Gday Lee
Thats great mate awesome pics, Thanks ive been going back through all your threads ,doing lots of study .You have some great knowledge that is helping me understand what to look for .
I ordered my HDS8 yesterday so cant wait .
Shut up and fish![]()
Hi guys, here are some for ya's,
this one was taken on Eildon by a mate with a camera as he didn't know about screenshot, note the depth. it is an old intake tower from the dam
PIC_0030.jpg
this one was taken on Muwala in shallow water, can you spot the large Cod ?
imaging stuff 016.jpg
just a random one
imaging stuff 011.jpg
took me a while to work out what these were, came across these regularly on mulwala. 1st thought they were lures snagged on bottom but they turned out to be bubbles, i stumbled across this as i trolled over the top of a bubble area and this image appeared on the down and side imaging. amazing stuff
imaging stuff 018.jpg
Deano
Gday Deano ,good pics with a camera mate ,hows the one of the castle lol looks like a watch tower ,would like to see them with the screen shots,now the Big Cod is that it at the top Port side just after the most recent data,There is an obect there that looks like it might be a fish .
Or about half way dow on the port side were the flat starts to rise thats a big shadow thou.
Cheers Rob
Shut up and fish![]()
Gday vertigo mate do a search on here Structure scan in deep water ,or try some googling ,heaps of info out there .
Cheers Rob
Shut up and fish![]()
Nice shots Lee.
I spend more time hitting the "screen snap-shot" button, than fishing!!! What these units pick up is eye opening.
Only run the sounder in structure or down scan mode, no longer use the 50/200 transducer, except for temp
Amazing pictures Deano I'd get no fishing done at all if I had one of those to play with.
A question, if you were stationary at the castle would it then stretch across the whole screen and alternatively if you went past the castle at say 5 Knots would it then appear skinny?
I'm having some trouble getting my head around those pics they're like snaps from a camera.
The shadows are screwing with my head too.
I find going along steady at approx 5-15 km/hr is best for super clear image, the imaging does work up to about 35 km/hr with very poor results. the down imaging does hold bottom at 70 km/hr but ya can't see crap. As for sitting over an object, i'm not entirely sure but i would suggest it would just smear or fill the screen up. The best way i can describe the technology is imagine a thin laser beam coming from the transducer out 180 degrees level with the top of the water and down into the water column, when you pass the beam hits objects and casts a shadows which are interpreted, ie the boat must keep moving for it to work properly, the humminbird site has a great explanation of how the imaging works, i found this very helpful when i had my 1st h'bird imager.
hope this helps
Deano
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3BYkA4hyDg
Hey Deano well thats great to know mate i looked at that image first and thought nah that cant be it that actually looks like a fishes tail lol
Mate Awesome cant wait to get mine . another couplea days i recon .
Cheers Rob
Shut up and fish![]()
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ouZdcssm-u4 This ones worth a look to i recon ,it made things alot easyer to understand for me .
Shut up and fish![]()
Hi,
i still have my 798 h'bird which lives in the small tinny. The HDS 8 is much clearer on the down and side imaging for sure. side imaging is roughly the same when the hds is on 455 kh thingy's same as the h'bird instead of 800 kh thingy'sthe hds normally runs on. the only reason i upgraded is me mates had em so i had to have one
just like any self respecting fisho would do lol.
I believe the h'bird is easier to use
Onya Rob.....just don't run into anything when yr playing with the new toy !!!! the soft keys shortcuts are the go....have fun
Deano
Mate im going to mount mine on the seat of me tinnie right infront of me,on a rised bracket so i can still see what im going to run into lol
Cheers Rob
Shut up and fish![]()