Thread: Bass newby

Bass newby

Gday out there well im going to give bass a go up the clarence gorge on the weekend , but im hoping that the lures ive got will do the job,i got a popper there is it to big sucker bout 100 mm ,i got 2 prawn stars in prawn clolour,i have 2 rapalla F05,cd 03 ,i got some plastics110 mmsquidgies flash prawn,50 mm smelt gulpm,some Ripperz 110 mm that looks like a mutant prawn,and ive also got some deep divers for barra ,what do you think im not buying anymore lures lol.

Re: Bass newby

I think you need to buy some proper bass lures as you will probably be disappointed ..... specially if you are going to such a destination

i'm sure Pete62 will give you some good advice on fishing the CG area

Yep, tend to agree, what u r proposing to use will leave u dissapointed unless you come across some Cod.
    Are you staying on the Withers property? U may wish to check access as the roads are not well maintained.

I imagine there would be still a heap of flow and quite dirty so if u change your mind and buy a few more lures I would be concentrating on surface presentations
    Jitterbugs and poppers in the 50 - 70mm range, concentrate around little backwaters and eddies if u r up in the rocks or under overhanging trees and snags if further down. Typically early mornings and late arvo/evening but if it rains, straight back on the surface.

Divers, same size range in lighter colours 1-3mts.

The prawns u mentioned would be ok to bounce off the bottom.

Good luck and hope this helps a bit.

Pete.

Hi Guys and thanks for your help ,yes Pete were staying not at the shack but near there in tents big mob of us going ,we have to go the long way round as the bridge somewere along the way has been washed away .oh well looks like ill have to buy just 1 more lure .Ill let you know when we get back .
    cheers Rob.

Gdy well the water was way up and like chocky milk,i spoke to the son of the owner and he said its been real quiet since the rain started ,thanks anyway for the great tips ill be taking them on board next trip up to copmanhurst .
    Cheers Rob.

Hey Black Jew, she`s a magic spot down there at the gorge, I have been there when the waters rose that high overnight that they were up near the owners house by morning yet the arvo before we had the fourby down on the rocky banks with a slow trickle flowing. we didn`t get any bass but we had a fat time and would recommend it to anyone for a day or two away . good luck at copmanhurst , i`m headind down for anzac weekend but will be at eatonsville and will be having a little crack at the bass if i get a chance. Cheers Andrew