Thread: landcruiser 4.5 lt Petrol

landcruiser 4.5 lt Petrol

Has anyone owned one or know of someone who has.?????

opinions please.

Ronnie

Re: landcruiser 4.5 lt Petrol

Yep, owned a few. Very very tough engine. Good life span of engine aswell 500 000 + k's if looked after well.

The 80 series, 75 series etc models have a fuel injection system but still run a distributor that can cause problems in water if not sealed propperly.

The 100 series model runs coil packs instead of a distributor. Much much better.

Fuel econ varies heaps depending on what model cruiser its in and if its auto or manual.

My manaul 75 series (ute) got about 420k's per 90litres with 35's

My auto 80 series got a bit less 400ish with normal 31's. I put gas injection on it and it basically cut the fuel cost in half.

Eitherway very strong bottom ends and top ends aswell. Cheap as chips to replace. I had 1 and couldnt give it away. Ended up selling 1 to the wreckers for $400.

Depending on what model your looking at though. If your looking at the 100 series models it pay the extra and get the 4.7 V8 and run it on gas

it is a GXL wagon 8 seater 2000 100 series .6 cylinder Unleaded Multi-point injected 4.5L

Neat and clean-- 170,000 k's.

Ronnie

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs Ronnie H View Post
    it is a GXL wagon 8 seater 2000 100 series .6 cylinder Unleaded Multi-point injected 4.5L

Neat and clean-- 170,000 k's.

Ronnie

Depending on the price ofcourse.......BUY IT......if you intend on towing it'll pull a house off it's stumps.......I have the later 4.7 V8 petrol and a mate has the 4.5 6cyl.......I've driven both.....lot's.....the main advantage with mine is the 5speed auto opposed to his 4 auto speed box.....

power IMO is on a par even though mine on paper has 20/kilowatts more? i think......?....off the mark mine is slightly quicker but ounce your rolling......well you would'nt know any different.

I run mine on gas/petrol....his is strait petrol.....towing a 5.5mtr plate alloy he use's about 18ltr/100k....sitting on 100-110......very similar to my V8.

170,000ks is bugger all on those motor's if serviced regulary.....i know of one up here in Darwin that has nearly 400.000k's and for the last 200,000k's has had a turbo on it and it's still going strong.

G'day Ronnie,

I had a petrol '80 series for about 150,000 kms. Now my dad has it.
    About 350 000 on the clock now and still running perfectly.

They use a bit more juice (avg about 19l/100 odd), but are honest enough.

Hi Ronnie,

We have a 2002 100 series 4.5 lt petrol, last of the live axle before the V8's, I would assume the one you looking at is a livey also, can't say whether or not they handle the rough stuff any better than the IFS's, popular opinion is they do, I know the front end on ours has not dropped, like my ute with the torsion bar setup as soon as I put a bullbar on it!

Motor is great, only has 116,000k's on it, but very strong, however I did find fuel economy worsened when I changed the orginial 265's of it and put 285's which in the new dueler AT's gave me a little more lift, but like I say fuel economy not as good. Maybe due to change in power range? Feels better on the beach than with the 265's am looking at fuel economy options this year, about the only thing that sucks with a cruiser, but you want the big power you get the big bill!

Am half assed home mechanic and service it myself unless a major service, is exceptionally easy, for an expensive car to buy new, they are quite simple to service. Spare parts are about as easy to get for any brand out there, have not been to my local toyota dealer(sci fleet) and not been able to get the parts I have needed.

Great car to drive, great on the beach, great to tow, for the purchase price we paid, and the small amount of towing we do with this vehicle(boat/caravan on holidays once or twice a year) was far more economical to get the petrol than diesel, cheaper servicing, cheaper purchase price(by 15K average for comparable k's), and nagging wife(who must be obeyed) who "didn't want to drive a diesel".

If you have any other questions mate give me a PM,

Michael
    Little BigFish, 4.5 Blue Fin Warrior

Quote Originally Posted by some_fool View Post
    Hi Ronnie,

We have a 2002 100 series 4.5 lt petrol, last of the live axle before the V8's, I would assume the one you looking at is a livey also, can't say whether or not they handle the rough stuff any better than the IFS's, popular opinion is they do, I know the front end on ours has not dropped, like my ute with the torsion bar setup as soon as I put a bullbar on it!

Motor is great, only has 116,000k's on it, but very strong, however I did find fuel economy worsened when I changed the orginial 265's of it and put 285's which in the new dueler AT's gave me a little more lift, but like I say fuel economy not as good. Maybe due to change in power range? Feels better on the beach than with the 265's am looking at fuel economy options this year, about the only thing that sucks with a cruiser, but you want the big power you get the big bill!

