 08. Followed by another batch of 20,000 in Jan 09. I've had unconfirmed reports of some 40cm goldens already, but yet to see one in the flesh or in a photo and remain doubtful.

Another 15,000 Goldens went in on the weekend, so hopefully the lake is well on it's way to being good fishery. Just need some onwater access now.

Cool then, that's nice for local anglers, wonder what they will end up tasting like.

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin View Post
    Had 2.5 hrs on the wall opposite the pumping station. Pulled 6 tilapia, 1 perch, and 1 eel tailed catfish. Bait was worm.

Noticed a couple on the pump house pier fishing and pulling pots. They humped what seemed to be a very heavy esky back to their ute. I thought that you weren't allowed on there?

Kingtin you are talking about in Lake Kurongbah arn't you? And not the pumping station below the road on the river?

Anyway if they had pots and an esky that was heavy I recon they may have been colecting small tank fish and had an esky 1/2 full of water. I know there's rainbows at both spots or maybe fish to feed a barra or something, an esky full of redclaw wouldn't be too heavy I would think.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Delisser View Post
    Kingtin you are talking about in Lake Kurongbah arn't you? And not the pumping station below the road on the river?

Anyway if they had pots and an esky that was heavy I recon they may have been colecting small tank fish and had an esky 1/2 full of water. I know there's rainbows at both spots or maybe fish to feed a barra or something, an esky full of redclaw wouldn't be too heavy I would think.
    Hi Mike,

The tower (I'm guessing it's a pumping station) accessed by the road/path to the rowing clubhouse.

Quote Originally Posted by shayned View Post
    Just need some onwater access now.
    Hi Shayne. What's the policy on clearing spots for fishing from the shore. There's very few places that I could see that could be fished without encountering lily pads which now seem to be encroaching closer to shore. The spot I fished had rotten lily leaves left on the bank so I'm guessing someone had cleared/made a swim with a grapnel or similar?