Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best way to stop a boat.

Best way to stop a boat.

My trailer lets the boat roll off too easy so when I'm launching its very difficult to un hook the winch strap.

Chimo mentioned in a recent thread on trailer rollers that he uses a system that he calls a climbing ape or 8. ( best if you read his post for an explaination, but it works well)

I was thinking of using a jam cleat ,that the yachties use, on the winch mount with a rope to the boat. That way I could slowly release the winch strap until the rope takes up the strain then unhook the strap then pull the rope from the cleat then away she goes.

Has anyone else thought of other solutions to the problem? Its really only an issue for me when I'm on my own or with someone of limited experience or ability which is more often than not.

Re: Best way to stop a boat.

You haven't mentioned the size of boat but the issue suggests that the boat is laying back on the trailer and may want to fall off even on level ground.

This means it must be fairly hard work to retrieve.

Can you provide more information, please? Some pictures of BMT on the towing vehicle would be helpful as well.

White Pointer

Your reply has got me thinking already. The boat is a HH 16r and I tow it with a Hi Lux 4x4 so the tow bar is a bit high which obviously increases the angle of the boat. The boat has a Zuk 70 4 stroke which isn't light by any means so I guess that wouldn't help either.

My computer skills don't go as far as loading pics yet so I can't help you there.

I doubt whether the angle is that extreme that the boat is hanging back and the weight distribution on the trailer is ok. About 10% on the tow ball.

I don't have any trouble with the retreive, just drive the boat up and leave the motor in gear while I do the hook up. Although it would be easier if the boat just sat there and I didn't have to leave the motor in gear which is probably what you were getting at.

I have a quinny 4.5 as well but don't experience anywhere near the same problem when launching it. More the opposite if anything.

I think what white pointer is reffering to is prehaps your trailer is poorly designed or inadequetly supporting the weight of your boat. Meaning on level ground (not attached to the car) the trailer is carrying more weight in the rear so this becomes over exagerated when you attempt to launch.

Take your bow line and wrap it twice around the upright beam on the trailer (the one holding the whinch) hold the loose end of the line tightly. Let out the whinch with the other hand until the bow rope takes the strain. Remove whinch cable from boat, then let the bow rope run around the upright. Viola.. you are launched.

Daisy

Take your bow line and wrap it twice around the upright beam on the trailer (the one holding the whinch) hold the loose end of the line tightly. Let out the whinch with the other hand until the bow rope takes the strain. Remove whinch cable from boat, then let the bow rope run around the upright. Viola.. you are launched.

Daisy

Daisy

Jarrah, mate I have the same problem, my rollers are so slick the little boat wants to roll strait off. I recon you have two options here. First is to do exactly the opposite of your retrieve. Back the boat into the water jump on board start the engine and put into drive (first click) that should hold the boat against the winch post. Jump off unhook the winch, jump back on and start raising the engine until it starts to lose bite with the water. The boat should role back into the water where you can bring back to neutral and lower down again -park boat. The water intakes should only lose water for a few seconds.

Second option is to simply learn the good old draw hitch. Exactly the same procedure except you dont need to start the engine. Tie up the bow rope to winch post with a draw hitch. Release winch ( pressure taken up on rope) get in the boat and pull the draw side of the hitch just like the old cowboy would do mounting the horse after leaving the pub. Boat rolls strait off.

Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

G'day Jarrah,

I read this in someone elses post a while back (possibly lucky phills?) so I cant take credit for it, but they have a rope tied the side rail with a loop on it hooked over a hook near the mud guard and they let the boat down so that the slack was off the winch then jump in the boat and motor forward until you can unhook the loop near the mud guard and wack it into neutral and launch the boat. The same technique can be used on the retrieve as well just drive on drop the loop over the hook and get out and whinch it on.

Marto

Hi Jarrah Jack

The jam cleat may work except you have to fix the cleat to your tow bar too same as the climbing eight set up, but then you have only to pull the rope off the cleat. The only disadvantage I see is that you only have one time release rather than a gradual controlled lowereing of the boat into the water.

If you drown your trailer and the boat has only a meter of so to go then that should be OK I guess.

Ditto for the rope with a couple of turns around the winch post also works if the boats only going a back a meter or so and its in the drink

The side rope with hook arrangement would also be fine esp if there are a couple of people on hand to move the boat and the trailer off the ramp.

When I use the trailer I often do it on my own and only the bottom of the rear trailer wheel is in the water as I dont drown my brakes, so the boat has pretty much the length of the trailer to roll before it is in the water.

The line running thru the climbing eight allows total stop start control so the boat lowers into the water and floats with the bow resting against the rear roller.

Looking forward to hear how the cleat works for you.

What could go wrong.......................

We just use the winch on the Berty.
    We don't just release the winch strap when the boats up the top nor do we release the ratchet and push the boat off making the winch handle go a trillion revolutions per second.
    We release the ratchet and use the winch handle to wind the boat off...kinda thing.
    Very good way to slow the boat down I reckon. And it's all there already.

We found by slowing the launch waaaaay down we could launch in a lot shallower water. Real handy if your not sure about depth.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

Daisy now you understand the etech adds.

There seems to be some assumption that if your boat slides off the trailer easily there is something wrong.......WOT......no there is something right.....if your boat does not slide quick and smooth off the trailer you need to do some work.

On a light boat, a bow line should be fine.....on my current tub, on the new trailer.......I have to winch it down or it gets away....... but using the 1:1 on the three speed winch it's no problem......when it gets to the bottom I have my bow line in my left hand and I take the winch hook and put it on the back of the trailer ready for winching on.

I am suprised how many people just disconnect the winch rope then push and hope.........then when they back down the ramp to retreeve hey muck about pulling their winch rope out to winch on.

I can see if you are driving on...why arent you driving off.....

If you can get a copy of "Precision Trailer Boat Handling Made Easy"......it's a DVD that goes thru the whole thing......GOD the presenter is uggly.... but that adds to his credibility....he seriously makes drive on launching a heavy boat look easy.

I loaned my coppy to a mate with a big glass boat.....It has removed at least 1 source of argument and angsiety from his mariage.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

just use a long lead rope (about 1.5 times the length of the boat). Couple of turns on the winch post to take up the strain, undo the winch, then let her go. They slow down just as quick as they speed up.

Mine uesed to do the same, a good trait but agree having to hold the boat up on the winch post to creat slack in the wich cable is pain in the ass.

I replaced my winch strap hook stainless quick release"snap shackel" of the appropriate load rating, put a 10cm lanyard on it. These shakels can be released under a little bit of load with a generous yank on the lanyard attached to the release mechanism. I just back her in, undo the safety, put the winch in free spool, as boat begins to slide of give the snap shackel release a yank and presto boats in in the water, no stress with about a foot of winch cable out.

PS: great for launcing in the surf as well

Cheer's, Scott