Am half assed home mechanic and service it myself unless a major service, is exceptionally easy, for an expensive car to buy new, they are quite simple to service. Spare parts are about as easy to get for any brand out there, have not been to my local toyota dealer(sci fleet) and not been able to get the parts I have needed.

Great car to drive, great on the beach, great to tow, for the purchase price we paid, and the small amount of towing we do with this vehicle(boat/caravan on holidays once or twice a year) was far more economical to get the petrol than diesel, cheaper servicing, cheaper purchase price(by 15K average for comparable k's), and nagging wife(who must be obeyed) who "didn't want to drive a diesel".

If you have any other questions mate give me a PM,

Michael
    Mate... The 4.5 petrol engines are soooo easy to work on for a home mechanic. You can be a pro in about 10 minutes flat. Find your engine diagnostic box and bridge 2 points with a peace of insulated wire (EM and E off memeory) then turn ignition on... Count how ever many times the engine light flashs and look it up on a fault codes sheet. If its flashing continiously then there are no faults. That easy!!! Change the oil filter and oil when its due. Maybe air filter aswell and it will last for 500 000+ k's.

power wise, the 4.5's have great torque and power from idle. I supercharged mine and it was off the scales...

Hey guys
    Some very positive replies.
    Its main use--- Getting me up and down the highway every day from Beachmere to the Airport. Fuel economy is not great as with all petrols but since i drove it i can't stop thinking about it and you don't come across many manual petrol models.

My main concern is that it is 10 years old and dealer warranty is only 1 month.
    Would it be worth getting a full RACQ inspection-- it has already had a mechanical one. Would i be wasting my 200 bucks.

Am also looking at a mitsubishi lancer or subaru imprezza-- new.

Whats your pick .
    Ronnie

WOW - Big difference between a landcruiser and lancer/subaru. If your not planning to use it for towing or beach work then go with a car instead of a 4x4. You will get way better fuel eco with a car.

as for the warrantee there isnt too much that can go wrong with them. As you said its a manual (worst case burnt out clutch) when your driving along holding your revs just slowly push the clutch down untill the clutch disengadges and that will tell you how much meat is left. Anywhere mid way or lower is good. If you only push it a bit and it does it. Time for a new clutch soon. The rest are just general stuff, leaks, old warn belts and hoses etc... Not worth the racq check IMHO

Would be towing the boat on occasions but we do have a nissan patrol as well.
    Would like to get a compression test and the clutch was one thing i thought of.

Just thought i would feel abit safer driving up higheway in 4x4. I have already had a brick come through my windsreen while driving over pine rivers bridge-- landed on seat beside me. If i was in a 4b it might of hit the bullbar or grill.

Ronnie

If it is mainly for highway driving I think you should at least drive the V8, unless price is an issue.
    There are a lot of smaller 4wds that might do the job too, and not use half as much petrol

ya not lookin at the right vehicle Ronnie.

Here's more your style........

LP.

If thats the case then it should be fine. I honestly think youd be better off with the 4.5 then over the V8. If they are both manual there wont be much in it between them (4.5 cheaper rego etc). Also a bit lighter on fuel and delivers close to the same amount of torque. But like stated by those who have owned 1. They are pretty bullet proof. If there is a problem with it. It wont take too much to fix.

The only other thing I can recommend is to test the valves to make sure they are seating propperly. Just incase you decide to put gas injection on it sometime in the future.

Ive found this for you. This is how you check the make sure the valves are seating propperly. If you do this test and the engine doesnt die and keeps running it means they are burnt out and air is slipping past. Your pretty much up for a new head rebuild (if running it on gas). But... Ive heard of a few people who have had problems after running it on gas but never seen it first hand. Im pretty sure the valves had a problem before they started running it on gas and it just high lighted the problem running hotter and burning it out more.

Ps. You wont need a compression test. You would be able to hear a miss in the exhaust when its running and also when under load (accelerating) if there was a problem there. enjoy

Buy a car Ronnie, Owning a petrol cruiser and using it just for commuting - there's no upside.
    I'd also hazard a guess that a garden variety imprezza will p!ss al over a cruiser in every form of crash and stability test - apart from the 'run into another landcruiser' test, which is a fairly low percentage accident anyway.

I love the fourby's, but if I wasn't using one for it's intended purpose there's no way I'd own one as a commuter.

Exactly right gbc, I love 4by's. I will always own 1 for when I want to get away or tow or something like that. But, I park it in the garage otherwise and thats where it sits until I want to use it. Nothing like a smooth power silent car to clock up the k's in.