Gregory river, Burrum, Isis are all good. There are heaps of snags, rock bars, deep holes, sand flats etc, it is an awesome place with plenty of quality fish.
Marty.
G'day, I have just moved house and wood gate is around 50 mins away from me n i wanna get back into my fishing, does any one no much about the fishing at wood gate, i have a 3.4 meter savage gull with a 15hp jono on the back, any goo places?
Gregory river, Burrum, Isis are all good. There are heaps of snags, rock bars, deep holes, sand flats etc, it is an awesome place with plenty of quality fish.
Marty.
Burrum river. I fish the black banks and the gregory for good jacks. Also you can sometimes get some good pelagics drifting out along the markers at the mouth of the burrum. and if you can get your hands on some live whiting find a sand bank with a drop off on the outgoing tide and hold on. Good goldens cruise around there smashing anything that moves. biggest yet is 86cm. FUN FUN FUN. haha thanks mate
Yeah Burrum is the way to go.
Apparently they troll a few mackeral out the front, your boat may be a little small.
At the northern end of woodgate is Theodolite creek. Last time I was there the ramp was half tide to full tide but you would have no problems with your Tinnie. Plenty of sand banks around mouth and snags upstream. Not as big as the Burrum river, it would be great for your boat. Woodgate is a top spot, makes me wish I was there thinking about it.
Find Walkers Point boat ramp. Straight out the front of the ramp about 400m, youll find The Swirls off the point. Easy to get to in a small boat, and holds all kinds of fish. Get a local map from Burrum Heads tackle shop and look for Black Bank as well.
Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.
Hey Andrew, this sounds like the goods. My work is posting me there in six month's to finish off a development site. P.S good to here from you again.
cheer's Gavin