I got a tip for you Buggy........... Do some work!
Gents,
I've been on the Tweed river for nearly two years and am yet to chase whiting. Jack's, jew, bass, bream, flatties have all been the target species so far but dad asked the other night if we could get a feed of whiting.
I assume we can - maybe the banks out in front of the Golf Club???
We're heading to the beach tomorrow to have a bit of a play and I'm going to pull some sandworms just for fun. That should double as good whiting bait on Sunday when the old man comes down .
Now - any tips. Feel free to PM with sooper dooper secret locations
I got a tip for you Buggy........... Do some work!
Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!
G'day Mate.
I was told that there is a few Whiting on the beach at Cabba. or you could try down at the piggery near Chinderah. I have had success there in the past.
Drift around the sand banks on an incoming tide
Aussiefool
dunno if you want to exclusively fish for them in the river but.....
seeing as you're heading to the beach for worms, try there.
I've hit some Fingal gutters up a few times this week with freshly caught worms and been getting some whiting around right on and just after dusk. Obligatory Dart during daylight though however...
Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt, fish or ride.
Thanks gents,
We're taking the rods down to the beach tomorrow but it will be more of a bit of time wasting for the little fella rather than for a serious fish.
As for sunday... dad really wanted a boat fish so we'll be floating around on the river somewhere.
Andrew. where is the piggery... I've been up and down the river a dozen times and couldn't tell you where the piggery is.
G'day Brett,
Mate you will find it up river from Chinderah near where the "Action" sand pumping barge is working. There is a house on the Southern side of the river and some old sheds on the Northern side.
Use http://www.whereis.com/index.htm#session=ODY= and zoom in to Old Ferry Rd Banora point NSW and on the Photo Page you can see the sand banks. There is also Yabbies there on low tide. If you time it right you can Pump for Yabbies first then drift for whiting.
Best of luck
Aussiefool
Youngy is the whiting guru Brett ,I saw him speak at the boatshow. These are the things I took away from his presentation.
look for areas with good flow and a corrugated bottom.
use a short small shank hook#4, just enough bait to cover the hook, long trace,soft rod.#1 bait,,, blood worms from the mud around mangrove roots
I am sure you know all that already, but I thought I would add my 2cents worth curtesy to Youngy.
rando
Thanks gents,
I'm afraid everything is hold courtesy of this massive hangover I currently have. The room is still spinning and there's no way I'm driving a boat today. I've rang dad and postponed him until Tuesday.
On another note we went to Pottsville beach yesterday, actually south of Black Rocks to pull some worms. I've got to say they were really scarce. Did end up with around a dozen and while there we did pull about a dozen whiting and one flathead as well.
Weather was superb as well which made the day.
I'm going back to bed.
Bret
I was surfin there on saturday, swell had dropped big time since friday morning, but plenty of fish in the water, heaps of dart, eagle rays, a school of 50 odd dolphins, 1 shark and a heap of mackeral action bout 500 metres off the beach. Plenty of life in them waters there!