-
Bli bli fun
Getting the boat sorted for my hols so went with the wife up the coast for the weekend. She had to take part in a little bit of theraputic shopping so I asked her to drop me at the barra park for a few hours. Took a Strudie Sic stic Pro 1-3 kg rod with a daiwa Revros 2000 spooled with 4 bl braid and used a leader of 6 bl and had some fun in the creek section. I was using a Gamakatsu octopus size 6 hook and found a few barra with 1 fish giving me a bit of a tour around the bends and Islands but he eventually threw in the towel after some scorhing runs and some arial displays. Pretty wrapped to land him on the light gear and happy that the little octypus hook pinned him right in the corner of the mouth . It was a nice change and very relaxing. Have a good easter to you all and have a great time fishing Cheers
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Bli bli fun
Nice work on the lighter gear mate and it sure beats shopping!
Nick
-
Looks like you really enjoyed your day Chief.
A nice healthy Barramundi on the light gear.
Top effort mate.
Cheers Brent
-
So you were using the pellets Chief?
I was staying at Maroochy River Carvan park on Sat night, we had a party to go to at Bli Bli.
Was already to go the Barra Park for a few hours Sat arvo, but the beers kicked in and we didn't make it!
Then awoke to pissing rain this morning so we hit the cafes for brekky.
I really wish I had of gone now!
Thanks for rubbing it in mate. Good to see you out of the river....
Red.
-
Bugger LNB I went sat arvo about 1.30 pm and Sunday morn ,I was having Breakie at Raw energy at Coolum and it bucketed down. Every one looked like drown rats and got totally caught out. Saturday I did use pellets but it took for ages to get the first one. They say Barra have poor eyesight , these blokes can spot the hook a mile away and they won't touch it. Even that size 6 is a little big a size smaller hook would be perfect to hide in those pellets .Hooked 6 but landed 4....Great fun on bream gear
-
Did you try the bronze hooks that come with the pellets? You can bury them into the pellets and there camoflagued well. Landed loads of the pond donkeys on them.
-
Great fun at the barra park. Those pellets work good and surprisingly you can see the buggers coming up and looking at them. You can have three or four pellets in the water and they will take every one except the one with the hook in it.
Well worth spending a few hours there and for anyone with kids-- take them they will have a ball. I must be a big kid-- totally awesome experience.
Ronnie
-
Sounds like your loving the holiday mode their chief. Nice fish on the light gear. I hit the river on saturday morn managed 6 squire all in the low 30's 2 flatties one keeper and I got what I thought was a nice squire turned out to be a 35cm Trev, man did he have some go in him. Hope to see you on the river soon. I'm keen to get a hang of these HB's now. Have a great easter!
-
Ronnie... they can spot those hooks and don't they shy away. Still brings out the kid in me. Loads of fun
Mossy... Those trevs are great value. They certainlly go well on some light gear.
Joeking... They give you that little silver one . I've been using the gamakatsu as there the same colour as the pellets.