Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Softroaders

Re: Softroaders

Kia sportage good littel 4x4 with proper transfer case & low range great small 4X4

Quote Originally Posted by dammit View Post
    Just wondering what everyones opinions are on softroaders?

I am looking to upgrade to a 4wd vehicle soon as our main/commuting car so it will do a lot of driving to work etc, but it would be great to have the 4wd option for going across to Fraser/Moreton/Stradbroke islands as well as some grunt for towing a small boat.

I have kept an eye on the Jeep Patriot which at $29,990 drive away seems a killer deal to me. I love the look of it but can't find any info on anyone who's taken it for a trip to the islands.

But with something like this, I have no idea how it would go on an island, does anyone have any experience with these new/factory type softroader cars (late models)?

Other models such as the Suzuki Jimny, Grand Vitara, Toyota Rav 4, Subaru Forrester, Mitsubishi Outlander, etc I guess fall in the same category. The new Jimny 1.3L engine would not cut it commuting, the Jeep Wrangler looks pretty well decked out for the job but getting a bit pricey. Has anyone heard of a car brand Great Wall, the X240 4WD is very competitively priced, I read about it in a magazine, looks a bit sketchy to me, but oh the price! http://www.greatwallmotors.com.au/great-wall-x240/

On a side note looking at the Suzuki SX4 or Subaru Liberty, or these other "toy" 4wds Nissan Dualis and the like, I am assuming you would not take them island hopping because they would have low clearance/would not cope.

Are there any implications taking a brand new car around an island? I see people getting their tyres wet at Fraser which I would imagine is a big no no? Is it all ok to do provided you give the car a good fresh water bath afterwards and wash all the salt water/spray off? and provided you don't scrape any trees and stuff or bottom-out you should come back pretty unscathed?

the only next step is to convince the missus about it all, which could prove tricky "you are not taking our brand new car over there!!"

Whatever you get

make sure it is real 4WD/AWD as some are not
    Like the Mazda CX7/9, Honda CRV and no doubt some others
    these are FWD with limited drive to the rear(about 30%) once the front loses traction(or you are already bogging down)

Toyotas and Subarus are at least constant AWD with a limited slip centre diff so you get at least 50:50 drive front and rear
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Quote Originally Posted by YOOT View Post
    Yes thats EXACTLY right! But for 99% of people, such as the thread autohor, just want the fun of heading to the beach from time to time and a smart, economical car for work on Monday. Big old 4WDS are no good for this market.

I have been doing it for ages, but I am ready for the next step, a powerful and well equiped 4WD for reasonable money. But its tought, the new Forester is pretty good.
    I can understand that, i think a person needs 2 vehicles if 95% of their driving is in urban and inter urban areas. The cost effectiveness and ease of a standard car for this part can go a long way toward meeting at least the statutory costs of owning a real 4wd.

Little bit of organising involved but in the end it's without doubt the best of both worlds with the bonus of enjoying the 4wd experience a bit more because mostly that's it's main job.

Also it's nice what a person can get home with a larger 4wd, big fridge, bed, large screen TV, furniture, motorbike...are some of the ways to help offset/justify the extra costs over any one year and of coarse tow the boat.

These justifications keep one in my garage even the old one I own, otherwise I would probably be driving some 4cyl FWD like my wifes 24/7.

Quote Originally Posted by Kevaclone View Post
    Subarus are at least constant AWD with a limited slip centre diff so you get at least 50:50 drive front and rear
    THAAAANNNKK YOUUU!!!!

FFS i think the main problem here is the old codgers who have issues with keeping up with advances in technology.

Take for example the Pajero. Ignorants bag it out with its all independent suspension, but dig deeper and you will find it has some very impressive features, like an optional rear diff lock, and a VERY impressive traction control.

My point is this; don't be so ignorant as to assume that atleast some 'soft-roaders' aren't advancing also.

A lot of ye ol' salties here would do well to do a YT search on 'subaru awd'.

Subaru's are like no other soft-roader in that there's a true mechanical connection to all the wheels... None of this computer controlled 'reactive' crap.

The uniqueness with Subaru is that even though it has a gun drivetrain, it doesn't have the weight of a big 4wd. My forester consitently shows up Patrol's in dune climbs...

I've taken my Forester to Orchid beach without being stuck at all. What other softroader can say that?

Quote Originally Posted by FNQCairns View Post
    I can understand that, i think a person needs 2 vehicles if 95% of their driving is in urban and inter urban areas. The cost effectiveness and ease of a standard car for this part can go a long way toward meeting at least the statutory costs of owning a real 4wd.

