Has anyone had any experience with these particular chips?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....tab%3DWatching
Has anyone had any experience with these particular chips?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....tab%3DWatching
Keen to see the results for this too, we're looking into get the patrol done. We were thinking about getting a Motsons chip.
Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
'Oh Shit.....she's awake'
Not yet Stevie..... the boss is still researching that, along with everything else!! The chip and exhaust are next on the list after tyres.
Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
Just a word of caution.
Putting power chips in ECUs that control diesel engines is fraught with danger.
In Jackaroo and Patrol 3.0lt extreme duty (which includes getting the most out of the engine in traffic light drag races) may result in inadequate lubrication and result in engine failure.
In the Jackaroo it may be critical to lubrication of the common rail fuel injection system which is already vulnerable to degraded or substandard oil quality. In the Patrol 3.0lt, this engine suffers oil starvation to the top of the engine running at high revs.
It is usual that the engine power of modern diesels is not fully tapped. This is because they share transmissions with their petrol equivalents that don't produce the huge lump of torque that diesels do. Add to that the reduction gearing that these vehicles offer in 1st gear, low range and you have a prescription for disaster for transmissions, transfer cases, prop shafts, differentials and axles all working beyond their designed loads.
And a final word. If you re-chip the ECU and are marvelled at the extra power but a bit concerned about the extra smoke from the exhaust, be very concerned. The smoke is unburned hydrocarbons and particulates and are highly carcinogenic. But most of these didn't come out the exhaust. They are in your sump and you need to halve your service intervals to get them out.
We are having fun!
White Pointer
Oh dear!!
Thanks White pointer!! Very valueble info!!!
I know how important oil, and more particularly oil pressure is with Jacks. You have made me rethink this project!! cheers mate.
Its got enough power to blow away any 3.0 nissan anyway![]()
I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!
My boss had one installed on his GU IV Patrol Manual 3.0TD about 4 years ago. And to be honest it made two parts of fukall difference.
The original motor pulled hard from 2000-3500rpm with absolutely nothing above or below that. With the chip it did pull harder earlier, about 1800rpm but didn't pull any harder and still died at 3500rpm. Hardly worth the $1100 he paid.
He also noticed major fuel consumption increases. When new the diesel everage 1100kms per tank, after 6 months of the dtronic chip is was down to 750km.
Then he cracked the intercooler (only found out about that at the 120,000km service) but I don't know if that had anything to do with the chip.
Fuel consumption never improved after the intercooler was replaced (for $1500 mind you!), and power didn't increase. Not sure why he repaired the thing really.
He sold that truck and has a 2009 GU IV but as an auto, and it feels about the same for power (although it does have less torque), fuel consumption is stedy at 950km/tank. About right for the auto. No chip planned for this one.
Cheers White Pointer, you raise some very good points. In the process of researching these mods for "MY" truck(themissus can't claim both) I've found several "chips" do no more than add extra fuel. The better versions will vary both fuel amount and timing and its not always adding more fuel either. Some will also increase boost pressure aswell. allup it depends on your engine and many of them respond differently to tuning than others. The jury is still out in my case as I am also interested in the DeiselGas systems. Mine isn't the Grenade ZD30 3.0l.....its just a little RD28ETi. They seem to respond well to fuel map and timing advance changes + freeflow exhaust. With regard to driveline....the only difference between mine and the larger TD4.2T is forward of the transfercase...everything else is the same so driveline is not an issue....gearbox is the same as fitted to 90's Nissan Skylines and 300ZX's including all the turbo versions....these were capable of holding onto 300hp engines with far superior torque than the RD28 even when multiplied through low ratio gearing. A workmate has just put a RB25T into his old RX3.0 GQ Patrol.....now that is an animal....and it's still bog standard from the skyline it came from.
Steve, I'd suggest you leave well enough alone with the Jack....they seem to be pretty pokey already, Maybe a better flowing exhaust would be all you need...seems most turbo deisels can benefit from this.
Timi, the boss had a DPchip fitted at Berrima deisel to his brand spanking 200 series....so far not really noticed a huge difference but they said he wouldn't really notice much untill he hooked up a van/boat and started towing....unfortunatly he sold the Barcrusher before getting the new cruiser so can't help you there. Berrima Deisel has a pretty solid reputation for quality work. I'd suggest you have a chat to them before making any decision.
Cheers, Roo.
Rod,
a local business man (petrol tyres and mechanical) has done the gas/diesel conversion thingy you speak of, to his 4.2 patrol.....he cant stop raving about it. He did it over 2 yrs ago...no problems. It tows a big trailer full of workshop stuff etc for mobile mechanic work too. I cant quote figures, but power is way up, and fuel consumption improved....cost a fair bit though...$2000 to $3000 springs to mind.
I will get more info.
Nothing can improve the Jack...King on'off the road...Nissan 2.8 diesel pppfffffff !!Better leave now if your coming up for June long weekend!!!
![]()
![]()
![]()
Stevo
Last edited by Steve B; 17-04-2010 at 01:55 PM. Reason: ham fisted typing error!
I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!
I have a 2004 1HZ NON TURBO troopie but it has electronic fuel injection i was wondering can i fit a chip to this as i was thinking of putting a chip and a 3 inch exhaust to give a little more power when towing the boat, is this possible and is it worth it.
Geoff
In my opinion, from an common sense point of view it would seem to compromise the life of the engine and its reliability. lots, (and i mean lots) of money is spent on getting more power and torque from diesels with smaller and smaller displacements, so its odd to think that you can get an extra 10 percent by just putting in a chip to change the engine control, but they didnt do it for a reason.
The answer is simply reliability, the more power you run the engine at, the more stress on the individual components inside, hence the lower safety factor against yielding and significantly lower safety factor against fatigue, as the endurance limit is approached more quickly, but more importantly the surface stress increases thus increasing wear.
The engineers who design the engines know this, which is why they dont choose to put a chip in it, afterall it wouuld probably only cost them an extra 50 bucks per car to do that.
Owen
For an extra 1-2k we can put the RB25 twincam turbo motor out of the skyline in the Troll, it bolts straight inand it'd go like a stabbed cat. As Rod said we know someone who has put one in a GQ, it's a rocket and still does well off road.
It's a bit of a shock getting in the Troll after the ute I can tell you!! Looks like it may be an 8hr trip to mondy now![]()
![]()
We're still researching the chip. The exhaust will be first and we'll see how she feels after that. May be happy enough with just having it done. We're after better torque and power for towing.
Gday all ,I've been travelling around aus for the last 11 months and all the vehicles that we have come across with stuffed engines have been modified . They all seem to be running higher turbo boost . fruit for thought.
wamjam
too right wamjam, simple engineering, yuo cant overwork an engine like that that hasnt been designed for it and expect it to last, otherwise the manufacturers would simply do it.
Owen
Wamjam its only because they dont know what they are doing is why its stuffed. Diesel engines can handle the boost, its the heat is what kills them. It seems like every backyard handyman is a diesel expert these days. "Lets just up the boost, she'll be right, she's a diesel". Which is why there is so much bad info out there.
But, diesel gas is proven and definately good. My mates tried 3 different injection systems on his 3litre patrol (he's a qaulified automotive gas fitter). Had a few problems due to a faulty batch (apparently) no names.
But, the latest 1 feels like it has about twice the power of standard. Turn gas off standard diesel, turn gas on - twice the power (feels it anyway). No dyno figures but around 40 - 45% sounds right.
Not worth the money though IMHO. Unless you have connections.
apart from that 15 litres of ulp per tank is an option.