Thread: Bit of a late bash at Borumba

Bit of a late bash at Borumba

Well after the devistation on not being able to attend this years muster due to other family committments I had to get there while I still had a few holidays left!!! All the awesome reports from the lads this year had me excited!!!

Firstly I had to earn a few brownie points by taking the tribe camping to 1770....Stayed at the campgrounds on the beach...the very view from our campsite was disgracefullAttachment 57229Attachment 57230

The neighbour camps consisted of a great couple of blokes who built their own Yaks!...and awesome quality too I might add. Turns out, he too is an Ausfisho, Hairy Mick...and a mate of his from a canadian Yak site, John who travelled all the way out here after yakking about Yaks on their Yak site. Other side was a young dude from Cairns who was travelling thru to the Goldy to get married...he had his wife to be, Sis in law and Mother in law....all in the same tent!!!...now thats a test of a blokes endurance camping!!!..Great lad, who fishes with Northern ABT guys....Moral is..you cant hide anywhere!!!

After getting home, it was hook the boat and head for Borumba. Got to the campsite to set up my 1man tent ('The gents' as Daryl named it)...a cooker, light, chair, cheese and bickes and a beer......13.4min later I was relaxing with some company of a 9 meter goanna that enjoyed eating whole eggs....and If I didnt give him eggs, I beleive he had all intention of my making me his biatch

Attachment 57236Attachment 57233

Gippsy (you may remember him with a Owner ST66 hangin out of his forehead a few ABT's ago)..turned up soon after and we settled in for a few bevvies and sort out a game plan...it was pretty simple really.

Sat morning loaded up the Triton (Lara had gone home by now) and up we go for some surface action. Met up with Teflon Sneaky Brian who was already fishing in the ball park location. Had a few casts, and popped off my favorite popper of all time.....this lure was 10yr old at least, no paint...I was suposed to retire it last trip.! tied on 2nd fav....3casts.....explosion.....gooooone...temper fraying now.....tied on 3rd fav.....5 casts....explosion (big fish)....all the way to bank...bricked in weed. Now most blokes would wade in....nope...I was that cranky. I tried to skull it thru the weed......pop. Thankfully for Teflon Brian, who had ample supplies of lollies withing stealing distance...he loaned me a popper and some heavier leader. Brian managed a few nice bass while we were there, and Gippsy was getting some insane hookups, and misses on togas useing a little surface froggie. We all went our seperate ways as the sun came up....I think we managed 3 or 4 fish..nothing special. home for lunch and a few bevs.

Attachment 57234Attachment 57237

Arvo, we tried a different area....it was difficult access. Had a ball on Yellas, togas and bass for about 3 hours..some of the yellas were around the 1.5kg mark..and fought better than any yella I had caught ever. I think the O2 levels in this arm of the lake were better than anywhere else. Unfortunatley, I dont have any pics here, as they are on Gippsys camera, and didnt turn out too well Late arvo surface action....NON EXISENT....Why, is beyond me. We had the moon rising over the hills, sun set..perfect condtions. If you were at Mondy mid summer, you would be wetting your pants. It was a big dissapoiontment...not even a hit. Called it an early day and went to Imbil bowls club for a countery....Highly reccommended. I had a curry, which kept the tent warm later that night!!!

Sunday morning, we ventured up the lake in search of some more surface action. Met up with Gippsy's mate John who joined us, thankfully he was armed with extra poppers and spinnerbaits as our stocks were severly depleted!! Today was a better day, I managed 4 bass, 43cm to 46cm all on Brian's sweet cultiva, Gippsy mangaged 2 more little togas and some snodger bass, and John got his first Toga and a few bass....no wardrobe malfunctions today thankfully.
    Attachment 57231Attachment 57232Attachment 57235Attachment 57236

We decided to head back to the other arm where we had success the previous day, and continued the same form with more yellas and bass, before calling it quits about 11am. Had a great weekend, wished it was the weekend before though. Thanks to Deano, Brian and Naggles for their advice on some good locations that produced. Sorry for the long winded blah blah...but it was fun.

Cheers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Re: Bit of a late bash at Borumba

Good one Steve 1770 - Borumba Ay Kurumba sounds like a great way to finish off your break.
    Sorry to hear about that fav popper ..... but I'm sure you'll brain em with those new lollies.
    Great to see Gippsy without the cosmetic bling ...... though not too sure about the yee haa hat !

Gotta love Borumba

Thanks Chris, He got up on the front casting deck at one stage....and reminded me not to sting him again!!! . Thanks for the heads up on a good lollie shop, and how to whack attachments mid post....secret is to name the pic, so you know which one goes where!!!....It was a drama!!

Cheers Steve

Nice one McGloo, good healthy Bass mate, shame about the lure losses, lucky the mobile tackle shop was handy.

Pete.

Looks like you had a great weekend fishing steve well done to you and the boys

shane

Nice mate.
    How goods 1770 and the beach at Agnes, that's Gods country right there brother.

Gee's Steve it would have been hard to leave 1770 what a nice spot.......better than average result from Borumba.....well done.
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

She's been fishing well lately Whitto, though the water quality in the basin bays is pretty crappy, and some of those bass are showing a bit of red fin and ulcers.
    Back of Kingarm went Ok on Sat as well.

Bloody good report Steve,, good reading,,& a top effort with some great fish well done...

Cheers Baz

Thanks Baz and Whitto,

Whitto, yep it was hard leaving 1770....the view of the beach was pretty good.....in more ways than one

Baz, thanks mate. Nothing better than fishing in nice country...as you would know with them awesome cod!! Dont be suprised if this crew lobs on your doorstep one day!!!....dont tell them where you live....just PM me

Brian, Nice pics mate. I wished we had of followed you up into that arm from a session!!! looks the goods. Love the pic with the rod and reel too...slightly different, but effective.

Cheers Steve

Nice work mate.

Good work on the fish

I am trying to get up there over easter but not sure it will work out.

Lee

Great report and result esp after all the rain and runoff. I should have stopped off there on my way to BP Dam. I'll pop over to Borumba over next couple weeks - after Easter thats for sure.
    The Sav

Thanks Sav and Lee,

I rekon she will be busy over easter Lee!!

Sav, I reckon it would be a better option than BP to begin with. Apparently its a bit tough there at BP at the moment...and Boondoomba??

I think what saved borumba was it was already pretty full to begin with, thus minimal rotting veg.

Cheers Steve

Woo hoo Stevo. What a charmed life you lead ya lucky bugger. Great report and pics. Hey resize those shots 800 x 600 in photoshop and they'll appear mega size when you post. Sorry I couldn't make it but my old boy's 80th took precedence.

PS Send Lara down my way next time, she might enjoy the Ranger experience more
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Quote Originally Posted by leelee View Post
    Nice work mate.

Good work on the fish

I am trying to get up there over easter but not sure it will work out.

Lee
    I was thinking about going up this Friday Lee ..... till I was reminded that it is Easter ..... no way , I went there last June ( Queens Birthday weekend) and the place was chockers..... both camp grounds