Thread: Brissie river Thursday 25

Brissie river Thursday 25

A mate of mine is a good old southern boy originaly from Georgia and he loves a fish when he gets the chance . We had a plan to hit the squire this morning as their on the chew with a good start to the winter with a lot of fish over 60 cm showing up and eager to play. WRONG Had a ship moored up right on the hot spot and to make matters worse my Leckie and electrical systems in the boat had a spat attack again so I'm not impressed. Dam, I really wanted a few squire for Easter. We swung over to HBs and tried to fish some eddies in the shallows the best we could.Ricky still had a great morning tossing Baby cranks D40Fs around and coming tight on a few fish. We nailed quiet a few bream but with no live well we were returning them as we caught them . Kept three bream to help make up a feed. Scored three Cod released including a gold spot, Three flathead and another Trev so we had enough going on to keep us happy and a few fillets for easter. Getting this boat sorted ASAP so we can get into these snappery squire.. Cheers

Re: Brissie river Thursday 25

Mate that is the best Plan B session you could have had. Well Done!

I was out this morning as well in my black Predator, and fished with my mate Grayson from Colmslie to Bulimba CReek mouth on HB's for miles of small bream, a few small cod and 2 whiting as well.

We had three legals in the well early but as the tide dropped the better fish vanished.

Grayson overtook me using a Jackall Squirrel 61 in brown sugi shrimp colour, don't think a 6mm minnow is too big for small bream!

Mick.

Mate we must have crossed paths but I didn't see another boat. that Black predator must have been in stealth mode we pulled the pin around 10

bloody hell chief..thing go to crap and you still catch fish..buggered if I know how some of you blokes do it.

Greg, the river is going off with squire and good jew and thats what I wanted this morning so I was very disapointed to be stuck going to plan B.

wait till I get there..there won't be a squire between the river and Moreton island

PinHead,
    Can ya let me know when your going? I want to make sure I go another time, as I have trouble catching them at the best of times

Steve..don't worry about it mate. I could not catch one in a million years. last year my goal was to catch a legal one..did not happen. This year's goal..to make sure I do not land a legal one...I'll cut the line before I land a legal one. Just get the bream season started thanks..that will do.
    Chief could catch anything in that river..i am just waiting for his report of a red emperor in there..if there is one there he will find it.

hi paul, mate some nice fish there, you must have the shits with your elects atm. I got two nice flatties at green on sunday aswell. How did the tinni show go?

Still a good day,s fishin chief. Geez the snapps seem to be on the chew eh. Can,t wait to get on the water again.

Greg...Save us a spot in your boat/ I'm determined to get you a few legal species on a trip Cheers

Kurt..Good to hear from you,Mate to tell the truth I go along there with the attitude of just trying to help someone catch fish and it seemed to go down well with the feedback I recieved. I also had heaps of lures to give away and a lot of people were going home smiling. I love giving stuff away so I enjoyed it

Dobson... The bloody river is on fire around the mouth with heaps going on. Especially Jew.

good to see you getting into them Chief, the river certainly is very active at the moment. (little note in the diary!) did you get down the mouth at all?
    working tonight so will give you another report if it`s like it has been. Cheers Andrew

Fishgutz.... Hi Andrew that was our plan A, to head straight down to a certain spot and pull a few fish for Ricky but the wheels fell off. I knew this was going to be a cracker time of year to get into a few as a few mates have been slaying it this week. Mate you've been on fire as well. Jewies lining up for you buddy/ Hope you get a few more again tonight Cheers

Chief

My lad and I are one of the lucky guys that got a free lure from you at the Tinny and Tackle show last weekend.

The R2S D40F baby crank (pink top with silver scales on the side) that I got from you will come in handy and definately will try it out on our next outing. I will let you know if that colour combination works.

Apart from Barra fishing in the NT I have never used pink in any of my HB lures down here in the estuary, so I will give it a go.

Your show was real good and full of information. Thanks and well done. Came away with a few tips on how to chase threadfin salmon which is a species that I will try to catch sometime in the future.

Breambandit.. Thanks mate for the feedback ,I really appreciate that. I remember meeting you and your son after the talk . Nice to meet you. The guys from R2S were great giving me all those lures to give away. They gave us 50 but as I said to Julie a couple seemed to disapear, Yeh a yellow transparent colour I'd never seen on the shelves before.Apparently a new colour for them which I had to try and I had to dig deep to give them away after using them I can only say, there outstanding