Thread: Shattered dreams in the Brissy River

Shattered dreams in the Brissy River

Finally got out for a fish in the river after what seems like a very very long intermission. Anyway it was a great opportunity to test some lures as I've not had a chance to throw them at the mouth until now, after weeks of swimming prototypes in tanks and chopping and changing it was great to put them infront of some fish and see what happened, expectations were high and I think they delivered

We had a good session, but my dreams were shattered about halfway through the night lol. I cast at a rock wall, one slow lift/drop and the lure got hammered on the drop, fish screamed off toward the rocks but i managed to lock him down, then he screamed off paralell and suddenly went dead
    easy fight to the side of the boat reveals:

going from the snout to the pectoral fin measure it would have been around 55cm, but in its current state it only hit the 30cm mark lol

you'll notice the lure in the jacks gob hasn't got the tail constructed from the PE tackle fly material, that was deliberate so i could test them side by side. the lures with the fly really turned on the snapper with many more hits and most hooking up on the rear treble around the flytail so i'm satisfied that it makes a good difference

while i was crying like a little girl for the next few hours my mate hooked a couple of fish too:

Oh well I had fun, will probably be a while between 55cm brissy jacks and I wish the shark had been somewhere else but oh well, cest la vie

had a few more incidents involving lures being lost to angry fish, and some small'uns not worth photographing but it was great to get back out anyway and cant wait for next session

Re: Shattered dreams in the Brissy River

top stuff, good to see those lures working for you

Havnt seen u in the usual haunts for a while dan, i must of let 1 jack slip through, loosing the touch. you are quiet a few thredfin behind thou but some bycatch here making up for it

ps, noosa jack comp 2010 gun lure dids lool

haha, too bad you couldnt have let him slip through some other time and i mighta had a whole fish to show

Just like the ones that get away,its always the biguns that get chomped . Sounds like a fun night anyway; next time. Cheers Tazy.

That's harsh mate, I would of cried too, the laws of probability say you won't lose another jack (or half of it) to a shark again in those circumstances. If you need a guinea pig to test those lures around the Sunny Coast let me know I'm sure my input will be valuable to the development
    Cheers Joe.

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

you would still get a chew off that jack i hope, i would but what a shame nice pics mate well done
    tight lines hilly

thanks guys, unfortunately i had planned on a c&r only night as my esky recently carked it, i did my best to keep it well packed but it wasn't smelling too good when I got home.

Quote Originally Posted by danners View Post
    haha, too bad you couldnt have let him slip through some other time and i mighta had a whole fish to show
    Dw dan, I have a whole one to show. On your clear sorta color protoype. Pics soon :-P

awsome session..!so.when can we get these lures?where? how much?

Nice fish there

Top session mate,
    Half a Jack is still better than none
    So i am with Zero the big question is where can I purchase some of these lures you guys are using?
    Look to be the goods on all manner of species,
    Cheers Jay

thanks guys. you got my attention matt haha what did ya get?

Zero/JayT- thanks for the interest fellas, drop me an email at brewatters@hotmail.com and i'll answer any questions

Quote Originally Posted by danners View Post
    thanks guys. you got my attention matt haha what did ya get?

Zero/JayT- thanks for the interest fellas, drop me an email at brewatters@hotmail.com and i'll answer any questions

Just gotta wait and see, something along the lines of a decent red fish.

Need photos from Jason - he is alseep.