Broken motor cover latch HELP?

Thread: Broken motor cover latch HELP?

Broken motor cover latch HELP?

when i removed my cover cover to spray the outboard down with inox i discoverd that one of the latches had broken off....its out of warranty now..and i know i that a new cover must be like $30-$40 ......what do you reckon the best glue to have a go at fixing it is likely to be??...in the pics you can see how its a tricky little bit with not much to play with....
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

Re: Broken motor cover latch HELP?

I would probably say Q bond. It is like super glue but you add a powder to it and it is as strong as. Is used to repair plastic radiator tanks . I have only ever seen it at Repco but not saying hardware store don't have it. Its not cheap and you only get a 15ml bottle and 2 powders a grey and a black. If you were on the Gold Coast I have some here at home you could use

Cheers Phil
    Grow old disgracefully

thanks i have to take a run to bunnings and super cheap ill check

Spend the 30-$40

Retired Honda Master Tech

Quote Originally Posted by Spaniard_King View Post
    Spend the 30-$40
    Be interesting to price one.....can just see the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

mate,

Use a product called liquid metal i think. You knead the two compounds together and apply like bluetack. It's about $8.

A new cowling is another good option

Mate, It might sound rough but I would be through bolting the bracket before buying a new cover.... cant see any glue/bonding stuff holding . I would bite the bullet and just buy some 316 stainless fasteners that look good and thru bolt it. and then buiy a cowling cover If it looked bad .

Retired Honda Master Tech

I'd be inclined to approach the manufacturer and see if they will come to the party to repair/replace the broken latch.
    Sure its out of warranty, but you have an expectation of the motor operating past the warranty period.
    If you look after it and it is not a long way out of warranty, I would try them.

They can only say no.

My response then would be ...."Thank you for your reply. I'll bear it in mind when I consider my next outboard purchase."