Thread: landcruiser 4.5 lt Petrol

Re: landcruiser 4.5 lt Petrol

Hey Phil

Not my style at all-- Give me an old EH or HR anyday, not that I would own a new holden. Purple XR6 is more my style. Would need to supply me with new house brick for accelarator chock though as licence would soon disappear.

I have spent a long time looking and its so hard to find a car that doesn't look like something out of an Alien movie.
    Cosmetics aint everything but no way in the stars would I even consider a yaris,swift, i30 or some other ridiculous looking half size car.

I have narrowed down the field to landcruiser, Subaru, lancer as I said. Safety rating is one thing I looked at as well as fuel consumption, and agree that the landcruiser would cost alot more. Another thing is warranty and the Lancer has the better. As I travel at least 600 k's per week just to and from work i need something that can handle that every week and not start to fall apart before a 10 k service.

Buying a new car these days is a real headache as far as I am concerned and you have to look at everything available and narrow the field to 4 or 5 and then start comparisons and narrow it down even further. Also set yourself a budget and stick to it as closely as possible.

Looks like the field is getting down to two.

Ronnie

c,mon ronnie, it's just like buying a boat ............... set yourself a budget and then multiply it by 2.

don't buy another forby for the commute when you've already got the nissan for boat haulage and beach runs. even though it sounds totally bogan and is pretty boring, i reckon you just can't beat a falcon or commodore on lpg for mega commuting miles. all those taxi owners can't be wrong.

Hey Guys
    Well thanks for all the info and suggestions. The first cat I looked at was a Lancer. Then the field grew as I said to include a landcruiser and imprezza.
    Funny how sometimes you go full circle.
    Am now the proud owner of my first brand new car-- A Blue Mitsubishi Lancer Activ with heaps of extras.

Ronnie

niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice

Hey Paddles
    All I have to do is use the cruise control now to keep the licence.

LOL
    Ronnie

you will pass everything on the road except a petrol station

Wise move. Doing 600k's commuting in a week in a petrol cruiser is just a waste of money.

Your Lancer would probably do 8litres per 100k's on the highway. That's around 48 litres say 50 per week commuting.
    @127.9 cents per litre equals $63.95 per week or $2877.75 over 45 weeks per year
    Cruiser doing say 18 litres per hundred equals $6215.94 per year. Plus extra rego , plus 4wd tyres compared with road tyres for the Lancer

[quote=Mrs Ronnie H;1146651]Hey guys

My main concern is that it is 10 years old and dealer warranty is only 1 month.
    Would it be worth getting a full RACQ inspection-- it has already had a mechanical one. Would i be wasting my 200 bucks.

Hey if spending $200 on an inspection sounds bad to you, just remember it'll cost you almost that every time you fill the tanks....... Like the others have said if your after a get to work vehicle, buy yourself a 4 cyl buzz box...... We own a '99 100 series 4.5ltr auto, i love it great family get away wagon..... but for general running around we have a Honda Jazz, which you get almost 500klms out of 35ltrs of juice where as we'd get around 200klms from the same 35ltrs in the cruiser around town (rough figures) but should give you the idea.

Still love "Big Bertha" though, hehe
    Bundy Rum.......... Not just great for breakfast.

[quote=barrabart;1148703]
    Quote Originally Posted by Mrs Ronnie H View Post
    Hey guys

My main concern is that it is 10 years old and dealer warranty is only 1 month.
    Would it be worth getting a full RACQ inspection-- it has already had a mechanical one. Would i be wasting my 200 bucks.

Hey if spending $200 on an inspection sounds bad to you, just remember it'll cost you almost that every time you fill the tanks....... Like the others have said if your after a get to work vehicle, buy yourself a 4 cyl buzz box...... We own a '99 100 series 4.5ltr auto, i love it great family get away wagon..... but for general running around we have a Honda Jazz, which you get almost 500klms out of 35ltrs of juice where as we'd get around 200klms from the same 35ltrs in the cruiser around town (rough figures) but should give you the idea.

Still love "Big Bertha" though, hehe
    I pick up the new Lancer this week. Everything on it bar the kitchen sink.
    7.6 litres to 100k's so average 776 kilometres on a tank.

We already own a petrol Patrol so we never really needed another 4b.

Ronnie

Yep, I've got the 8 seater petrol wagon. I bought it new in 1996 and the first tank of fuel ran through at 16 mpg. 496,000klm's later it still returns 16mpg regardless of how its driven and what it is towing.......never varies. I tow a horse float 2 - 3 days a week to the races, a 17' half cab fishing and in 14 years I have replaced 1 battery, 1 radiator and tyres......doesnt owe a cent.