Rod & Reel repair day round-up. !

Thread: Rod & Reel repair day round-up. !

Rod & Reel repair day round-up. !

Round up of the Rod & Reel Repair Day.

Saturday 20th March saw 11 Ausfishers make an appearance at my place for a rod and reel repair day.

The event is designed to refurbish old rods and reels that are donated by the public and turn them into usable gear for disadvantaged kids that have a special day organized for them to wet a line.

There were also new reels donated and line, but the most important thing donated was the time of those that attended. It is really appreciated.

With Dave going head down bum up in the “ workshop “ on the reels and Chris and Ian stripping down old rods, it didn’t take long to get some blanks down to Scott for rebinding.

As the day progressed, more good folks turned up to assist Dave and Scott. In the end, I think we ended up with nearly 20 rods and 18 reels that will make great combos for the kids.

The day started with Scotty wanting his Weetbix with warm milk for breakfast. Most other downed the coffee and tea on offer. Morning tea saw the light fruit cake appear and a few hours later ‘ Daves famous crab dip “ presented itself to the table ands was made short work of. Fresh sangas for lunch while fishing videos kept the interest up by way of the outdoor flatscreen.

Big thanks to the following:-

Chris………………………. 4 x 4 frog
    Dave………………………. DHM77
    Scott………………………. Finga
    Dave……………………….dogsbody
    Chris………………………. honda900
    Mike………………………. Marlin_Mike
    John………………………. TheOldLegend
    Ian………………………… sid_fishes
    Stuie………………………. Stuart
    Graham…………………….. grave41

I was there of course, to keep them under control and Timiboy turned up in time to quaff some cake and beer, then leave, as you do !!!!

I would also like to thank the sponsors / donors of gear.

Owen Dare…………………. PicToWeave
    Ross van Enckevort………….TheRodsWorks
    Mrs RonnieH
    Outdoor Adventures
    Stuart MacKenzie……………Precision Rods

LP.

and some unfortunate fly landed on a partially dry epoxy. This is how to build a " fly rod ".

cheers.

Re: Rod & Reel repair day round-up. !

hahahahahahahahahaha bloody stupid fly.......LMFAO

Thank You for hosting the day Phil. I trust it may become a regular occurence?

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Hope the kids get a lot of enjoyment out of the gear. Happy to contribute.

Thanks for organizing it Phill.

Avast ye matey!

Ausfish Platinum Member 4x4frog's Avatar

Yep, thanks for the opportunity Phil.
    Very opportunistic fly. Who held him until he set in the epoxy
    Maybe I needed him to help hold the end of the thread until I got the hang of the lathe too

Hey Phil...the best thing of the day was the boneheads did not realise the milk was off in their coffee.....that's funny.
    Na, just kidding. Phil had backup supplies. I wanted to squash and stir the lumpy bits out. Phil made me make new cuppa's...
    The worse thing of the day was I forgot to 'remind' Phil smoko was at 10...not 11.15. I must have been busy...
    Oh....just remembered about TOL's rod he thought he could slip in for a guide repair. Tell that story TOL...that's pretty funny too

All in all Good way to spend a day. Doing something usefull and talking crap.

A big ta to Phil for organising.

PS: Nexttime Dave...bung some chilly in that dip will ya??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Ahh Scotty, TOL is all talk....i picks him up , and...........NO Breaka Girls................he gave me some BS about not sharing with mates.......ha.......

I didn t partake of the crab dip, I reckon it had onion ring written all over it, with hidden triple chilli...LOL..

top stuff folks

I am sure the kids will have smiles on their dials

cheers Murf

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Good day and a good cause, nice one phil,
    nice to put a few faces to names (real ones at that)..

I was thinking on my way home that some of those rods have already seen a lifetime of use and thanks to the master repairers, will now see another lifetime in the hands of some new owners..

HOnda.

Ausfish Platinum Member 4x4frog's Avatar

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!

#1 son home from uni today and is watching 'Two and a half men'. That theme will be going over and over in my head all afternoon now, just like Saturday arvo.

Yeah Scotty, I thought that if all you guys could spend your time doing the rods stuff, then one rod of mine wasn't going to matter too much at all..........

I hope it'll be put to good use. BTW, while I was supervising you, you seemed to be doing a pretty good job too..........

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Hey Phil...the best thing of the day was the boneheads did not realise the milk was off in their coffee.....that's funny.
    Na, just kidding. Phil had backup supplies. I wanted to squash and stir the lumpy bits out. Phil made me make new cuppa's...
    The worse thing of the day was I forgot to 'remind' Phil smoko was at 10...not 11.15. I must have been busy...
    Oh....just remembered about TOL's rod he thought he could slip in for a guide repair. Tell that story TOL...that's pretty funny too

All in all Good way to spend a day. Doing something usefull and talking crap.

A big ta to Phil for organising.

PS: Nexttime Dave...bung some chilly in that dip will ya??

great work guys. i'm dissapointed i had to pull out and miss it. just pick a different weekend next year (missus' birthday wont change date)

Adam

Hi Guys
    glad to hear you all had a great day. -- Except for the no show of the breaker girls and the lumpy coffee apparently.

Phill-- just remember we want some photos of some kids with plenty of smiles and a few fish thrown in.

LOL -- sorry I wasn't there but glad to help you out.

Ronnie

Looks like you guys had a lot of fun for a good cause, good effort! I hope the children hook-up on some memorable fish.

Cheers Tom

You should have come down Tom.
    You would have learnt something for sure. Don't know what...but you would have learnt something and had a go at binding etc...
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Jeez,
    Judging by the pics, God hisself personally came down and smote all present with an ugly stick!

Glad it went well.
    Hope it goes equally well when the rods are pressed into service.
    If teh last rod building day I went to was any indication, any kid that uses whatever rod finga did the threadwork on is going to need extensive counselling to recover from the test pattern wraps.
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)