Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New boat at borumba...so we fish bass off the bank!

New boat at borumba...so we fish bass off the bank!

Finally got my new boat yesterday, with a MASSIVE thanks to Chris for towing it all the way up from Newcastle area!! What a great mate..!! Thanks Chris! As I hadn't seen the boat in real life, it was like waiting for a blind date to turn up!!! they look OK in a photo!!!.....but as it turned out, the boat is awesome. No speed machine, but a great fishing platform that I know I will have plenty enjoymenent in!!

After a look over, we chucked a few rods and gear eagerly awaiting a test run and mabey christen the deck! After a hairraising crossing of Yabba 6, we were met at the ramp buy a hectic cue up waiting to launch......actually...we were the only boat on the water!!! A rare thing. A quick run up the dam, and I am in love with my new toy.

As for the fishing, well it was quite slow mid arvo, Chris spoilt my party and put the first bass on the deck with a spinnerbait. later in the arvo, Chris shows me a bank that he walks and casts (this bank has been a fav for many Ausfishos in the past)

After about 10 min of surface casting, Chris hooks and lands a sweet toga. He thinks it may be a PB. The action starts hotting up after this, with many hits and misses...plenty of explosions behind lures! I Think we landed a couple of small bass. I had a nice fish on the bank ready to take a photo...when flip flip flip and it was back in the water swimming off...laughing at me no doubt.I will never let that happen again!!!

. We putted back at snails pace in the dark....no one thought about a spottie, but it was a good chance to chat over a beer about the awesome session and discuss further 'upgrade' options for the boat!

This morning, we hit the water probably 1/2 hour too late. Gets up to the same spot and its looking OK in the semi light of morning. Chris was fart assing around rigging some $32 jap lure....I cast my old faithful bubble pop and 'booosh' I am on first cast...Landed a nice 40 odd cm bass....had it on the bank ready for a photo.....flip flip flip....back in water AGAIN!!!! NAGG being the true consoling friend was laughing his guts out!!.....probably 5 casts in, Chris nails a massive hit on his mega$$$ lure.....gooonski...busted off but a pretty good Toga. As the good consoling friend I am..laughed my guts out...Chis tied on a Jackall after this......goooonski, on another solid hookup. Meanwhile, My 2 favorite lures, cultiva bubble pop and a bettlespin with baby bass slider put another half dozen fish or so on the bank. Together We landed 10 or so with some decent fish too. The surface and sub surface action was brilliant for that hour or so..where we left off the night before.

We then decided to actually fish out of the boat again. It got tougher as the sun rose. I think I got another from a deep rocky bank, and Chris got a nice bass from deep under a wattle bush after it had a few whacks at previous offerings...It was a good way to end a quick trip. I had an awsome time, fitst (and hopefully not the last) time I have ever fished with the big fella, and we had a ball. I was so happy (and relieved) the my new Triton went a treat.

Again, a big thanks to Chris for inspecting and towing the boat for me, and sharing its maiden voyage!! Here is a few pics...the rest are on Chris's camera...No doubt he will add to this report.

Cheers Steve
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Re: New boat at borumba...so we fish bass off the bank!

Thanks Steve ..... I'm glad I could help I'm pretty sure you'll enjoy the new toy for years to come

Great to finally share a deck / bank with you Steves on.jpg - its been to long in the coming & I certainly learnt a fair bit - not to mention sharing that yarn coming back in pitch darkness with no light.

I was pretty happy with the fishing - considering the conditions & some nice fish were landed , lost , missed - Happy days

Enjoyed those sessions with you mate
    Here are some more photos Attachment 56779 Attachment 56780 Attachment 56784 Attachment 56787 Attachment 56785 Steve christens the new boat.jpg

Thumbs up Re: New boat at borumba...so we fish bass off the bank!

So you got a speed boat eh .

Looks like a lot of fun mate, good for you. I expect the heads lights are on the priority list.

Congratulations. you're a brave man letting NAGG tow it up given his reputation, hows the trailer?

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

well done blokes good looking rig steve but may scare the jacks before ya get to them . Good session at bourmba ladys getting a prefish in before the bash why not any way great report keep them coming

That's great news Steve, Congratulations on the new fishing deck.