Little bit of organising involved but in the end it's without doubt the best of both worlds with the bonus of enjoying the 4wd experience a bit more because mostly that's it's main job.

Also it's nice what a person can get home with a larger 4wd, big fridge, bed, large screen TV, furniture, motorbike...are some of the ways to help offset/justify the extra costs over any one year and of coarse tow the boat.

These justifications keep one in my garage even the old one I own, otherwise I would probably be driving some 4cyl FWD like my wifes 24/7.

I am lucky enough to have a 'real' 4WD in my garage next the Forester. I drive a 2007 STR Navara Dual cab with allow tray and ladder racks, so I certainly get the best of both worlds here, but I just simply prefer my Forester on the beach, it shits on the Navara. But I am talking the turbo Forester here, the N/A may be a little less impressive (to me at least).

I don't want to turn this into a Forester vs the rest crap again. I may already have but there are some ripper alternatives now, the Old Kia Sorento is tops in the diesel. ladder frame chassis, part time dual range 4WD etc. Or the Hyundai Terracan also fits this bill. Both are sub $40K.

Also the new chalenger is a serious offering now (I think I may get one), nice diesel, excelletn 4WD system plus TC and heaps of space. Also in the mid $40K bracket. The Pathfinder is ok too but I don't like the IRS and plastic underbody, seems to want to be offroad, but laks the essentials. It too has an exceletn TC system.

Al the above cars in deisel form will use less fuel than a Forester, but will never be as safe or fun to drive in all weather conditions.

What are we talking about here when we say soft roader anyway. I see the topic morphing slightly and the lines blurring somewhat. I wouldn't have referred to a Prado as a soft-roader.

You are probably taking about me when you make this comment and that is fair enough. I agree. However those who do not know the vehicle could be excused for thinking of it as a soft roader. I did before i drove one. Lets face it, they are too pretty to be a bush basher. But hey as they say looks can be deceiving.

Daisy

Thumbs up Re: Softroaders

Quote Originally Posted by White Pointer View Post

As a long term 4x4 user (since 1973) I have some things to say that will probably cause some concern.

I don't go off-road much anymore because I got fed up will pulling idiots out of trouble. These are the things I got fed up with:

1. People who thought that legal tyre tread depth was enough tread for mud conditions.

2. People who thought that the time to engage 4x4 was when you are bogged.

3. People who didn't have their own recovery gear and wouldn't know how to use it if they did have it

4. People who had an expectation that I would get them out of trouble

5. People in RAV4s, CRVs, and other such rubbish who can't carry the essential safety gear because the thing would be overloaded

6. People who don't know the difference between a passenger rated tyre and a commercial or 4x4 rated tyre

7. People who took the opportunity after rain to destroy fire trails and tear up river banks with irresponsible behavior and excessive speed

Off road (and that includes beaches) means maintaining or recovering your own mobility. It means having equipment to do it and knowing how to use it. It means having a gear set that copes with very difficult conditions. It means having ground clearance that provides approach, ramp-over and departure angles that will not leave you looking like a tortoise on a rock.

It also means being competent in all this without asking. Do not take a Jeep Patriot anywhere near a beach. If you do you are just asking one of us to bail you out. For my part, I'm sick of it and I just don't go anymore.

I am actually in favour of a 4x4 license and the need to have one before making the vehicle purchase. That would mean training and a competency level. We can only hope!

White Pointer (aka: almost a grumpy old man)
    White Pointer
    Dont under rate yourself I think you made the grumpy old man league easily. Well done i'm with you, if some people used their head before their car life would be a lot easier.

Daisy

Yoot. I like what you do with your Sub' so dont get me wrong when I say this but I dont rate the Navara as that much different in 4wd capacity overall than the Sub and I have no doubt the Sub craps on it on the beach...the Navara is a far cry from a Land Rover/Patrol/Cruiser.

Cheers mate
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Some soft roaders are good in 1 area (eg, yoots subie on the beach). And some just scrape by in all area's. I HATE the soft roader debate. NAME a vehicle and people who have that 4x4 will comment. For me I dont rate soft roaders at all ONLY BECAUSE OF THE FACT I DONT LIKE TURNING AROUND AND NOT BEING ABLE TO MAKE IT SOMEWHERE OR DAMAGE THE HELL OUT OF MY TRUCK TRYING TO.
    Lets try and get some categories here....

Categories are.. (after vehicle is Named)
    1. Sand
    2. Mud
    3. Water
    4. Rocks
    5. Bitumen

sub categories are...
    6. Articulation (suspension set up)
    7. Clearance
    8. Strength (gearbox, engine, drive lines, cv's)
    9. Capability (Modifications available?)

Name your vehicle and comments are welcome... Ill start a new thread