Bait and Dry Ice

Thread: Bait and Dry Ice

Question Bait and Dry Ice

I'm interested to get peoples opinions on whether you think dry ice can taint bait when is stored in the same esky. Last time we went to Moreton island for a week I stored 4 kilo's worth in the esky with the frozen goods and dry ice.

They didn't attract a single bite. We are heading over in a week and i was wondering if anyone had had the same experience?

As always I was careful that my hands etc weren't contaminated with anything else, eg oils, greases, sun screen etc.

Maybe it was just the week we were there or just the fisherman using them.

Cheers John

Mods, wasn't sure whether to post here or in camping.

Re: Bait and Dry Ice

Thats a very interesting notion. It certainly taints some fruit and veg. I reckon you would be safe if sealed and still frozen. Not sure about the thawed stuff though

I bought the IQF Pilles and they remained frozen the whole time untill i took them out for use. They were in the original bag and wrapped in newspaper. I wouldn't count the bag they came in as being sealed though.

Cheers John

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

im not to sure either however we going back yrs now have allway's opted out to salt our pillie's there must be a good reason dry ice would be easier i do know the bait stay's firmer when it is salted and they work just fine.

cheers glynn

Hi Hilly

how do you salt them?

Cheers John

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

well try do give your self three days before you leave get a rack or something for them to drain during the salting process use about 10% to volume of bait thats if your going to fridge or esky(keep dry)but on ice if no cooling is the int then use 20 % salt and pool salt is just fine and cheep a 26 to 36 hr salt make sure to cover in shade and your good to go they hang on well mate.

cheers hilly