What that black anchor? 90hp? perhaps a 115 zuke might be to go at a later date if necessary, but then again the main thing is to get to where you want to go in one piece.

The layout looks tremedous, does it work well?

I hear on the grape vine that the big fella might just have one soon as well, i believe he has fallen head over heels for the triton.

Good stuff again mate, hope to see you at Mondy next month i hope.

John.

Nice one Stevie. You will love the bass boat experience mate. Congratulations. Your esky is definitely bigger than mine lol. You just need to get some chrome on that baby now.

Ren

PS Hope that poor teacher with snake bite in Gin Gin survived okay after we told him the local paramedic was off bludging on a lake way south
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Nice work guys.

Steve that model triton is an awsome boat. A mate has the axact same model and has for years and loves it. Its a great boat with all the options you will ever need.

Lee

Quote Originally Posted by Obi _ Wan View Post
    That's great news Steve, Congratulations on the new fishing deck.

What that black anchor? 90hp? perhaps a 115 zuke might be to go at a later date if necessary, but then again the main thing is to get to where you want to go in one piece.

The layout looks tremedous, does it work well?

I hear on the grape vine that the big fella might just have one soon as well, i believe he has fallen head over heels for the triton.

Good stuff again mate, hope to see you at Mondy next month i hope.

John.
    I was most impressed with the Triton hull John - very well laid out , plenty of usable watertight storage .......good ride - nice.
    Grape vine ???? - doubt I would be replacing the hornet this year ......... next year , well that's another thing

Nice piece of Kit Steve......No doubt it will serve your purposes for a few years.....well done to Chris for a big help out.......Ahh a new boat I wish, my chances of an up grade have been put on hold, had to upgrade my Car.....I hoping good things will come to those who wait
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

sweeet ride stevie, and good on ya chris for gettin it up in one piece... .

some quality fish there, lookin good for next weekend..

deano..
    God put me on earth to accomplish
    a certain number of things,
    right now i am so far behind
    i will never die.

Nice, thats very very nice, I want one, no, I NEED one!
    I can feel an up grade coming on.

Nice pics boys, and some nice fishy's, even if the water is a bit choccy.
    Im guessing that bank is up near where we all fished last year Steve in the morn.

Ahhh Steve, we were sad when you sold the purple frenzy but now we understand why! Nice new toy...

You know though, it's not a real boat until it has some barra slime on it!

Get it out onto Mondy as soon as you can....

Regs

Pete & Kyle

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    Nice, thats very very nice, I want one, no, I NEED one!
    I can feel an up grade coming on.

Nice pics boys, and some nice fishy's, even if the water is a bit choccy.
    Im guessing that bank is up near where we all fished last year Steve in the morn.
    When you have a look at the structurescan setup you might as well have a drive and fish out of mine

Lee

P.S You can't blame me for the the debt you will get into though ha ha

Thanks lads.!!

Pete, I was sad to sell it too mate. But I had to step back and look at the types of fishing I was doing....all dams and creeks etc..which is pretty much all I have done. I have some close mates in all major port cities with big boats to go offshore etc with. The Frenzy was a massive task to manouver in timber (hence the many scratches)...so the Triton was basically a swap $ for $, but much more purposeful for the majority of my fishing, and the family can fit in it OK...got to get some barra slime now!

As for Borumba fishing, yep Brian that was the bank. On the way up we found the basin and junction water nice (greeny brown)...then further up, brown with lots of floating debris....at this point it was "mmm this might be unfishable any further" got up the top, and the water was a bit dirty, no debris, but had a minor current...and this was where the bass activity occoured. Togas were quiet as a rule, but we still encountered a few.

Renno, not sure who it was that got bit!!. The wife is working at GGSS today, she will find out!!! That esky fit like it was made to be there!!!!....I certainly wont be keeping up with the ranger though!!!

Lee, yep I need structure scan, actually any sounder made this decade will do. first on the list

Big D, spotties are next on the list!...not sure how to do it, but a local with a skeeter has setup some, I will check them out...not mounted.
    I dont have ADHD......ohh look a squirrell !!!

Sweeeeeeet Stevie, hey why don't u sell the Jackaroo and buy a .........................Triton................... nah that would be silly.

Nice prefish too. looks like it will be a fun weekend.

Pete.