Thread: Lake near Red Cliff (Broomes Head)

Lake near Red Cliff (Broomes Head)

There's been a few threads & posts lately about Yamba & Minnie Waters and the NSW North Coast area and it got the memory banks working overtime, as I grew up in the Clarence River area.

Some people know about Broomes Head and have been there. Just north of the Broome there's a place called Red Cliff (and its got a great beach there too, on the Nth side).

But there is also a Lake there that sometimes breaks open into the sea. It's kind of adjacent to the edge of Yuragir National Park. There are driving tracks in the park that take you to various points around the lake.

I never fished that piece of water but I did eye it off many a time as a potential hotspot.

I reckon it'd been teeming with monster flathead & mega-whiting. Dunno if y'r even allowed to fish there!

My question, after all that blurb is: Has anyone ever fished in that lake?
    "...a voice in my head keeps telling me to go fishing..."

Re: Lake near Red Cliff (Broomes Head)

spent a few days at the lake not long ago for a NP book launch we had some input to, it is all NP and no more driving anywhere but to the camp site. The toilets there are a anaerobic wet system that is definitely not working there is water on tap out near the road

overall its a really nice place but ruined IMO by NP's, it is now just an expensive money making area. just my opinion again, cheaper to camp at the caravan park at Broomes with water views power and water on tap etc NP's have you camping back from the beach in most of the camps in the hot sun

as for fish in the lake I can't say but a few mud crabs hide in there

cheers Murf

big fish kill there last year

Geez, I could tell you some stories about that place but I'd get into some serious trouble!

Spent a lot of time at the Broome.

Come on mate...spill the beans or at least give us a hint.
    You could tone it down a bit or just say it was a mate of a mate.
    So, what's the john dory?

Mega flathead, niggers, whiting bream and occasional jew. Only issue is that every few years when fires go through, the carbon in the ash-deposits drain the water of oxygen, resulting in a fish kill. Many a time have we gone through not long after a fire with a scoop net doing a run between the lake and the ocean with fish in the net. It used to be chockers with mud crabs to until they took out those big concrete pipes that used to be there, haven't taken any recently.
    Also good numbers of prawns, but very seasonal and moon dependant.

I had a closer look at it on Google Earth.

There's a clear flow in from the ocean (that varies according to the conditions) then the channel pushes inland a bit, swings around to the north and ends up running into a lake.

On its day I reckon it'd produce all right. I remember that the system sometimes stayed shut off from the ocean for days or weeks when the level of the beach rose. But then a big storm and/or king tide would open it up again, allowing it to flush.

Too bad about those darn fish kills...